We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A DUMP!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Clayton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clayton
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Extremely subpar and unclean, I was hesitant to even walk around barefooted! This horrid experience started when we were issued a mildew infested room upon arrival. I went to the front desk and was issued a room on the second floor that was dirty. The iton was still out from when the guest before were using it. There was also white residue on the desk in the hotel room and grime in the toilet and bath/shower area. I was even hesitant to take a shower. I waited until we checked out the next day and freshened up at a nearby relative's place. Highly unrecommended. Might as well go a little further up the street to Smithfield or Raleigh for adequate accomodationd

Room Tip: Book Elsewehere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MetroGlam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMFORTSUITESNC302, General Manager at Comfort Suites Clayton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and had made improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests.


We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Warm regards,

Comfort Suites Clayton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

The pros: beautiful lobby and breakfast area. Spacious room, pretty decent clean environment. The staff for the most part were polite when we interacted with them. The location is very convenient for getting to/from the Raleigh area and the area is pretty quiet overall. Cons: Internet service here is NOT happening. We addressed this with the front desk staff and asked to be moved to a different location perhaps closer to the router and were refused. We were offered to use the hotel computer which I did and had zero luck getting anywhere quick. I needed computer access for work during this trip so it was quite disappointing. In addition to this, we struggled with phone service from our phones and I have a pretty reputable provider who I have never had issues getting service from even in very remote areas. Not sure what is blocking the signals in this location, but if they work on that, it would be wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catny402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMFORTSUITESNC302, General Manager at Comfort Suites Clayton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests.

We have upgraded our internet service and also off FREE long distance in our room for guests who may have cell phone issues. We value your feedback and hope to see you again soon.


Warm regards,

Comfort Suites Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here while visiting family in town. The rooms are more of a junior suite as they smaller and don't possess truly seperate living and sleeping quarters. Overall the room was clean with standard amenities. My only gripe was the wall mounted climate control unit directly next to the bed. Not horrible, but I don't like having a fan running next to my head while sleeping. Did appreciate the included breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carnival644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMFORTSUITESNC302, General Manager at Comfort Suites Clayton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Comfort Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

For the price of this hotel I expected it to be a little better.
The furniture in our room was ripped and the rug was very sticky. Not what I had the last time I stayed there, which was only one year before. The staff people were all very nice, I got the feeling they were doing all they could with what they had. Not sure who owns this hotel but I think it is time to spent a little money to upgrade and keep the rugs clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReeMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMFORTSUITESNC302, General Manager at Comfort Suites Clayton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Thank you for your feedback and allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for the room conditions on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with our owners and we have made improvement to our room ensure we meeting our guests expectations.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Clayton.

Kind Regards,

Comfort Suites Clayton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We decided to stay here as it was five minutes away from some family we were visiting. The room and amenities were similar to most hotels of this ilk. However the main reason I'd give it 2 stars is the musty smell that was just over bearing in the room. I don't know if it was coming from the air conditioning but it was in 2 different rooms we were in. Also, there was no in room safe as well as rooms needing a general upgrade. He pull out couch in our room was torn and broken. Whilst we didn't need to use it, it was unsightly and was clearly jammed so nobody could sit on it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank AymanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMFORTSUITESNC302, General Manager at Comfort Suites Clayton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Thank you for your feedback and allow us to express how disappointed we are in our hotel in the service we provided

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel on your recent visit. This is not the image we like to protray to our guest which we had made all the improvement to our hotels. We hope you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Comfort Suites Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times and each time it seems the rates increase. My most recent stay (May 5, 2014) was the final straw with the regular rate of $105 being reduced only $5 with my AAA card. The hotel is always clean, staff has usually been friendly, but from now on I'll be staying 6 miles up the road in Garner where there are more hotels (and just as nice) and the prices are more reasonable. The desk clerk told me the prices at this hotel are as high as they are because it's the only hotel in Clayton - I'm sure that's true - and that to me is a good reason to stay in Garner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMFORTSUITESNC302, General Manager at Comfort Suites Clayton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Thank you for feedback on your stay while visiting Clayton. Our rates are set based the brand and other hotels in the surrounding area. Please visit Choicehotels.com or call our hotel directly at 919-553-1234 for discounts and specials.


Thank you,

Comfort Suites Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Although this hotel was clean and attractive, there were several things about it that bothered us during our stay. The first thing I noticed was the musty smell. Not sure what it was, but from the time we stepped into the lobby, then elevator, then the 2nd floor hallway, the unplesant smell was there. Once in the room, we realized that our double beds did not seem like average size double beds at all, but rather, smaller than a double. The walls were "thin" and we could hear a baby crying and a small child running and talking next door until late at night, while we were trying to sleep. Our toilet flushed but then made this hideous grinding noise and soon it stopped up and would not flush at all. But...the thing that frustrated us the most was the clock in the room. It was not set correctly, but an hour behind, and not realizing that, we completely missed breakfast the next morning (and one of the main reasons we chose this hotel was because of the nice, hot breakfast). We should have checked the clock instead of assuming it was correct. Will never do that again! I do have to give kudos to Shirley, who I'm guessing was over housekeeping, for getting us yogurt, cereal, milk and juice even after we missed breakfast. She was great! We wouldn't stay again because we just didn't think it was worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LNJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMFORTSUITESNC302, General Manager at Comfort Suites Clayton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Thank you for feedback and I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. It sadden us that you would not stay with us again but we would love to have you back.

We like to make every effort possible to have you back with us so please give us a call at
919-553-1234 to discuss. We hope to hear from you soon.


Sincerely,

Comfort Suites Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clayton
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Raleigh / Clayton I-40
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 9 in Garner
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Super 8 Garner/Clayton/Raleigh
10.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Garner/Raleigh South
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Garner
Sleep Inn Garner
#7 of 9 in Garner
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Clayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Clayton

Address: 761 Enterprise Dr, Clayton, NC 27520-5589
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: £70 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Clayton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Suites Clayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Clayton Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing