We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, nice view while eating!”

Riverwatch Bar & Grill
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Mooresville, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal, nice view while eating!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just enjoying the Chimney Rock area, we decided to stop and grab a bite for lunch. More options than we anticipated and they all looked good. I decided to go with the "catch of the day", a blackened mahi-mahi. My wife ordered a grilled chicken salad. Both were above average, in fact my fish was quite excellent. And the view from the back porch of the river, with its gentle babble just added to the quite enjoyable atmosphere. Our server was very friendly and helpful, and (very important to me), kept my drink filled until I did not want any more. We have a season pass to the Chimney Rock Park here in town and will be back to both the park and this restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    148
    52
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mix of great and average”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The restaurant has a good atmosphere, we ate on the back deck overlooking the river with a great view of chimney rock! The staff are very friendly. The food is a mix of made in house items and out of a frozen package type items. Certain things were delicious and fresh but were mixed with things they obviously got out of a package. It has great potential and wasn't bad overall. Watch out for bumble bees in the wood banisters out on the porch. They aren't aggressive but it was very distracting to try and enjoy our time with bees constantly flying in our face. If they can do something about the bees and be more consistent on the food quality, this place could be awesome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, ok service”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We waited to be seated outside because it was a beautiful day. The food was very good. The service staff seemed less than enthusiastic to be there. On the waterfront so the outside seating was worth the short wait. I'd go back again.

Helpful?
Thank luv2golf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waynesboro
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not a place we would go again”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stopped here for lunch the first week of January, 2014. It is a bar in a tourist spot, so we really were not expecting 5 star dining, but were disappointed beyond belief.

The wait staff is great, they deserve kudos. The food however all seems to be frozen and deep fried. Nothing special, won't kill you, but no better than Burger King.

The really disturbing part of our stop was how truly dirty it was. Our feet stuck to the floor when we walked, and I actually had to peel the sleeve of my jacket off of the table. There was old food and bits of junk, paper, stirrers etc. on the floor. Really, truly gross.

It was not busy the day we stopped, and they seemed to have more than enough staff, none of us could understand why they did not clean. I could never go here again because of the filth.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverwatchDeliGrill, General Manager at Riverwatch Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
We greatly appreciate all of our customers taking the time to let us know about their experience be it positive or negative.

Upon reading about your unsatisfactory experience we found ourselves wondering if perhaps we were confused with one of the few area restaurants that also have River in their name (as it happens from time to time) Simply because we strive very hard to provide the cleanest restaurant possible. We have 5 staff members that are ServSafe Certified on proper sanitation and we provide our employees with the sanitation guidelines set forth in the ServSafe training. We also drive home the importance of staying on top of cleaning, we have a firm "if you have time to lean you have time to clean" policy.

With relation to "all" our food being "frozen & deep fried" Out of the roughly 85 menu options we currently offer, less than 15 are fried. Our Angus burgers, Onion Rings, Fried Pickles, Chicken Wings, Produce, Boars Head meats & cheeses and most items on our menu, are all made using fresh ingredients.

Finally, if for some strange reason any of our patrons found themselves at a table that was as dirty as you have described, I greatly hope that they would alert their server or management to allow us the opportunity to immediately remedy the situation, (Which we most certainly would have) as customer satisfaction always has and will be our top priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for eats after the chimney rock climb”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stopped here for some food after visiting Chimney Rock. Sat by the river brilliant BLT severed with a smile and some of the best sweet tea around.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverwatchDeliGrill, General Manager at Riverwatch Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate all of our customers taking the time to let us know about their experience. As a southerner, I'm proud our sweet tea left a good impression on you. We hope the next time your stateside you'll find your way back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverwatch Bar & Grill also viewed

Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Riverwatch Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing