We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Chimney Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice Inn”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had been wanting to stay here for awhile. This is a very nice, clean place to stay for a couple of nights or a week. We stayed in room #4 and really enjoyed ourselves. We were within walking distance to every little shop and restaurant in Chimney Rock. I would easily stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jporter704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the Hickory Nut Cottage for two nights and experienced a touch of paradise! Everything was comfortable, quiet and cozy. We had a great view of Chimney Rock and the River. There was plenty of room for the four of us to laze around and relax. Everyone was so kind. Larry and Carol recognized us from our last visit a few months back. It felt like we were spending time with extended family.

Room Tip: The cottage is SO comfortable with a plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Daytona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here four nights and didn't want to leave! Between the host and hostess and the other guests, it was like visiting with long time friends. There was lots to do in the area (Carl Sandburg's home, great golf courses, an Ashville bus tour, hikes, etc.) and great places to eat. The Inn is charming and the river next door put us to sleep at night. Oh yeah, and as a bonus, the leaves were turning. Spectacular! We can't wait to return to visit our new friends!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a balcony overlooking the river. Some are two room suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Wow, what a cute place! We were treated royally for a 4 day stay at this charming inn. Everything was just perfect. Our room was #6 and quite comfortable as we had requested a not so firm mattress. Carol & Larry really go out of their way to please their guests. I only wish the food (homemade waffles, apple dumplings, banana cake) wasn't so delicious. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarE422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torvastad, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed at this gem of a inn two nights ago. After a small delay with check-in, we got our room (no 3) and instantly went back in time. Coming from Norway, this inn is so typical American as it is possible to get. Being treated as a family-member by the hosts and rest of the guests and not a guest was an outstanding. The room had a beautiful view of the Chimney and a big porch with rocking-chairs. In the morning we were about to leave without getting our breakfast, but where not allowed to go unless we had our freshly made waffles and tea. What a great start on our long drive down to Jacksonville. Can absolutely recommend this inn.

Room Tip: King suite number 3 is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan Ove L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and must admit that it was an amazing place. Can't say enough about their generous hospitality and charming inn. We had the Riverfront King suite #3 and the view of the river was beautiful. The Chimney Rock village is something straight out of a movie and the whole surrounding area is so pretty and friendly. Lastly i would like to mention how pleasant the owners were, their attention to detail and what a delicious homemade breakfast they would prepare every morning. I would surely return and very much recommend Fibber MaGee's.

Room Tip: Any room is lovely here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Thank you Larry and Carol (owners of the B & B) for a very nice stay at the inn. The couple had a bottle of wine waiting for us along with our choice of ground coffee. While we missed the home cooked meals that are common on Saturday and Sunday stays, you do get some choices for a continental breakfast for the rest of the week such as yogurt, crescents, cinnamon rolls one morning, boxed cereal assortment, grapes, bananas, apples, frozen waffles, etc. We stayed in the King Riverfront #3 room for three nights. I love having a two-room suite and both rooms had doors that lead to a very large back porch overlooking both the river and chimney rock. The bathroom in this suite though is small. I couldn't have asked for better views or for a place that was kept nice and close to everything in town. And I loved the town. I walked around there every day checking out the eclectic stores and their offerings. I panned for gems at the Gem Factory located just a few minutes walk away. Dathan was fabulous there and I got to come home with some wonderful gem finds. Walking along the river is free and peaceful. I taped some of the sounds of the roaring river to use in future videos. If you are an artist, fisherman or hiker, this is the place for you. The only downside of this B & B is the stairs. There is no elevator so if you get a room here, you will have be able to climb stairs. But after this visit to NC I have realized that almost anywhere we have gone we have needed to climb stairs so get yourself in shape before you go! Parking is right there and free. There were two televisions in the suite and they both worked perfectly. I like a pet-free and smoke-free environment due to my allergies) so I am glad to have found this place. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: King Suite #3 has the best view of the river and chimney rock. You need to climb stairs to get to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LookingForHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fibbers, Owner at Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Francine,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was such a pleasure to meet you and Larry. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and got to view our beautiful little bit of paradise in the mountains. I really do believe this area is one of the most beautiful places in the world. The mountains, river, lake and small town charm are just breathtaking and it is so nice when we get to introduce it to special people like you. We hope to see you and your family again in the future. God bless.
Carol & Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
1.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
0.1 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
106 reviews
15.2 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
65 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
1.0 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn

Property: Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Address: 339 Main, Chimney Rock, NC 28720-0100
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Updated 1890's Stagecoach Inn. This unique resort property features 8 guest rooms, 18 hole Mini-Golf Course, large gift and coffee shop along the Rocky Broad River. Large Riverfront suites feature private porches with fantastic views of the mountains and river. Guest rooms with jacuzzi baths and private porches also available. Located in the Chimney Rock Village, within walking distance to Lake Lure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing