We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed so much - did it twice”

Back Country Safari Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Custom open-air Safari Beach Cruisers take you & your family on off-road explorations of the Outer Banks northern beaches.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed so much - did it twice”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is our second year doing this tour. Family of 10 just got back from a week at the OBX where we spent one morning on the Wild Horse Tour and Kayak Tour. Next year we plan on doing the Off Road Segway tour as well. The tour this year started off with about a 45 minute drive up the beach (actually a continuation of the highway), seeing plenty of wild horses both on the beach as well as behind the dunes. Plenty of photo ops. For the kayak portion, we walked down a short path, getting jackets and paddles and then arrived at the kayaks. Enjoyable time on the water. Hopefully you can catch a non windy day so that you can get out in the sound. Plan on bringing a bottle of water with you to go in the kayak. You can leave a change of clothes and towels with the vehicle - but there it not a place to actually change there. Plan on getting a little wet. Guides know a lot about the horses but just as important - a lot about the history of OBX. Discounts available for large groups. Also check the visitors guides for coupons.Finally, there are no bathrooms once you leave the check in location - plan accordingly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    37
    5
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
1 review
“Historic Segway Tour!!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Was a amazing experience Out guide, Stephen was the best. Will be back to do the Off Road Segway Tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Turtlejlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wild Horses and more”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Group of 7 adults went on tour with our guide Chris. We had such a good time.We found about 20-25 horses out of about 103.Chris shared so much information about the horses , how they arrived there who looks after them and so much more.He also knows alot about the obx , sea life dune protection and more. Would highly recomend tour and ask for Chris to be your guide you wont be dissapointed .Couldnt do kayak part of trip due to weather but had done it before and it is great also.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our family of 9 made up the entire group because the company limits the size of each group to 10. That made the experience very personal. Our guide, Terry, and our driver, Chris, were very knowledgeable and patient. We went on the Wild Horse Tour and Kayaking Tour. The guides made sure we got plenty of time for pictures when the horses were found. The guides were very patient with those of us kayakers who couldn't quite get the hang of it!!
Only one drawback--our truck was not where it was left and we had no transportation to return to the office. I believe a poor decision was made when another truck had a flat tire and so they came to get ours. One of our guides said it was best for that group not to sit and wait for a new tire but it was OK for us to wait 30 minutes (his timing not mine). The wait was actually 45 minutes long and we were left in a tick-infested area. We were not able to sit on the ground because the ticks were crawling everywhere. When we did return to the office, the only comment made was "sorry 'bout that". Without that incident, the trip would have been fantastic!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All That & A Unicorn too!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a fabulous tour today. We had the privilege of seeing 41 wild horses, 1 seal, osprey, pelicans, other interesting landmarks, and a unicorn too!!! Our guide Chris was excellent. Recommend this adventure with these guys!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquesgreatimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Back Country Safari Tours also viewed

 

Been to Back Country Safari Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing