We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pancakes and Water”
Review of Genny's Restaurant

Genny's Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Chimney Rock
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pancakes and Water”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We loved relaxing at Genny's. We had Pancakes and coffee as we listened to the soothing sound of the creek rushing by. A great place to have a view and a quiet conversation with your partner in life!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    83
    50
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not very friendly "family friendly" restaurant”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Advertised as a christian based family restaurant we were surprised with the sheer rudeness of the customer service. The waitress was very rude and only came over to take a order and deliver the food. No refills or anything. The water I got had a rock or clump of dirt in it - completely unappetizing. The country ham was so hard yet undercooked... how is that even possible. The breakfast itself is way overpriced 2 meals and 2 waters for 25 dollars? and we did not even eat much of it cause the quality was very bad. The kitchen itself is very very dirty. Open windows leading into the kitchen with bugs flying all around.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JosephCurry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My kinda place”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

On the way to Chimney Rock park, we stopped at the foot of the mountain to have lunch at Genny's. Good old home cookin'. I had steak'n gravy with fried okra and green beans topped with a few hush puppies. Man was it good. Just a plain, straightforward restaurant with great food. We had the pleasure of sitting out back on the patio by a wonderful mountain stream. Just an enjoyable day with an enjoyable meal. The only drawback was service was a little slow so this is not a quick hit and run place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok for what we needed”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great hushpuppies, everything else was ok for what we needed. We had just hiked at Chimney Rock and we exhausted and very hungry. The pulled pork special tasted like it was from something store bought. The fried chicken was good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avl, nc
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great home cooking”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a great place to get a good home cooked meal while on the road. The corn bread is wonderful. The season everything like you would at your own kitchen. It is worth giving it a try if you are in Chimney Rock

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank s j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Genny's Restaurant also viewed

Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Genny's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing