We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Esmeralda Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Falls Country Motel(Chimney Rock)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carter Lodge(Chimney Rock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chimney Rock Inn(Chimney Rock)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Run Resort(Lake Lure)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quality Inn(Black Mountain)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveller rating
484
93
15
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
484
93
15
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake lureair hockeyoutdoor fireplacebroad riverchimney rock parklarge game roomlarge hot tubterrace roomshrimp and gritspicnic lunchfront porchdirty dancingget awayrocking chairstroutowners and staffmodern amenities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 620 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent out honeymoon here and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Would definitely recommend this to others. We had a beautiful view from our room, there were lots of things to do all around us, and the bed was wonderfully comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AmyRedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for the great review! We are delighted we could be a part of this special time.
This is a great spot to use as your base when you want to visit a the entire area. There is so much to do here! Lake activities, golf, hiking, horseback riding, zip lining, shopping and antiquing to name just a few! And the food is good too.

We get many compliments on our beds and linens. I'm glad you were comfortable. And enjoyed our wonderful views.

Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After three days in Asheville, we arrived at The Esmeralda to explore some natural beauty and slow down a bit. The lodge is decorated to rustic perfection and impeccably clean. The service and attention we received was top notch. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The breakfast provided was certainly a step above most hotel chain continental offerings. I especially appreciated the fresh fruit. Consider enjoying your breakfast on the 2nd floor balcony. It is a great way to start your day with gorgeous views of Chimney Rock.
While we did take advantage of the game room one evening, it was the Esmeralda's beautiful patio that was the star of our stay. We visited off season and had very few neighbors in the inn. We had the patio and a beautiful, inviting fire all to ourselves. It was fantastic! We found Chimney Rock and Lake Lure to be pretty dead in the evening so we were thrilled that the Esmeralda offered us plenty of options to occupy our time after the sun went down.
While we would certainly recommend The Esmeralda, I would suggest that guests request a room with plenty of natural light and a view. Our room was lacking both. Upon reflection, we wish we had paid more for a different room.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106 on the 3rd floor. Room was a little dark and dreary. No view. Pocket door on the bathroom was awkward. No avoiding the air conditioner blowing directly on you while you are sleeping. Consider paying more for a room with more natural light and a view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for the great review! This is a beautiful Inn. When it was re-built after the fire in 1997, the owners wanted to keep the flavor of the old building, but with modern conveniences and added safety. They succeeded! We have wonderful staff who take pride in the 100% cleanliness rating from the NC Dept. of Health. We are very lucky to have good people working here.

I'm glad you enjoyed the Continental Breakfast. The breads as well as the yogurt are made in-house. We do try to have seasonal fruit available every day.

The Stone Patio and Jacuzzi are a favorite spot, especially in the evening. What a nice way to end a busy play day! Chimney Rock is pretty quiet at night. Part of the attraction to the area! Relax in the quiet.

Some of our rooms are larger and/or lighter than others. When the Inn was re-built after the fire in 1997, we had some restrictions in the size of rooms. Since the Inn is a Historical building, we re-built on the same footprint as the old Inn. For light, I would suggest requesting Room 110. It also has the best view in the house!

We appreciate your review and hope you will visit often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

They use the words luxury rustic, and that pretty much sums it up. My room was adequate, clean bed and clean bathroom which are my main concerns. Bed was extremely comfortable and linens and towels were the best I ever used.

Employees that I dealt with were all very nice and accommodating to my needs.

Very nice public read, porches, outdoor fireplace, etc.

This is where I would stay if I return to that area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for the thoughtful review! While our rooms are not as large as the hotel chains, we make up for space by having great beds and linens!

We think of the Inn as home and every member of our staff takes pride in providing our guests with the best possible experience. We are very fortunate to have the people we have.

We hope you will return soon and often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is our third visit to this beautiful Inn. The owners Doug and Aileen are most gracious and have kept the Inn up to standards and continue to improve the surroundings.
They made us feel at home..This was one of our most relaxing visits. We had a premium mountain view room which was spacious with beautiful views of the mountains.The beds are very comfortable and pillows divine. Most hotels have lumpy pillows, these pillows were the best We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening viewing the mountains and the beautiful surroundings We had not enjoyed the game room on our last visits,but this visit we wanted to spend more time at the Inn taking advantage of the beauty found here. The game room has a lot of games to play, my husband taught me how to play pool, which we both enjoyed.The restaurant was not opened for breakfast, but the Inn provided a very nice set up for breakfast. The granola cereal was delicious, as well as the coffee. We used the refrigerator that was located in the hall not far from our room for snacks etc.. A refrigerator is also located on the second floor in the pantry. Ingles grocery store is a short distance from the Inn. The staff were all friendly and helpful, particularly Sharron, the general manager and Scout the evening staff. The Inn is close the Hendersonville and Asheville. This is the perfect place to relax and have a very restful sleep. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. We love it when our guests return again and again! It means we are succeeding at making our guests feel at home. This is such a beautiful area, and we are so lucky to be in the perfect spot to enjoy the views and the quiet especially in the evening.

It's good that you made time to enjoy all the extras the Inn has to offer. The Game Room is a favorite spot, as well as the Jacuzzi which is now open for the season.

You would be surprised how many compliments we get on our beds and pillows! I'm glad you rested well.

We want all of our guests to feel welcome and at home when they stay with us. I'm glad this has been your experience each time you visit. Doug & Aileen take a great deal of pride in making The Esmeralda such a great place to stay (and work!).
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here many times under different owners. Rooms are clean and updated beautifully. Would stay here again if restaurant would be open for bkfst lunch and dinner. The food is so delicious when avail. Free brkfst was minimal, although fruit was very good. No decaf coffee though. Unfortunately the aura is very empty. I've stayed there when there was a warm welcoming atmosphere and I miss that. It is a beautiful place but it needs some warmth

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank RangerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I'm sorry your stay was not as pleasurable as you would have liked. We always want our guests to feel welcome and at home. If you look at our reviews, you'll see that the majority of our guests feel the Inn is warm and inviting.

If there is a problem, we want to do whatever we can to remedy the situation, but we can only correct a problem if we know it exists. There is little we can do to correct something if we only hear about it weeks later in a review.

The Restaurant operates on a reduced hours schedule in the winter and early spring, as there simply isn't enough business to warrant a full kitchen staff during the slow months. We will be open Friday, Saturday and Sunday for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, Brunch on Sundays beginning May 23rd. We are open every night for Dinner starting May 23rd.

We generally receive compliments on our Continental Breakfast as the breads and yogurt are made in-house. Decaf is always available, but we make it on request as most people prefer regular, caffeinated coffee. Had you let us know you wanted decaf, we would have been happy to make it for you.

We pride ourselves on providing a very friendly and comfortable stay. Because we offer a more personal approach to our visitors, it does involve some responsibility on the part of our guests to let us know their preferences and needs. We want every guest to feel at home.

We hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews