We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Chimney Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Magical piece of paradise”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We celebrated our 42nd anniversary in room 2 and were so sad to have to leave. There aren't words to describe how special our stay was. Larry and Carol made our trip that much more special with their generous hospitality, and on the weekend, Carol made some incredible breakfasts for all to enjoy. Room 2 has the most comfortable bedroom with a king sized bed and the living room has all the comforts of home. The rooms are beautifully decorated and we really appreciated all the special touches. Being right across from the kitchen was a real bonus when wanting just a little something to snack on or get ice.
The super large balcony looks out over the river and the sounds of the rushing water take you to another place. Directly across is the Chimney at Chimney Rock State Park. We could even get pictures of our balcony when on the Chimney.
The location is perfect for walking into town and enjoying the quaint village. Several restaurants have decks overlooking the river, and there is the riverwalk.
We can't wait until we can return for another stay in this wonderful inn, and spend more time visiting with Larry and Carol.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank floridamom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

What a nice place. Our room #1 on corner above the mini-golf, overlooking the river and great view of the Rock. Room was clean, comfortable and cozy.Perfect location within walking of the neat shops and food in Town. The River walk is beautiful. Also a nice walk to the Lake. You must stay there with visiting.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are our preferred. They are on the backside off the road and nice porches. You are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fibbers, Owner at Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so happy you enjoyed the Inn and your room We take a lot of pride in our Inn and our area so we love to share that with our guests It was ironic that you mentioned the night sounds since we just had company from Florida and we were listening to the frogs and night sounds and commenting on the fire flies. We hope to see you again and thanks again for your kind words.
Carol and Larry Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a great find! Our hosts, Larry & Carol, were most enjoyable. Community kitchen was well-stocked with fresh fruits and home-made cookies. Juices and milk in the ‘fridge. Also, fresh-ground coffees in any flavor you could imagine. Weekend breakfast to rival any 5-star hotel. Beautifully decorated rooms and common sitting areas. Or go outside to enjoy the fresh air on the balconies overlooking the rambling river. Or doze off to the quiet (20 MPH) music of the Harleys’ rumble on the street below. Good WiFi connection and private parking. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fibbers, Owner at Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for such a nice review. It was such a pleasure spending time talking to you two about your travels. We think this area is one of the prettiest places we have seen and we love to share the beauty with special people like you. You will have to keep us posted on more of your travels and we hope to see you here this fall.
Sincerely,
Carol and Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake tahoe, ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a very cute and comfortable B&B, right on the river in Chimney Rock, NC. Just a couple minutes drive from Lake Lure. The accommodations are comfortable and spacious. The owners/innkeepers are a lovely couple, very friendly, and breakfast is hearty and delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: We were in suite 3 which had greet views of the river and the mountains.,room had a king bed, living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vernonp816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had been wanting to stay here for awhile. This is a very nice, clean place to stay for a couple of nights or a week. We stayed in room #4 and really enjoyed ourselves. We were within walking distance to every little shop and restaurant in Chimney Rock. I would easily stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jporter704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the Hickory Nut Cottage for two nights and experienced a touch of paradise! Everything was comfortable, quiet and cozy. We had a great view of Chimney Rock and the River. There was plenty of room for the four of us to laze around and relax. Everyone was so kind. Larry and Carol recognized us from our last visit a few months back. It felt like we were spending time with extended family.

Room Tip: The cottage is SO comfortable with a plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Daytona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here four nights and didn't want to leave! Between the host and hostess and the other guests, it was like visiting with long time friends. There was lots to do in the area (Carl Sandburg's home, great golf courses, an Ashville bus tour, hikes, etc.) and great places to eat. The Inn is charming and the river next door put us to sleep at night. Oh yeah, and as a bonus, the leaves were turning. Spectacular! We can't wait to return to visit our new friends!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a balcony overlooking the river. Some are two room suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
1.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
0.1 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
106 reviews
15.2 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
66 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
1.0 mi away
The Esmeralda Inn
The Esmeralda Inn
#1 of 3 in Chimney Rock
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn

Property: Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Address: 339 Main, Chimney Rock, NC 28720-0100
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Updated 1890's Stagecoach Inn. This unique resort property features 8 guest rooms, 18 hole Mini-Golf Course, large gift and coffee shop along the Rocky Broad River. Large Riverfront suites feature private porches with fantastic views of the mountains and river. Guest rooms with jacuzzi baths and private porches also available. Located in the Chimney Rock Village, within walking distance to Lake Lure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing