We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite breakfasts”
Review of Moose Cafe

Moose Cafe
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Colfax
Restaurant details
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
188 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“One of my favorite breakfasts”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Moose Café is a real farm to table restaurant and their breakfast is among the best you will find anywhere in the south! They have what is certainly the best biscuits on earth. Now this is something I know as I have worked and worked to match Moose Café biscuits and they have the best. They alone are worth a visit, but everything they serve for breakfast is outstanding. You can't make a bad choice. If I have to pick nits, the service is a little slow, but hey it's not fast food. I really want to go for dinner and see what they do with that, but I can give breakfast my highest recommendations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a1963corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    59
    43
    32
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Things are loose at moose!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Let's see: a grilled cheese sandwich with bland, processed cheese--not good. Cream of sweet potato soup--make that lukewarm (at best) cream of sweet potato soup--not good. Anemic biscuits with "apple butter" containing seed hulls and right out of the refrigerator--not good. Apple dessert with unpeeled apples and mostly crust--not good.

This is a breakfast place, and not a bad one, but lunch? Ours was a horrible experience, one that we won't try again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Love this place, at Sandy Ridge farmers market. Stop maybe once a moth. Clean good help and excellent food. Have only had breakfast there. Talk about a Farmers Brreakfast wow.Also have lots of low cal choices too..........A don't miss when at Farmers Market .Open all week BREAKFAST,LUNCH AND DINNER.............

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bronxboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, NC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Below average but not quite poor”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Maybe since it is located in the Farmers Mkt, I was expecting more. The service was about average but the food was a bit below average.

The country fried steak was too heavily breaded. The fried chicken was ok, but just ok. The chicken and dumplings were a disappointment.

The highlight of the meal was the pintos served with chow chow and onions on the side.

I would have to be real hungry to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncsccrdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I read some of the reviews on here and honestly I disagree. The food that we had was very flavorful and quite delicious. I had the sweet potato soup, a seasonal salad and the grilled moose chicken. My husband had the trout, sweet potato fries and another side.
In my opinion each piece of our food had a distinct taste and it was all very eloquently put together. The flavors matched well and complemented one another.

Overall, our mid day dining was an excellent experience. I will definitely cme back and recommend it to others.



  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moose Cafe also viewed

 
Greensboro, NC
 

Been to Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing