We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the perfect place to relax!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brickhouse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brickhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Columbia B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is the perfect place to relax!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I think there is one word to discribe this place... COZY! My husband and I stayed here for 2 days and I have to say I truly enjoyed the experience! The room was very cozy and I slept great! The breakfast was fantastic! Kay was a wonderful hostess. (Thanks for the mimosas and magnolia blossoms!!!) My husband and I didn't do much which was ok considering we just wanted to relax. We did visit the winery just down the street. They had quite a selection. We stayed at the B & B with another couple. They were wonderful too! Lots of good conversation and lots of laughs! I think this will officially be our quiet getaway place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJacks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tidewater, VA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I love this town & this B&B -- the closest I've found to Mayberry. Mr. Brickhouse knows everything about the surrounding area & has an interesting, eclectic background from which to draw. The inn is directly across from the town library & offers a delightful front porch & "old timey" parlor. Columbia is very small, but Edenton & the Outer Banks are only 30 min. away & are great for day trips.
I always feel like I've stepped back in time when I stay here. It's pleasant, peaceful & comfortable.

Room Tip: Magnolia Room has a separate, outside entrance with a porch & a large bathroom - NICE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nellie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay here. We wanted to visit the Outer Banks while still having a quaint and intimate place to spend the night. The owner and staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The owner is full of local stories, and makes an engaging breakfast companion. We're looking forward to staying here again on a future trip.

Room Tip: The Magnolia Room has a spacious, private bath. That's always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colfax, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Nice bed in breakfast in Columbia NC, The stay was nice. Not much to do in Columbia need to drive to outter banks if you want to do anything more than relax. All and all was a nice place to stay. The people there were nice and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Nice place when you reserve a room ask for one without a bed that squeaks, That is the only concern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dablmb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

The beds were uncomfortable. The location was not great.... Absolutely nothing to do in Columbia and over an hour still to obx. The breakfast was decent on out first day but nothing special. We had to leave early the second day and the didn't even offer to have any sort of breakfast available to us. The strangest part was no one was there to greet us when we got there and some other guests had to let us in. Then we couldn't leave bc we didn't know if we could get back in later. Turns out the owner doesn't really run the inn but has an "innkeeper" who stays on premesis. She was not very friendly and almost seemed like we were intruding on her space. Oh, and the bathrooms were small and had mold growing on wall/curtain...ewwwww!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Banjopickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

This is such a charming B&B in Columbia, NC. I had never visited the outer banks, but with a Living Social voucher for a B&B only about half an hour from the coast, I thought this might be a good chance. We arrived on Tuesday and had a key and nice note left on the door for us, since we didn't get there until about 6pm. The housekeeper, Kim, greeted us when she heard us in the house. There were all kinds of beverages and goodies to snack on: tea, hot chocolate, and coffee, fruit, cookies, chips, and wine. And with a cute local restaurant just around the corner, we never went hungry. The other couple that was staying there while we were there stayed upstairs. I felt like we always had privacy. Also, the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Lee, the owner of the place, came every morning to help cook it. They also changed up the menu each day for breakfast to accommodate my food allergy. Everyone we met was welcoming and kind, and we never felt out of place in the house. When we return to this area, we will very likely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia room-- it had its own big bathroom, a private porch, and a very nice and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolinagirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were a bit unsure about what to expect upon arriving at the Inn given we had only heard of if thru "livingSocial". We weren't familiar with the area nor what there was to do there so it was going to be an adventure to say the least. Our experience was spectacular. The house is absolutely beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed rocking on the porch and chatting with the other guest over a glass of wine. Lee, was amazing along with the other lady. Oh and breakfast was scrumptious! Honestly I couldn't ask for a better experience. The service was fantastic and the facility was beautiful. No detail was missed. If you are in Columbia PLEASE give this B&B a chance. I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
23.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Edenton
Hampton Inn Edenton
#1 of 2 in Edenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Granville Queen Inn
22.3 mi away
Inner Banks Inn
Inner Banks Inn
#2 of 8 in Edenton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Athol Plantation
Athol Plantation
#6 of 8 in Edenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Brickhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brickhouse Inn

Property: The Brickhouse Inn
Address: 415 Main Street, Columbia, NC 27925
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Columbia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Columbia, The Brickhouse Inn is a true taste of Southern Living. Choose from one of our 5 elegantly decorated suites & guest rooms. During your stay enjoy a full breakfast service and evening refreshments. Our amenities include a media library, internet connection and study. Whether you prefer to enjoy a relaxed evening under our famed gazebo or stroll along the Scuppernong River, The Brickhouse Inn awaits you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing