We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary Getaway!”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent our 21st anniversary at the Esmeralda & it was absolutely beautiful! Although we didn't take advantage of the hot tub, we did sit around the outdoor fireplace & it was perfect. The scenic drive to the Inn was breath taking as well as the view from our room. We took advantage of the many acitivities in the area which made the stay all that more fabulous. Although we didn't get a chance to take advantage supper at the Inn due to being out exploring, we did eat the complimentary breakfast the day that we left which was delicious. If you are looking for a great romantic getaway, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCoppCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. This is a very romantic place for an anniversary or a wedding! We are so fortunate to be in the location we're in. The views are beautiful and the Rocky Broad River across the street only adds to the ambiance.

I'm glad you enjoyed the fireplace and the Continental Breakfast. Next time, the Jacuzzi!

Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent one night at the Esmeralda Inn on May 22 (the night before the Memorial Day weekend) and were very pleasantly surprised at the comfort and beauty of this lodging. The first thing was the gorgeous drive off of the interstate as we went through towns with names like "Bat Cave, NC." Once we arrived we were greeted by the friendly and helpful staff in the rustic, but beautiful historical lobby. Our room was a little on the small side, but this hotel was built well before our American "Super size" lifestyle was the norm. Despite the small room, it was very well equipped and modern and the bed was comfortable. We also had a nice view of the "Chimney Rock." We entertained ourselves in the quaint little town full of shops and we drove to Lake Lure and looked at the lake, but wouldn't be able to stay long enough to take advantage of what it had to offer. We returned to the hotel and had a nice dinner in the restaurant and we went to the beautiful outdoor hot tub was designed with the surroundings in mind as it is made of stacked rocks and was large enough to accommodate many guests, but we were lucky to be the only ones using it that evening (nice thing about arriving BEFORE the holiday!).

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the rocks is probably worth the extra fee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScrappyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for the great review! We are in such a beautiful area. The views are so refreshing and relaxing. So much green!

Some of our rooms are not large, but they are very comfortable. When the Inn was rebuilt after the fire in 1997, we were somewhat restricted as it is a historical building. But all rooms have private baths and the beds are to die for!

The Jacuzzi and Stone Patio area were a wonderful addition. Nothing better than relaxing under the stars.

We're glad you had such a good time. Please come again when you can stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

So we are currently staying here for a girls weekend. Definitely a quirky place, which we can handle. What we can't handle is that we paid to use the jacuzzi and the first night was a t-storm and the second night they closed at 9. 9! On the summer solstice! Really? No picked up the phone when we called 4 different numbers and asked about it. Also getting ice and coffee is really awkward. We had dinner at the Lodge at Lake Lure. I'd stay there next time over here, for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clobohink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I'm sorry your stay was not as expected. Of course we can't control the weather and if no one is using the Jacuzzi, it is closed when the Front Desk clerk leaves for the night, at around 9:00pm. Generally, if there is someone using the facilities, we are somewhat flexible with the exact time. There are no additional charges for using any of the Inn's amenities.

There are only two numbers to call for assistance after hours, so I'm not sure who you might have been calling! I had no messages on my contact number and no notes regarding messages on the other.

When our guests check in, things like when coffee is available in the morning, what the two keys are for, when there will be complimentary refreshments, when someone is available to get ice, what time the desk closes etc. are all explained. Coffee is available in the Lobby from 8:00am-10:00am.

We make every effort to accommodate our guests needs and requests, but the Restaurant does close and the staff does go home at specified hours, so guests are asked to let us know if they want ice or anything else prior to closing time.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family (husband & two kids, 3 & 7) stayed here for a couple of nights to visit Chimney Rock. The inn is beautiful, clean and well maintained. Restaurant has limited hours (including no breakfast) which made it difficult for small children. Seemed to be limited families which makes sense given the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We have found over the years, that being open all week for Breakfast and Lunch just doesn't make sense for us. We do offer a very nice complimentary Continental Breakfast when the Restaurant isn't open, which includes child friendly things like cereal and fresh fruit. But I do understand that you might want a hot breakfast for children.

We have many visitors who bring their children with them, and of course, well behaved children are always welcome! The Game Room on the 2nd floor is a favorite spot for families.

We do have only 2 rooms with 2-queen beds. As a Historical building, we were limited in how we could rebuild, so many of the rooms are not large enough to accommodate families.

Come again soon, and book early so one of the 2-Queen rooms is available!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had our wedding at the Esmeralda Inn on May 3rd,2014 in Chimney Rock, NC. The Inn is historic and is in a picturesque location. The ceremony was outside on a perfect day in a wedding arbor in front of the inn.. It was a beautiful celebration for us and for our friends. The staff and service were excellent as were the food and local wines.. Joey,Scout,Sharron along with owners Doug and Aileen Kelly,and the rest of the staff made everything work smoothly. We had close to 100 guests and everyone had a wonderful time.. A lot of our guests stayed at the inn and all said the accommodations were on par with a 5 star hotel.. If there is a wedding in your future, the Esmeralda is the place to have it.

Room Tip: Number 10. Which is a corner room with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! We had a good time with you and your guests. This is a perfect spot for small weddings and we're very pleased that everything went as you hoped it would.

We have a terrific staff who work very hard to make all of our events memorable. I'm glad every one had a good experience with the wedding and with their stay with us.

We hope you'll come and stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We arrived Sunday evening and were greeted by Scout, who made us feel right at home. We ordered a bottle of wine which we shared at the hot tub and then finished by the adjacent outdoor fire place! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and personable. The location was perfect for us since it was very close to the Chimney Rock Park entrance, but not located right in the heart of town. We would highly recommend this inn and plan to return ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your review! We think of the Inn as home and want all of our guests to feel the same. We have a wonderful staff, who all go out of their way to make our guests comfortable.

We are so fortunate to be in this perfect location. The views are unbeatable; we're close to town and a myriad of outdoor activities, and within a short drive of Asheville and other mountain communities. And the Jacuzzi isn't bad either!

We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was so glad to have found this "gem" in the mountains on TripAdvisor. I drove down from Fairfax, VA to visit my son in Greensboro for his 30th birthday and decide to take him on an adventure out west to Chimney Rock.

Esmeralda Inn was the perfect place to rest, relax and recharge. Doubly so after climbing the hundreds of steps to the top of Chimney Rock and hiking the beautiful trails. After a pleasant greeting we sojourned to our lovely room with it's scenic views, and the most comfortable beds and plush linens. I highly recommend room 104. On the second floor we played some air hockey in their extensive well appointed game room. In the evening we enjoyed the fire that Scout made at the outdoor fireplace while watching the fireflies, listening to the soothing fountain and checking out the hundred of stars. I would definitely come back...wish we had more time to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkingjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

I'm so glad you included us in your trip! Thank you for your review. You came at a perfect time of year. Not too hot yet and not too crowded. Chimney Rock Park is a wonderful place to spend the day, even with the stairs!

It sounds like you enjoyed much of what our Inn has to offer. The Game Room is a popular spot as is the Stone Patio area. The evenings here are so quiet and peaceful and on a clear night, the stars make quite a backdrop.

Please come again soon and stay a little longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
1.5 mi away
Chimney Rock Inn
Chimney Rock Inn
#4 of 4 in Chimney Rock
32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
17.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate), NC
12.7 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Flat Rock
336 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#13 of 66 in Asheville
6,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: £119 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing