We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chimney Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Evening Shade River Lodge & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

What a great stay at a cute little motel. We stayed there on a trip to hike Chimney Rock and had a wonderful time. They have some picnic tables and swings right on the river and a fire pit for making smores. The kind staff even provided us with the skewers and marshmallows. We stayed in a room that was situated away from the front desk so we didn't have an Internet signal in our room, but that was ok. The gentleman at the front desk was very welcoming and allowed us to plug in at the lobby. Aside from that, the only negative was that the bed and the pull out were a little uncomfortable. But, the room was clean, the kitchen had all of your basic needs, it was a great place to stay while exploring Chimney Rock and Chimney Rock Village!

Room Tip: If you want Internet book by phone so that you can ask which rooms get the best reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lobo1398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this quaint little motel several times and each time we are pleased. We request a certain room- number 7-It's always very clean, adorably decorated, and it feels like home away from home!!! Our room has the cutest little porch off the back (I think they all do)that overlooks the stream-The sound of the water hitting against the rocks makes you almost forget you are in the mountains and rather at the beach. When we think of Chimney Rock-The Evening Shade always comes to mind!!! The managers (husband and wife team) are helpful and friendly-If I would change anything it would be to include a small simple breakfast....Very much recommended!!!! We will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Every room has its own theme and very well decorated-nothing fancy but who wants fancy in Chimney Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaA1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

we have stayed twice and we really enjoyed the evening shade river lodge and cabins. the property sits at the foot of the mountain and the broad river run's right beside the hotel so close you can listen to the river as you go to sleep.the town has great shops and restaraunts. nothing fancy but clean and freindly. we will definately go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have stayed here many times when we travel to the mountains. There is a great view of Chimney Rock. The river is very soothing to watch and listen to. Every night there is a bonfire where everybody sits around visits and makes smores. The only downside is that management sticks to the 10:00 quiet rule.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtnlover1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Chimney Rock on a driving trip through the Carolinas. I had seen the rooms online and thought they looked cabin-like and would give some "atmosphere" to our visit.
At first I was a little put off with the tiny bathroom (although extremely clean and well maintained), and the fact that there was no phone, hair blower, ironing board or coffee pot. (I'm a modern girl, I admit). But after just the first night here, I absolutely LOVED it. The 50's charm of the room and the lovely outdoor amenities described by the other reviewers won me over completely. I sat outside on our porch listening to the rushing water and cicadas both nights and hated to go inside. So restful:) I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Chimney Rock if we ever get to go back. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: It is located close to town, but feels like you're in the mountains. I actually enjoyed the cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristie1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We took a recent trip to the mountains and decided to stay another night. The Evening Shade had a vacancy so we booked the room - and were pleasantly surprised. This was the exception to the roadside hotel/motel experiences that we have had in the past - this place was clean, the staff was great and the view was amazing. Our sons played in the river and had a great time - it was a great way to end a great vacation. Thanks!!! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tarheelsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My cousin and I took a few days away, for rest and relaxation. We stayed at the Evening Shade Lodge. It was nice, not up to date, but it was very comforting to see decorative items from the 50's and 60's. By the time we decided we wanted to get away, the only room we could get was the "Hillbilly Heaven", room number 9. It has two queen beds, a small refrigerator and a microwave. The room was small, but since it was just the two of us, we had no problems. The bathroom was very small, I mean small, but how long do you stay in the bathroom anyway, so that was not really an issue. The beds were comfortable, they had a window air conditioner, that kept the room comfortable. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, thankful to have gotten away.

Room Tip: This is a lodge, all rooms open up to the outside. The sound of the Rocky Broad River is about 50 ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chimney Rock hotels
1.2 mi away
Chimney Rock Inn
Chimney Rock Inn
#4 of 4 in Chimney Rock
32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 4 in Chimney Rock
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
0.7 mi away
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
#2 of 5 in Chimney Rock
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
River House at Chimney Rock
River House at Chimney Rock
#1 of 5 in Chimney Rock
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evening Shade River Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evening Shade River Lodge & Cabins

Address: 745 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Chimney Rock
Price Range: £42 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Evening Shade River Lodge And Cabins
Evening Shade River Lodge & Cabins Hotel Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing