We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel was beautiful! It is a great location and the room was very clean. They also have an awesome game room that kept our family entertained in the evening. I would definitely stay here again with my family or as a nice couples getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the Game Room. It's especially nice when the weather doesn't cooperate. We love having families visit. There is so much to do in the area and a great room to come home to at the end of an active day.

We have a wonderful staff of hardworking housekeepers. We all think of the Inn as home and want our guests to feel the same.

I'm glad you enjoyed. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for The Esmeralda Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped in for lunch. The trout was some of the best I've ever had. Everything was excellent. We had a soup that was absolutely scrumptious. Delicious wine. The service was outstanding. We have heard wonderful things about their brunch and are looking forward to trying that. Excellent dining experience - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolianne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for the great review! We are so fortunate to have Chef George and Sou Chef Ben with us. They are very creative and try to use the freshest local produce available. Chef is always looking for innovative ways to make the most of the seasonal goodies!

Brunch is great. The Menu is on our website and there are always specials.

Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I went for a 10 year anniversary trip. The hotel was quiet and clean. The owners were kind and helpful. We got in a little late and they called around 8:30 to make sure we didn't need a late check in which was very considerate. There was plenty of space to sit with coffee or a glass of wine and enjoy the sound of the river or sit by the hot tub with a fire without feeling you had people all around. It was a short drive to Chimmney Rock and not too far to drive for some wine tastings in the area. Highly recommend the hotel and resturaunt for breakfast or dinner. The food was fantastic. The quality of the food is what you expect in a high end restruant. Everything you would expect in a boutique hotel/inn with amenities and staff. We will return and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! It sounds like you really enjoyed the ambience! We are in such a beautiful area and the original designers of the Inn took great advantage of the landscape.

We are very fortunate to have Chef George and his crew with us. They do a wonderful job for us.

We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recommend this place but I will be honest in my opinion-based review. Cons: if the bed in our room were placed against the other wall, you could lie in bed & see Chimney Rock. There may be a reason the bed is not situated that way, though. At the prices they charge, you should at least get a free continental breakfast and a small side salad with your meal. The can for cigarette butts for smokers should be placed where other guests don't have to walk through the cigarette smoke to get to another chair (I suggest fixing it where a guest can't move the can to wherever they want). Instructions on how to use the tv remote would be helpful for us non-technical people. Although I highly recommend this place, in my opinion it is a bit over-priced. Pros: EXCELLENT food & wine list -- I couldn't believe the food was that good at a little mtn inn. EXTREMELY comfortable bed & pillows. First-rate toiletries & towels. EXTREMELY clean room & bathroom -- can't believe it is several years old -- looks brand new. Enjoyed the dessert samplings every evening.To those complaining about the small rooms, get a grip. I didn't go there expecting a presidential suite. The room size is fine. I'm glad the Esmeralda came back after being burned down. It is a charming place.

Room Tip: Don't go expecting a huge room. Room size was not important to me as I only slept there. I wasn...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Constructive criticism is always welcome. I'd like to address a couple of the comments.

A very good complimentary Continental Breakfast is available to our house guests every morning when The Restaurant isn't open, which is 4 days a week. Coffee is available every morning from 8:00am - 10:00am

We've found that if our smoking guests can't move the ash can to a convenient location, the ashes and butts go wherever is handy. So it's moveable!

I'm glad you enjoyed The Restaurant! Chef George and Sou Chef Ben just keep getting better.

We take great pride in our 100% cleanliness rating from the NC Dept. of Health. Our Housekeeping staff does a great job.

Please come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Esmeralda Inn is a wonderful place to stay in Chimney Rock. Minutes away from the State Park and close to the downtown shops and restaurants. The staff was wonderful, especially Scout at the front desk. Our room was very nice especially the linens, towels and tasty piece of homemade toffee as a welcome snack on our nightstand. We dined in their restaurant two nights and were very pleased with the exceptional quality, and gourmet twists like the goat cheesecake. You have to like goat cheese but if you do this is an absolutely sublime treat for dessert. The veal scaloppini was also amazing. Fine dining that should not be missed including breakfast which we also enjoyed. Our servers for dinner and breakfast (Sarah and Kim) provided exceptional and friendly service. Totally enjoyed our stay, including the Jacuzzi after hiking all day, and we would not hesitate to return here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Wow! Thank you for your review! We have an exceptional staff who take pride in making every guest feel welcome and at home.

Chef George and his staff are very creative. He makes the best of what is fresh and local as well as coming up with those "gourmet twists"! We are lucky to have him as well as our wait staff. I'm glad you enjoyed The Restaurant.

Our location is hard to beat. We're close to everything and far enough away to be out of the bustle and noise. The views of this beautiful area only add to the experience.

Please come again soon and often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I'm a decorator and I use to clean professionally. I walked around the outside taking pictures and it looked like a post card. It is all up to date even the remote control heating and air. Twice as beautiful as the pictures show. Even the elevator is beautiful. Bose music in all the rooms and dining room.(I thought someone was on the piano)The continental breakfast is way beyond it's title .Home made breads, fresh yogurt and fruit, quiche, juices were all delicious. Sharon at the desk was friendly and obliging when we wanted a early morning Jacuzzi dip.Great in every way! First class.

Room Tip: get the highest floor , a window view facing chimney rock park
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! We take great pride in maintaining this beautiful building and the grounds. We feel so fortunate to be in such as wonderful setting. And we have a first class Housekeeping staff!

I'm glad you enjoyed the Jacuzzi! The Stone Patio area is a great addition to our other amenities. We are constantly looking for ways to make our guests' stay an enjoyable and memorable one. Looks like we succeeded!

Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent our 21st anniversary at the Esmeralda & it was absolutely beautiful! Although we didn't take advantage of the hot tub, we did sit around the outdoor fireplace & it was perfect. The scenic drive to the Inn was breath taking as well as the view from our room. We took advantage of the many acitivities in the area which made the stay all that more fabulous. Although we didn't get a chance to take advantage supper at the Inn due to being out exploring, we did eat the complimentary breakfast the day that we left which was delicious. If you are looking for a great romantic getaway, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCoppCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. This is a very romantic place for an anniversary or a wedding! We are so fortunate to be in the location we're in. The views are beautiful and the Rocky Broad River across the street only adds to the ambiance.

I'm glad you enjoyed the fireplace and the Continental Breakfast. Next time, the Jacuzzi!

Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
116 reviews
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
#3 of 5 in Chimney Rock
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: £148 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing