We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a one night stay, but that's about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for a one night stay, but that's about it.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

If you are a claustrophobic person, you would really hate these rooms.The moment you walk into the room , the mini fridge is less than a foot from the door. Everything just looked crammed into the room. The towels in the bathroom were dingy and had old visible dried in stains.I found a leftover hair on the bath tub. The carpet was stained horribly.Me and my bf were almost afraid to even step barefoot on the carpet.The bed had to have been 10 or more yrs old. When you sat down on the bed you could feel the springs through the mattress .There were a couple of mattress pads on the mattress, they were obviously trying to ad extra padding because the bed was so hard. I could also see someone else's hair that was left behind through the bottom sheet. Overall, I wouldn't tell anyone to stay at this hotel unless they were in the situation that I was in , which is everywhere else was booked at the last minute and it was more affordable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomchicaboomboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    46
    72
    96
    131
See reviews for
121
100
57
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Dirty looking lobby, AC didn't work in first room. 2nd room beer bottle caps and uneaten cookies on floor. Will never stay here again nor recommend to anyone I know.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Sheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cornelius hotels

Raleigh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I and our 2 boys attempted to check in this past Sat. night. We were initially given a room on the 2nd floor. It was disgustingly filthy complete with brown mold visibly covering the majority of the shower head and dirty carpets. But the most horrible thing was the cut/exposed metal sides and front of the in-room refrigerator which was a tetanus shot just waiting to happen. The manager on duty tried to be helpful and gave us another room immediately but we found this one to not be much better. The only difference was that we wouldn't require stitches by passing by the fridge. Thankfully, we were able to speak quickly with a Trip Advisor representative who helped get a refund initiated as the manager did not appear so willing to do so. This inn is located in a very nice neighborhood but the property has not been maintained at the same level of service as that of its surrounding neighbors. I do not advise you stay here if you are expecting a clean, decent, and well managed property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvumtneergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were expecting the high standards that we thought would be found in all Microtel Inns instead it was a nightmare. The entire facility was filthy especially the guest rooms. It was too dirty to take a shower.The carpet stained, the bedding wrinkled and threadbare, and the walls chipped and dirty, If this were a penal institution, it would be cruel and unusual punishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornelius
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Cornelius
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Lake Norman
Clarion Inn Lake Norman
#3 of 6 in Cornelius
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Davidson
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
3.2 mi away
Huntersville Inn & Suites
Huntersville Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Huntersville
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman
Address: 20820 Torrence Chapel Rd, Cornelius, NC 28031-6320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Cornelius
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Cornelius
Microtel Hotel Cornelius
Cornelius Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing