We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Esmeralda Inn
Nearby Hotels
Chimney Rock Inn(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Carter Lodge(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Country Motel(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Black Mountain)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hendersonville Inn(Hendersonville)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CheapTickets
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
491
93
15
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
491
93
15
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake lureair hockeyoutdoor fireplacebroad riverchimney rock parklarge game roomlarge hot tubterrace roomshrimp and gritspicnic lunchfront porchdirty dancingget awayrocking chairstroutowners and staffmodern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
592 - 597 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We just stayed 3 nights for our 16th anniversary. Very cozy room, not huge, just right. Staff was very friendly. We did not try the restaurant, however it smelled heavenly! We would definitely recommend it for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having you with us. Cozy describes our smaller rooms perfectly. We strive for a warm, comfortable atmosphere. It's always good to hear we've succeeded! The Restaurant is very good. We hope you'll plan on having dinner with us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We've only been back 1 day and have ALREADY recommended this inn to our friends!! They literally thought of everything to make our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maura019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

Thank you! It's our goal to make every guest's stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. It's always gratifying to hear that we have succeeded. We appreciate your referrals. Former guests are always our best form of advertising! We look forward to your return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

The mountain view king room looks just like the picture. Lobby and staircase are beautiful. Great stone fireplace in lobby is a great nook to hang out with friends. Our dinner at the restaurant was extraordinary. Much better than restaurants in the DC area--and I'm a foodie--the only restaurant of this quality that I've had the pleasure of dining at is the Corn Exchange in Rapid City, SD.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanKensington_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2010

Thank you for your great review! We're very proud of our beautiful Inn and we love it when others appreciate it as much as we do. We are so fortunate to have Chef Sean with us. His skill and imagination have taken The Esmeralda Restaurant to a whole new level of quality. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

When I booked this online, there was a single picture of the room which showed three windows with a view. I booked a room with a queen. Upon arrival I was very disappointed with the small size of the room, even no closet, just a furniture-style rack. The furnishings were very nice, nice linens, great bed, but really small for the price. The dining room and patio are very lovely and the lobby is unique. There is a large lounge area on the second floor with tv, games, sofas, etc if you have a group. Two other things you should know - they cannot 'sell' alcohol in Chimney Rock so they give you complimentary wine that was nice. Secondly, while only 25 miles from Asheville, the road to get there is very curvy and winding, so don't think you'll take a short jaunt back to town for dinner - everything is quite a drive. The staff was very nice and did all they could to make your stay , did pleasasnt, but I did not feel I received good value.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HikerLady02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2010

Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate the opportunity to see the Inn through our guests' eyes. It's true, some of the rooms are not large, but we find that many of our guests spend more time on the front porch, rocking and listening to the river or in the lounge reading, watching the large screen TV or playing one of the games available than they do in the rooms themselves. Part of the charm of the Inn is the coziness of the rooms. The lobby is very comfortable and when the weather turns cold, there's a welcoming fire in the fireplace. We encourage our guests to enjoy the spacious public areas, then sleep well on our extraordinarily comfortable beds.

The Inn is located in the Hickory Nut Gorge. We like to think we're just far enough away from everywhere to feel like you've run away from home for a few days.
Again, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope when you're back in this area, you'll stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Our very first stay at an Inn and it was everything we wanted it to be. Great staff, wonderful room (Terrace King), amazing breakfast (had something different every day!). Marty and Sharron were very helpful and willing to answer any questions asked. Kristen (waitress in Parise's) was a joy to visit with and had wonderful suggestions. Close to city & sites, but far enough away to relax and enjoy the beautiful mountains. Was very comfortable, like home, but someone else cleaned and cooked!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranjanheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2010

I'm so glad your first experience with us was such an enjoyable one. We have a great staff here. Everyone is dedicated to making all of our guests' feel comfortable and welcome. We are a great escape from the city, but not so far that you have to travel for hours. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We hope you'll return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews