We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:30 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
Great exercise

We really enjoyed this park and thought the admission price was worth it. We chose to do the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
SquirrelGirl39
,
Raleigh, North Carolina
Neat view

This was the only park we visited while in NC that charge an admissions fee, understandable... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
wanderlust146
,
Indianapolis, Indiana
Read all 2,165 reviews
  
Reviews (2,165)
Filter reviews
2,105 results
Traveller rating
1,368
551
124
37
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,368
551
124
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exclamation point hickory nut falls lake lure top of the rock gift shop worth the climb climb the stairs american flag catch your breath opera box great exercise bring water breathtaking views well worth the effort per adult great hike hiking trails
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,105 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We really enjoyed this park and thought the admission price was worth it. We chose to do the stairs and went all the way up to Exclamation Point, such wonderful views. Then we walked to the waterfall and had it all to ourselves. If we lived closer we definitely would come back.

Thank SquirrelGirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

This was the only park we visited while in NC that charge an admissions fee, understandable considering the elevator and some of the maintenance required. For 2 adults and one child was ~$32 with a coupon from Asheville visitors center. The drive inside the park has very windy narrow roads, but is worth the end views! There is a parking lot near chimney falls then it is about 500 steps to get to Chimney Rock, but there is also an elevator if you prefer to avoid the stair climb! At the Chimney Rock level there is a gift shop and cafe/snack bar. Chimney Rock is uneven as it is on a rock. You can see for miles with the main view of Lake Lure. Wish we would have stayed longer and hiked to the waterfall but we wanted to see Lake Lure but it was disappointing considering it was fall time and had nothing to do. The town at the base of Chimney Rock had some cute shops.

Thank wanderlust146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We loved Chimney Rock! We arrived around 9:30am on a Sunday, which was the perfect time. After taking the elevator up to the rock, we climbed the stairs to sit in the Opera Box and see the Devils Head. The stairs were quite a hike, especially with a 5 and 2 year old, but the views were worth it. We then took the Hickory Nut Falls Trail to see the waterfall. It was easy enough for our kids but was a little stressful trying to make sure they didn’t fall off the side of the mountain. Unfortunately, the deck closest to the falls was closed because of ice once we got up there, but we still had a good view. We spent about 3 hours here and the trip was well worth it.

Thank az510323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Chimney Rock State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We're so glad you enjoyed your time in the Park! Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

This is the Iconic rock in west side of North Carolina. It acts similar to the Stone at Stone Mountains in Atlanta. Chimney Rock State Park, Hickory Nut Falls, and Lake Lure are in the same region. If you stay at Asheville, you can follow I26 east at Exit 49 turn to Hendersonville. The trip will give you a chance to see Apple farms with chance picking fresh apples (Hendersonville), then walk up to Chimney Rock even up to Skyline trail, or use Hickory Nut Falls trail to visit wonderful Falls. Along the Chimney Rock village, you can walk along river park. Finally you can drive another half mile to have water fun at lake lure. This is a buy one get three free field trip.

Thank slin20042000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Chimney Rock State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We're so glad you enjoyed your time at the Rock! Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

Loved the place , the trails and seeing one of the beautiful waterfalls. Such beautiful scenery and nature.

Thank RedheadedLady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Chimney Rock State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for the review! We're so glad you enjoyed your time in the Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

What a great place to visit. I'm in the area several times a year (as a photographer) and I got the season pass. This is one of my favorite places in southeast to take photos. There's always something happening.

Thank BR549LeeBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Chimney Rock State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for the review! We're so glad you enjoyed your time in the Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

Go early to be able to park up at the top. We arrived at 11am and had to take the shuttle. The down side was we were not able to bring all our jackets, snacks with us on the bus if we didn't want to carry them all day. We hiked the Hickory Nut Trail to a 400 foot waterfall which was nice. We rode the elevator up to the top of Chimney Rock. It wasn't working when we arrived due to a storm the night before. But thankfully they got it repaired by the time we got there. We enjoyed lunch at the top with great views. We also loved the apple cider float:)

Thank Texans112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Chimney Rock State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for the review! We're so glad you enjoyed your time in the Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were here on a gorgeous fall day, so clear you could see forever. The more adventurous walked the dog up the stairs, I chose the 32 second elevator ride. Up top was a gift shop with food offerings. The views atop the rock are simply amazing, too beautiful for me to describe well, so check 'em out for yourself. There are additional stairs and trails once you've reached Chimney Rock (optional). Some of our group took the moderate walk to the waterfalls and the pictures they brought back were gorgeous. Bring your walking, hiking shoes and enjoy!

Thank David S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Chimney Rock State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for the review! We're so glad you enjoyed your time in the Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Gorgeous views of the water falls and surrounding areas, and something for everyone. The drive there is twisty and turny on windy roads, but once you get there it's worth it! From the parking lot it is about 500 steps to get to Chimney Rock, but there is also an elevator if you prefer to avoid the stair climb! At the Chimney Rock level there is a gift shop and cafe/ snack bar where you can order sandwichs, pizza and snacks. There are also multiple picnic tables along the way if you want to bring your own food. The hiking trails are moderate in difficulty, but worth the effort to see the waterfalls. The Skyline Trail takes you to the top of the falls with a nice view of the beginning of the falls and the surrounding area. The Hickory Nut Falls trail takes you to the base of the falls and is gorgeous. We spent about 4 and a 1/2 hours in the park, and hiked all the trails except for the Four Seasons trail. We visited both gift shops, in ate our own bag lunch at one of the picnic tables. Can't wait to share with friends and visitors!

1  Thank Quilty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a must see natural wonder!. Climb 500 stairs to spectacular views or take an elevator to the top. Guides are avaiable if needed. You won't be disapointed!

Thank Iluv2travel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews