We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great House!”
other travellers have booked this property
FRONT OF OUR HOME
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
FRONT OF OUR HOME
Rear Deck on the Sound Side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
FRONT OF OUR HOME
Rear Deck on the Sound Side
Great Room on First Floor with Surround Sound AND TV
TOP DECK
Kitchen is well equipped and has a Wet Bar. HAS KEURIG COFFEE MAKER PLUS A REGULAR ONE.
LOOKING OUT FROM TOP DECK
GAMEROOM WITH FOOSBALL AND TV
KING SIZE BED ON SECOND LEVEL W/ BATHROOM ALSO SLIDING GLASS DOOR TO GO OUT TO THE SECOND LEVEL &
TV
VIEW FROM THE SHIPWATCH
REAR DECK WITH SOUND VIEWS
HOT TUB ON SECOND LEVEL
Master Bedroom on First Floor with King Size Bed. WITH PRIVATE BATHROOM AND TV
Another view of the Dining room and the Great Room
DININGROOM SEATS 8
SCREENED IN PORCH RIGHT OFF OF THE KITCHEN ALSO CAN GO OUT UNTO THE TOP DECK.
HORSES IN SIDE YARD
HORSES OUT FRONT IN DRIVEWAY
VIEW FROM TOP DECK
GROUND LEVEL OFF TO YOUR LEFT IS WHERE THE TWO CHARCOAL GRILLS ARE ALSO A PORCH SWING
FRONT OF OUR HOME
Kids Room Duo Bed
Queen Size Bed on Second Level . Has a door to go out onto the second level deck on the sound side.
HORSES ON BEACH 4/22/17
HORSES ON BEACH 4/22/17
HORSES SEEN FROM TOP DECK 4/22/17
HORSES  SEEN FROM TOP DECK 4/22/17
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Corolla, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Candace G
1 review
“Great House!”
Reviewed 26 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We loved the house it was very clean and awesome views. We saw the wild horses almost everyday and the decks provided great views. We always stay in the 4x4 beach and the house was the perfect location because it was not too far down the beach and you could walk to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
We are so glad you enjoyed our home. We do hope you think of us when you are planning your next vacation.
Thank you
The SandMix
Tom & Charlotte
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explorer5...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not be better”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed here four times with our kids/tweens/teens and dogs, and every time it is an amazing trip. Though each year is different depending on the weather and mood of the ocean (some years calm, some years huge waves), the house is always perfect. It's comfortable, clean, and has everything we need (well supplied kitchen, expansive decks, comfy bedrooms, terrific proximity to the horses and beach). The owners are always great to work with and clearly take pride in their beautiful home. The view of the winking lighthouse and the screened-porch for family meals are two of my favorite things about the Sand Mix. Thank you again to the homeowners for sharing this treasure!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
We are so glad that you have enjoyed are home and have come back so many times. We do appreciate renters like you. We do hope you remember us in future vacations. W are glad we have made your vacations memorable.
Thank you again
The SandMix
Tom & Charlotte
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4x4 beach is awesome”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house was nice. Beautiful views all around. The wild horses where around all the time. When they say 4x4 beach they mean it. My family and I will definitely go back to the 4x4 beach again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
WE ARE VERY HAPPY YOU ENJOYED YOUR VACATION AND OUR HOME. WE DO HOPE YOU THINK OF US WHEN PLANNING YOU NEXT VACATION.
THANK YOU
THE SANDMIX
TOM & CHARLOTTE
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longnecke...
Springdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful vacation spot!”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is one of the most enjoyable vacations we have ever had. So peaceful and definitely beautiful! The house is a short walk to the beach and the scenery is gorgeous. Our dog Otis also had the time of his life! Thank you for opening your home for people to relax and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your vacation and our home. We do hope you remember us when planning your next vacation.
Thank you
The SandMix
Tom & Charlotte
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mckayla B...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great stay and a beautiful area. Offered privacy with great people. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful relaxing vacation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
We are happy you enjoyed your vacation and our home. We would live to have you back so please do keep us in mind for your next vacation.
Tom & Charlotte
The SandMix
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture71...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience at SandMix”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this home for a family get away and could not have been happier with the choice. First, the location is perfect, just far enough up the 4x4 beach area to get away from crowds, yet close enough to easily run into to the town of Corolla for some activities, as well as close enough for Pasquales Pizza to make a delivery to the nearby mile marker in the beach. The house faces east/west, so we got to easily enjoy both sunrises and sunsets, and the wild horses regularly stopped by to entertain us. While one of the attractions of the 4x4 area is the fact that you can park your vehicle on the beach, the beach is so close to this home that we just walked there each day and had plenty of space to ourselves. The house itself has all the amenities that could be desired, including multiple grills, an extensive DVD collection, multiple T.V.'s to watch if one tires of the views, access to online movies via a Kindle Firestick, beach gear, a supply of games as well as a horseshoe pit and a hot tub. The kitchen is well equipped as are each of the bedrooms. In short, our time at the SandMix was wonderful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you for the great review and we do hope you come back and stay with us again.
Tom & Charlotte
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing