We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an awesome little get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butterfly Creek Inn Tryon
Ranked #1 of 2 Columbus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Lady is really super nice. The breakfast was 2nd to none. This gal can cook. Jacuzzi was broke when we got there, but she quickly had someone come over and fix. We were lucky as we were the only guests that weekend. nice little walking trail, cute little creek.
would definately recommend this place to anyone for any reason.

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect. I guess the loft is the best however.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Butterfly Creek Inn Tryon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

Sometimes after a very busy period, whether it's an extended vacation, busy weekend, or frantic time at work and your internal senses tell you it's time to "take a break", then the Butterfly Creek Inn is the place for you. Tucked away in the woods in the foothills of North Carolina is one the most enjoyable B&Bs we've had the pleasure to visit. Whether you want to be pampered or left alone, Sarah is the perfect hostess. After a two hour drive from Knoxville, we loved sitting in the swing overlooking the Butterfly Creek and just doing nothing. After an incredible nights sleep, a cup of coffee and a morning turn in the hot tub, we were pampered with a four course breakfast. We were so relaxed we extended our planned departure another three hours, just to enjoy the piece and quiet. This was our first visit, but surely will not be our last.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dscovry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2007

The Inn was a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. I loved especially listening to the creek. It had an elegant decor, but was warm and cozy. There were lovely antiques. The breakfasts were delicious and the owner Sarah was gracious and the perfect hostess. The beds were VERY comfortable, and the smell of lavender and the bubbling creek made for a great night's sleep.It was a fantastic mountain woodlands stay, and I would recommend this Inn wholeheartedly. I wish I could make time to visit again !

  • Stayed: July 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2007

We recently stayed at The Butterfly Inn for three nights. My husband found it on Trip Advisor...The reviews were so wonderful that we decided to give it a try !! We needed to be in this part of the country and having a difficult time finding a great hotel !! It is located in the middle of no where (which is part of its charm ) but close enough to have access to great little towns with terrific restaurants. Sarah, the Innkeeper was gracious, informative, bubbly & ever so accomodating !! There were treats with little notes always left in out room when we came back at night. The treats were more like tapas...shrimp cocktails, cheeses, spinach dip...cakes, etc...everything home made...The breakfasts were incredible !!! Though the Inn was full it still did not take away from the personalization that Sarah gave to each & everyone staying there !! ...Our room was on the first floor & was pricey for a B & B, but worth every penny. The bed was ever so comfortable and the bathroom had enough room for me to spread out my makeup and soak in a wonderful big tub !!! Her home is beautiful...filled with artsy, whimsical treasures...We definitely will be back !!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DREAMGIRLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

A wonderful, relaxing creekside oasis in the beautiful NC mountains! We received this weekend getaway as a Christmas gift. We don't usually stay in B&B's because we generally like to get away from everyone when we do get out of town. The innkeeper, however, went out of her way to make us feel like the only people in the Inn and worked with our schedule. She set up several SPA treatments for us bringing in specialists as far away as Spartanburg, SC. Butterfly Creek Inn provides the best of both worlds. You get the beautiful, private surroundings, charming accommodations (beautiful antiques throughout), excellent food and special treatment of a B&B with the privacy of a hotel. The Inn is conveniently located between Columbus, Lake Lure, Saluda and Landrum only 3 miles from I-26.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2007

This was the most relaxing and fun place I've ever stayed! Butterfly Creek Inn is truly a home away from home! Sarah, the Inn Keeper, makes your stay as comfortable as ever! If you do not have everything you need, then you have not asked for Sarah's help! She truly makes you feel welcomed before you ever arrive! The creek, waterfalls, and gardens are just beautiful! The food is "out of this world!!" There is so much food it's hard to finish it all! And no need to have lunch because you are stuffed!! We had an extraordinary weekend!! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pittil8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2007

The Butterfly Creek Inn is in the middle of horse country near the border shared by North and South Carolina in the Southeastern U.S. It is but a few minutes away from three small towns (Landrum, Tryon and Saluda) populated by artists, crafts-people and musicians whose talents are on the streets and in the air. The Inn itself is hidden off of a two lane road, the entrance to which reveals numerous hand-crafted butterflys, a two-story gingerbread type house and a garden awash with the color of Spring. Inside the rustic and lovingly restored dwelling, you will find yourself tastefully surrounded with soft music and old things that will provide many memories of things past. The Inn's owner, Sarah Huff, is a deliciously charming young woman who can provide details of local specialties and happenings, listen to your stories, but who can also spin yarns of her own travels around the world. She provides a colorful and elegant breakfast to die for and offers it according to your clock, with or without other guests at the table. We found the latter sensitivity particularly attractive as it is an option rarely available at other B&B's we've enjoyed.
Butterfly Creek is a place to visit and to revisit. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ChemistsinAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
226 reviews
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Forest City
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hendersonville SE - Flat Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Forest City
15.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
5.9 mi away
1906 Pine Crest Inn
1906 Pine Crest Inn
#1 of 2 in Tryon
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Creek Inn Tryon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Creek Inn Tryon

Address: 780 Smith Dairy Rd, P.O. Box 623, Columbus, NC 28722-8704
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Columbus
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your ultimate B&B experience - designer decor, full spa service menu, three-course breakfasts, and many more amenities - check out Butterfly Creek Inn. We're located centrally between Asheville and Charlotte, North Carolina and Greenville, South Carolina - making us the perfect launching place for your next mountain adventure. In addition to individual and couple getaways, we specialize in ladies' weekends and corporate and group retreats. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing