We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An adventure!”
other travellers have booked this property
DSC 0689
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
DSC 0689
DSC 0537 DSC 0690
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
DSC 0689
DSC 0537
DSC 0690
DSC 0692
DSC 0622
DSC 0626
DSC 0696
DSC 0700
DSC 0592
DSC 0701
DSC 0703
DSC 0711
DSC 0709
DSC 0715
DSC 0713
DSC 0745
DSC 0738
DSC 0749
Photo courtesy of Tina Stack - Sept 2012
Photo courtesy of Tina Stack - Sept 2012
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Corolla, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cathy C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An adventure!”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was a really different type of vacation for us. A friend drove up from Georgia with her dog and met us and our dogs there. A Scary start, 36 degrees, driving on the beach for the first time in gale winds, but by the end of the week was sunny and I was a beach driving pro! Went out on our own looking for the horses and found them twice! I have some great pics and videos! I have recommended to all my friends, and I think a few are going to be contacting you! Thank you for letting us stay at your lovely house!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
We are glad you had a great vacation. Thanks for recommending us to your friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timking70
Ilion, New York
1 review
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was just what my wife and I needed to break up the winter blues. We are from upstate NY so the twelve hour drive to paradise was inevitable...4wd road was a great experience but the sun rises were the most beautiful thing to witness. The weather was ok for early march, we had a couple of 70 plus degree days. Only pitfall was not much is open yet that early in the season..Definitely will book again as the price is right for the peace tranquility that Flip provides. Really makes you feel right at home. A+ home and amenities

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
We're glad you got a chance to escape the winter weather! Shame you had to go back to an early spring snow! Thanks for choosing to stay with us. I how we get to see you again soon. Glad you made it home safely.
Flip & Melody
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarlette...
1 review
“Perfect getaway.”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A beautiful location with all the comforts of home. I haven't been that relaxed in years. Thank you so much for sharing your home. Can't wait to visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2017
Terrific! We're glad you had a relaxing stay. Looking forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingP...
1 review
“Best Escape from Reality!”
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This house was absolutely wonderful! It was very secluded and private which is the perfect recipe for relaxation! It was neat and tidy and very animal friendly. It was our first time staying in the 4wheel drive beach area and we will never stay anywhere else from now on! The owner, Flip, was wonderful to work with and very friendly and helpful. We actually got engaged on this trip so it will forever hold a special place in our hearts! We cannot wait to go back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2016
Engaged?!? That's terrific, I'm glad you choose such a memorable place, like the northern OBX to pop the question. Congratulations! We hope you see you both again soon. Have a wonderful new year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery E
1 review
“awesome”
Reviewed 10 December 2016 for a stay in June 2016

we had a blast ......the beach was nearby and the wild horses were everywhere, we even had them hanging out under the house! we cannot wait to visit again. the driving was a little intimidating at first but we got used to it quick, the owner was very nice and helpful......loved it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: seclusion and beach access
Liked least: ticks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2016
We're glad that you guys had a great time. We hope you get the opportunity to come visit again. (It's really difficult to arrange that horses under the house thing!) hahaha Happy that you made it back home safely. Flip & Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saudia323...
Winsted, Connecticut
1 review
“PERFECT PLACE FOR A SMALL FAMILY”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Flip and Melody's house is perfectly appointed they have put so much thought into it that it's
amazing the minuet you go inside you instantly feel at home . They have something for
everybody . We where there last week of OCT 2016 and the weather was perfect the whole week so we didn't not have use the heat or A/C .We got our feet wet almost every day and i
rented a surfboard for two of those days it was fun . I got to use the outside shower the hot
water temperature was perfect. We loved that we saw many wild horses a deer and many tree frogs and at night when you sat out on the deck you could still here the ocean waves. We loved that this beautiful home was nestle in the woods but walking distance to the beach.We didn't go out much for dinner because we where so content just being where we where but there are many great restaurants in the area. We are so looking forward to planing a another vacation here with are dog Marley who had a lot of fun also made us happy to spend 24-7 time with him. If you are looking for a place that is peaceful and tranquil and away from the cell phones and internet this the most beautiful place to go.
Thank You So Much Flip and Melony

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
We are so glad that you had a great time! Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again in the future. Enjoy the holidays.
Flip & Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennieo55
1 review
“A perfect beach getaway”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had a wonderful time at Wash Woods. We missed a day due to Hurricane Hermine but Flip offered to refund for the day we had missed. It's nice and quiet but it's a quick ride down to the beach. Me and my family will be returning without a doubt. Thanks for a wonderful and memorable vacation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
We're glad you had a great time despite Hermine! Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Flip & Melody
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing