We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My husband and I stayed for a night and we were very impressed with the rooms, the cleanliness, and the friendliness of the staff. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruskakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2010

Thank you. It's our goal to make every guest feel welcome. We appreciate your review and hope you'll return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

We really liked The Esmeralda. The rooms wer great, although a little small. The food at the restaurant was very good but, we found that breakfast was a little pricey. The new owners seem to really be trying to create a place people will want to come back to and recommend to friends.

EM

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishStJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Thank you for your review. We learn from our guests every day! Our new owners are doing a great job of making The Esmeralda part of the Chimney Rock/Lake Lure community. Our goal is to make every stay a pleasant one. We hope you'll return soon and bring friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Our experience at The Esmeralda was phenominal. Wishing that we could find more hotel like this one.

We spent five days at the hotel visiting Chimney Rock, Lake Lure, Asheville & neighboring towns. The hotel was beautifully decorated, in the Great Camp style, perfectly clean and had a wonderful game room where we spent many hours with our teenage daughter. Furthermore, the owners and staff were extremely accomadating have special food prepared in the restuarant for our vegetarian daughter and helping us to locate restuarants and activities in the area. Adding to the charm of this 14 room hotel, the owners serve complimentary wine & cheese each evening before dinner and leave chocolate in the rooms on the first night. Furthermore, the rooms are a good size and very comfortably and tastefully appointed with great views of Chimney Rock.

There was plenty of hiking, lake/river activities and culture (Asheville) in the area making for a great destination for our family with a teenager. We would like to return to the area and would surely stay at the Esmeralda when we do.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebtravelerGlenside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2010

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Our goal is to make every guest's stay a memorable one. It's our pleasure to accommodate special needs when we can. The Foosball and AirHockey are new additions to the Lounge/Game Room.

The Inn was completely remodeled about 4 years ago. Our new owners are adding more art work and details here and there, making it even more inviting and warm for our guests.

We're glad your family enjoyed all the features the Inn has to offer! We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed at the esmeralda for 2 nights. I am very picky with my hotel choices and was very pleased with my choice of The Esmeralda. We had the mountain view room which is worth the extra money. The view was awesome! We could see Chimney Rock right outside the window. The front porch (where we spent most of our time) had great views of the river and mountains. The staff was friendly and the restaurant was good. Room was small but because the windows open, it was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamrich10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2010

Thank you. We're picky too! This is such a beautiful area and we are very lucky to be located right in the middle of such great scenery. We get so many comments from guests who have spent an evening on the porch, enjoying the rockers and the sounds of the river. Please come and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Esmeralda for 3 nights in June and loved it.
The room, although small, was very comfortable and the bed divine, high end bedding etc., especially after long days of hiking. We enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs on the large porch at night looking at the stars and listening to the sound of the river across the road. The hotel staff could not be more helpful and even provided discount tickets to nearby attractions. Chimney Rock State Park is right down the road. On our first night we were to arrive very late with our bikes in tow. We were greeted with chocolates on our bed and an invitation to store our bikes inside. We had friends to visit in Asheville and found that it was only a 45 minute drive which was a plus as well. This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Chimney Rock or Lake Lure NC.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotus122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2010

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! There is nothing better than relaxing on the porch, listening to the river and enjoying the night breeze. This is a great location. We're close to many of the area's attractions, including Asheville and of course, Chimney Rock Park. Autumn at The Esmeralda is fabulous! Come back and spend a few more days with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We ended up here for 2 nights because we couldn't get in our 1st choice over the weekend. We then stayed at our first choice, and this is now #1! Clean, good location, nice people/service, comfortable and a very good restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patriot57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We held our wedding in Chimney Rock Park and our reception at The Esmeralda. To say they couldn't have nicer is an understatement. When they say "you have the run of thd house" they are not kidding. All of my guests were impressed by the graciousness of our hosts, in fact Marty at the front desk even arranged for the rain to stop so our outdoor wedding could take place. We could not have been happier, the folks at the Esmeralda had more then a small part in making our big day Perfect! Make sure you eat at Parises also, they did our reception food, oh my, yummy!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aunt_Rose_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2010

Thank you! Rearranging the weather is tricky, but it seemed to work this time! It was a pleasure having your wedding party stay with us. Everyone was having fun and making themselves at home. That's the whole idea here! Our goal is to provide all of our guests with a great experience. We're delighted you had such a good time. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
17.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
19.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
19.4 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: £131 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing