We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordability in Lake Lure”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chimney Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Falls Country Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
North Port, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Affordability in Lake Lure”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is the best bang for your buck in an otherwise pricey area. The view of Hickory Nut Gorge is fantastic and right outside every room in this quaint little motel. It was nice to have a mini fridge, a microwave and tiled floors in the doggie room. Only $10 extra to bring your pup! Great to watch a DVD or two provided but the motel at no extra charge. Dean and Alice, the owners were friendly and did everything they could to make this motel near the Rocky Broad River comfortable.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has the best view of the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janellec768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    32
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
63
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nice little hotel. Owners live in the hotel and were very attentive to everything we needed. It IS an older motel but the owners kept them very clean and the grounds were neat. Loved our stay there. Recommend for a good basic hotel, with great views and clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked this motel solely off of TripAdvisor reviews. We needed to find a place that was reasonable and close to Lake Lure Inn. Overall, everything was fine for the one-night stay. Owner prompt and friendly. View was amazing. Rooms and the whole place were definitely older, but once again, fine overall-smaller showers. It would be nice to have some more towels, we were in Room 11 and ran out fast. You can walk into town, (no sidewalks, it is the mountains after all!) which was convenient to explore the shops. Motel is right off the main road, extremely close to it, but we didn't notice excess noise-might be a safety factor for kiddos. An addition of a simple grab and go breakfast would be a perk :) If you are expecting a country style motel, and nothing fancy, but clean, this is your place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walterboro, Sc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Room 9 was like, poor bedding, air conditioner was so loud that we had to cut it off in order to sleep. It kept waking us up. No counter space in bathroom. Right on road, too much road noise. No ample parking, parked in straight (which was what we were told we had to do Friday and Saturday) we were only about two feet from the white line beside the road. We asked for a refund for our next two nights, and were told "NO!" We were moved to another room, but not much better. Since we could not get a refund, we had no choice but stay this time. We will not return and do not recommend this motel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. My wife and I strive to exceed all our guests expectations and we obviously did not accomplish this with you and your wife. I would like to respond to all the issues you listed in order to give our readers a viewpoint from both sides. The beds and A/C unit in room 9 needed work and I appreciate you informing us of the problems. Both problems were repaired and we did not have any complaints from the guests that stayed in that room this past weekend. I thought things would be easier if we transferred you to the room next door, which you inspected and gave your approval. Yes, we are located on the main road that runs through Chimney Rock and Lake Lure, and so is almost every other business in the area. As far as parking goes, we have two parking areas on our property. One is for larger vehicles and the area in front of the motel is for smaller cars. Safety is a priority with us and we explain this to our guests and they have had no problem with this setup. The counter space in the bathroom is something we have discussed and are looking at our options to install more storage space. When you asked for a refund, I kindly reminded you about our 3 day cancellation policy that was included on your reservation confirmation and also our "no refunds for early departure" that was on our registration form that you signed. We feel our policies are in line with what most hotels offer and made every reasonable effort to be sensitive to your needs. We hope this experience does not deter you from visiting this beautiful area again and we congratulate you and your wife on 40 years of marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spent the weekend at this hotel and found it to be a wonderful place to stay. The owners are locals and take pride in their hotel. Our room was very clean and our room was comfortable. The owners were very nice and we enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review! :) We are glad to hear that you had a great time at Falls Country Motel. We try to keep our rooms clean and comfortable for our guests. It was very nice meeting you and talking with you. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you very much! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I returned today from a wonderful relaxing trip. The room was clean...I mean really clean. No mold in the shower grout. No stray hairs or fuzz in the corners. The owners take great pride in their property! The only negative thing was the beds were hard. Most hotel beds are. It was very nice to have a DVD player in the room. The town closes down about 8pm except for the restaurants. When we arrived check in quick and easy. We were given advice on the few local places to eat. We will stay here again and hopefully soon. Thank you for a such a nice stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad that you and your daughter had a wonderful time staying with us for Mother's Day. It was nice meeting you. :) We try to keep clean and cozy rooms for our guests. Our guests seem to enjoy watching free movies in their rooms. We hope to see you guys again on your next trip to Chimney Rock. Thank you so much! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

very affordable and the room was clean ( real clean, not just smelled like it's clean :) ) Dean, who manages the motel, was very friendly and accomodating; the location was perfect as it offered a great view of the falls and the chimney rock. we'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPW1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for writing a kind review! :) We are glad to hear that you had a great time staying with us. We try to keep our rooms clean for our guests. Yes, we are lucky to have a great location and the beautiful view of the Chimney Rock and Waterfalls. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Chimney Rock. :) Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
0.7 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
1.6 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
12.3 mi away
Ramada Hendersonville
Ramada Hendersonville
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
#2 of 5 in Chimney Rock
80 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Country Motel

Property: Falls Country Motel
Address: 676 Main St., P.O. Box 99, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Motel located just outside of the village of Chimney Rock with beautiful views of the Hickory Nut Falls and the Chimney Rock lookout. Close to Lake Lure beach and Chimney Rock State Park. The 11 cozy rooms have been remodeled recently and are furnished with all the comforts of home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing