We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean motel with great location”
Review of Carter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carter Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very clean motel with great location”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The location is great and you can easily walk to many stores and restaurants. The owners are very nice and very friendly. The property was very well maintained. In the back they have swings, tables/chairs, and cornhole for your enjoyment by the river. Best I could tell every room overlooked the river and had a great view of Chimney Rock. If you get a main level room you can park right in front of your room. If you get a lower level room you have to walk down 1 flight of stairs to your room door. There is a room with drink and snack machines and ice on the lower level. Our room and bathroom was exceptionally clean. Basic toiletries and a hairdryer were provided. There was also a TV and refrigerator. The decor was country, but not in an ugly way- it was more like Granny's house. Quilts on the beds and battenburg lace curtains in the bathroom. The furniture was pretty new, but it was in a style that looked classic like in Granny's bedroom. Nothing had a modern look, even if it was new. Our room also had a small table/chair. The mattresses were a little softer than you find in franchise hotels. The wi-fi connection was good too. I have terrible allergies and normally don't stay at "Mom and Pop" motels- but this one was fine. My allergies did not flare at all, which is a testament to its cleanliness. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarheelluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    27
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
46
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Carter Lodge is such a fantastic place. This was our 3rd stay since 2009 and it is always great. The rooms are clean, beautiful views and caring owners. Joe and Linda will help in any way they can to ensure you enjoy your stay. The Honeymoon/jacuzzi room has a wonderful view of Chimney Rock and the river. The fishing was great. Had daily limit within 4 hours. Wildlife was seen on the river such as a Mink, a Heron and ducks. Relaxing and Wonderful. Close to the Village of Chimney Rock and Lake Lure.

Room Tip: Honeymoon/ Jacuzzi room has wonderful views and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

First off, the view is wonderful!!!! You are right under Chimney Rock. The back yard is very pretty and a great place to just relax. The river is right there and they have swings and benches to enjoy the view. They also lit the yard up with tiki torches at night so you can still enjoy the yard in the dark. The room is dated but very clean. We were very comfortable during our stay. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful.

The negative stuff: The bed squeaks when you turn in the bed and I'm such a light sleeper that it would wake me up. The area itself doesn't have a gas station to get convenience items. There are few choices when it comes to getting something to eat too.

Overall: The Carter Lodge is a great cozy place to stay. It is not an upscale resort by no means. It was a great stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel if you stay at Chimney Rock.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dobeydoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senatobia, Mississippi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We found Carter Lodge to be a comfortable and clean motel with outstanding views. We took pictures of ourselves on our balcony with Chimney Rock in the background. The rushing river sound was so relaxing esp. while sitting in a nice swing on the lawn. If you are looking for luxury digs, this isn't for you, but if a little age doesn't bother you, it is the best. Recommend and would like to have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyraYount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here rather than in Ashville on a recent overnight to pick up a friend. We were so glad we did. I had read the Tripadvisor reviews, so I knew that this was an older, but well maintained lodge. The owners could not have been more friendly or more helpful. They recommended restaurants, sight seeing and even moved a refrigerator into our room to preserve a left-over sandwich that we had with us on arrival! Unfortunately, we only had time for a one night stay. We are looking forward to going back for the autumn leaves.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

In area to see Chimney Rock and decided to stay a couple nights to see other points of interest.
Owners were extremely nice, and looked out for your comfort. This is not a new motel with all the amenities of some, but it is quite comfortable and peaceful. Had all the necessities and at a very good price. Great view overlooking river were you can either sit and relax, or enjoy the views of wildlife and mountains. Within close walking distance of the town Chimney Rock and it's offerings. Ginney's is a good place for home cooked food.
A short drive to Lake Lure (recommend the boat tour), and close enough to Pisgah Forest and it's many recreational offerings. Plan on a full day to take those in.
Highly recommend staying here, wish we had more time to spend.

Room Tip: First floor, ground level nice. Second floor offers balcony and better view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Great place to stay!! Very clean and the owners are very friendly, second visit & will go back! Right on the river and great view of Chimney Rock. Walking distance to all shops and restaurants in Chimney Rock.

Room Tip: No restaurant or pool. Stayed in King size room & queen, both are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
0.9 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
15.3 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
15.2 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Ramada Hendersonville
Ramada Hendersonville
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
#2 of 5 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Lodge

Property: Carter Lodge
Address: 273 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carter Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Carter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing