We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, tasteful, pristine”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing, tasteful, pristine”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Esmerelda Inn. The grounds are beautifully surrounded by colorful crepe myrtles. The Inn is quiet and has a fresh mountain air smell and feel to it. We enjoyed reading about and hearing about the unique history the Inn has. The hot tub is relaxing, and the front desk is very accomodating. My family really enjoyed the game room (billiards, air hockey, fooseball, poker, board games) together! I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEn225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimCason, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us at The Esmeralda Inn. We are so glad to hear that your family had such a great time. Family time is for making memories and what a great place here at The Esmeralda Inn. We will look forward to your return visit with us soon.
Don & Kim Cason
Innkeepers
828-625-2999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    86
    14
    12
    13
See reviews for
103
372
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Exceptional inn with wonderful rooms, ambiance, drinks available, great food, and it's especially comfortable to be there...an easy get away! Close enough to go other places-golfing, shopping, hiking yet far enough away to feel you've found a special place. Totally modern amenities make it especially desirable-no compromises! Looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Sharon, Scout, and the new Owners are especially pleasant, helpful, and responsive. The wait staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marionsguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimCason, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to your return visit. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. We are very blessed with staff that are committed to customer service. We will see you again soon at The Esmeralda Inn.
Don & Kim Cason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stylish inn along Broad River and scenic Hickory Nut Gorge near Asheville and Hendersonville. Pleasant hot tube and fireplace to enjoy cool evenings. Staff were very friendly and informative. Front desk manager was kind to give my car battery a boost and recommend an auto parts store open on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We have a great staff. The Guest Services associate that helped you is just one example of the wonderful people we have working here. We all take pride in making your stay the best experience possible.

Come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Be sure you spend some of your evening on the balcony porch off of the game room. The rush of the river and the rustling of the trees were intoxicating!

Everything in the town, and surrounding towns, closes early - by about 8:00 p.m. From what we could find, there was nothing to do but relax at the hotel...Forced down-time is not so bad!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We are in a lovely, quiet gorge, and town does close down pretty early. But you are welcome to enjoy a wonderful dinner, then sit on the deck and enjoy the night breeze. Or sit in our oversized Jacuzzi and watch the fireflies. All with the sound of the Rocky Broad River in the background. S'mores by the fireplace on the Stone Patio is good too.

You're right, having to relax is not so bad!
Come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family (wife and 2 children ages 7 and 9) visited the Esmerlda for a quick getaway for my wifes birthday. The place is awesome. It's one of my favorite places to visit. Rooms are super clean and comfortable and the hotels ammentiies are perfect (evening cocktails and appetizers and game room). The location is perfect too (across from river, near the lake and the chimney rock hiking). I couldn't ask for a better place to getaway. You feel like the whole hotel is your house. The staff is so great. The food is really good and the view from the patio is incredible. If you haven't stayed in this hotel you are missing the boat. It's the nicest place to stay in the area in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are in a perfect location! From our front porch, it's easy to get to anything you want to do. Then you get to come back, soak in the large Jacuzzi, enjoy a glass of wine and mussels on the deck or sit by the fire on the stone patio and roast marshmallows for S'mores. Not a bad way to spend a few nights. Oh, and the views are spectacular too!

Our Housekeeping staff are great! They take personal pride in keeping this lovely Inn looking it's best, not to mention the NC Dept. of Health 100% cleanliness rating we've maintained for several years now.

We're glad you had such a good time and we invite you to come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inman, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great Trip. Everything we expected and then some. The Inn is quaint and well appointed. We had brunch before leaving and it was wonderful. We went to another restaurant in the area the night before and wish we had had dinner at the Inn instead. Can't wait to go back to the Esmeralda.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the great review! Sometimes what you see on a website doesn't match what you see when you arrive! We work very hard to keep our website honest. We love to hear we've exceeded expectations.

Our Restaurant just keeps getting better. Chef George and his staff do a wonderful job of finding what is freshest in the area and incorporating those things into the menu. The term "farm to table" isn't just a cliché here, it's the truth! I'm glad you enjoyed Brunch.

We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Celebrated my wife's birthday and Easter at this incredible inn. Personal attentive service, excellent food, cozy comfortable facility. Great location to access an unforgettable sunrise service on the summit of Chimney Rock.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review! You picked a perfect time to visit. Spring in the Gorge is spectacular, so many trees in bloom. Add that to the sunrise on Chimney Rock and it's magical.

We have a great staff, who take pride in making our guests feel welcome. Thank you for spending these special occasions with us!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
113 reviews
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
136 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Property: The Esmeralda Inn
Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing