We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall decent for the price!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chimney Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Falls Country Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall decent for the price!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked this motel solely off of TripAdvisor reviews. We needed to find a place that was reasonable and close to Lake Lure Inn. Overall, everything was fine for the one-night stay. Owner prompt and friendly. View was amazing. Rooms and the whole place were definitely older, but once again, fine overall-smaller showers. It would be nice to have some more towels, we were in Room 11 and ran out fast. You can walk into town, (no sidewalks, it is the mountains after all!) which was convenient to explore the shops. Motel is right off the main road, extremely close to it, but we didn't notice excess noise-might be a safety factor for kiddos. An addition of a simple grab and go breakfast would be a perk :) If you are expecting a country style motel, and nothing fancy, but clean, this is your place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    32
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
63
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walterboro, Sc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Room 9 was like, poor bedding, air conditioner was so loud that we had to cut it off in order to sleep. It kept waking us up. No counter space in bathroom. Right on road, too much road noise. No ample parking, parked in straight (which was what we were told we had to do Friday and Saturday) we were only about two feet from the white line beside the road. We asked for a refund for our next two nights, and were told "NO!" We were moved to another room, but not much better. Since we could not get a refund, we had no choice but stay this time. We will not return and do not recommend this motel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. My wife and I strive to exceed all our guests expectations and we obviously did not accomplish this with you and your wife. I would like to respond to all the issues you listed in order to give our readers a viewpoint from both sides. The beds and A/C unit in room 9 needed work and I appreciate you informing us of the problems. Both problems were repaired and we did not have any complaints from the guests that stayed in that room this past weekend. I thought things would be easier if we transferred you to the room next door, which you inspected and gave your approval. Yes, we are located on the main road that runs through Chimney Rock and Lake Lure, and so is almost every other business in the area. As far as parking goes, we have two parking areas on our property. One is for larger vehicles and the area in front of the motel is for smaller cars. Safety is a priority with us and we explain this to our guests and they have had no problem with this setup. The counter space in the bathroom is something we have discussed and are looking at our options to install more storage space. When you asked for a refund, I kindly reminded you about our 3 day cancellation policy that was included on your reservation confirmation and also our "no refunds for early departure" that was on our registration form that you signed. We feel our policies are in line with what most hotels offer and made every reasonable effort to be sensitive to your needs. We hope this experience does not deter you from visiting this beautiful area again and we congratulate you and your wife on 40 years of marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spent the weekend at this hotel and found it to be a wonderful place to stay. The owners are locals and take pride in their hotel. Our room was very clean and our room was comfortable. The owners were very nice and we enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review! :) We are glad to hear that you had a great time at Falls Country Motel. We try to keep our rooms clean and comfortable for our guests. It was very nice meeting you and talking with you. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you very much! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I returned today from a wonderful relaxing trip. The room was clean...I mean really clean. No mold in the shower grout. No stray hairs or fuzz in the corners. The owners take great pride in their property! The only negative thing was the beds were hard. Most hotel beds are. It was very nice to have a DVD player in the room. The town closes down about 8pm except for the restaurants. When we arrived check in quick and easy. We were given advice on the few local places to eat. We will stay here again and hopefully soon. Thank you for a such a nice stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad that you and your daughter had a wonderful time staying with us for Mother's Day. It was nice meeting you. :) We try to keep clean and cozy rooms for our guests. Our guests seem to enjoy watching free movies in their rooms. We hope to see you guys again on your next trip to Chimney Rock. Thank you so much! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

very affordable and the room was clean ( real clean, not just smelled like it's clean :) ) Dean, who manages the motel, was very friendly and accomodating; the location was perfect as it offered a great view of the falls and the chimney rock. we'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPW1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for writing a kind review! :) We are glad to hear that you had a great time staying with us. We try to keep our rooms clean for our guests. Yes, we are lucky to have a great location and the beautiful view of the Chimney Rock and Waterfalls. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Chimney Rock. :) Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raeford, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

First I would like to say that I reserved our room online which was very convenient and I got a response back within 5 minutes letting me know the room was available and the total cost of the room. We didn't arrive at the hotel until 8pm and the owner was waiting at the desk when we got there and greeted us with a smile and was very polite and got us to our room quickly without any delays. The room itself was very nice we stayed in room 6 the Falls Room, it had a king size bed, high top table and chairs, flat screen tv and dvd player, microwave and small refrigerator and a ceiling fan. The room was very clean and comfortable. Our room was on the first floor which made it convenient to get our stuff from our car. In the morning we stepped outside to take a look at the area and wow what a view you can see Chimney Rock and the Hickory Nut Gorge Waterfall right from the room. To sum it all up we were very pleased with our stay and would highly recommend staying at this motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate all our reviewers for taking the time to write their thoughts. One of our main goals is to create a comfortable environment for our guests. Another is to continue our reputation of having very clean rooms. Our website is a great resource to view all of our rooms and policies. Plus, you can reserve your accommodations online making the process fast and easy. We feel we have the best view of Hickory Nut Falls in Chimney Rock. Our guests are always telling us how lucky we are to live in a place with such a beautiful view. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osage
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent one might here in October,2013. Our room was clean and met basic needs, but lacked some things we find necessary, like a table and at least one chair. We brought in our patio chairs and used them. One bed was most uncomfortable in Room #4. The water in both the sink and shower was not reliably warm. If someone else was using water your shower could turn hot or cold. Overall, it was not a bad place to stay for the money and I'd probably stay again, but I need a better bed. Two nights on that one and I would have had back pain. The owners live on site and are a young couple. I'll stress that it was clean.

Room Tip: If you are going to Chimney Rock State Park be aware that the trail to the falls is closed due to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review. It was nice meeting you and I enjoyed hearing about your trip. We appreciate you mentioning how clean our rooms are. My wife and I value our reputation and always make cleanliness a priority. We do have rooms that have a table and chairs but, unfortunately, there is not enough space in all our rooms to accommodate those furnishings. We encourage all our guests to view the pictures of the rooms on our website so they can see the layout before they arrive. That is the first time we have heard room #4 having water issues. We will have that looked at this week. The beds you mentioned are a memory foam mattress. We have received mostly good reviews related to our beds however, we realize they will not please everyone. Thanks again for including us on your trip and we wish you safe travels home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
0.7 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
113 reviews
1.6 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
12.3 mi away
Ramada Hendersonville
Ramada Hendersonville
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
#2 of 5 in Chimney Rock
80 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Country Motel

Property: Falls Country Motel
Address: 676 Main St., P.O. Box 99, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Motel located just outside of the village of Chimney Rock with beautiful views of the Hickory Nut Falls and the Chimney Rock lookout. Close to Lake Lure beach and Chimney Rock State Park. The 11 cozy rooms have been remodeled recently and are furnished with all the comforts of home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing