We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is what a Beach Hotel should be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
294 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“This is what a Beach Hotel should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Wonderful accomodations on a scenic setting . Staff was welcoming and the ocean is only a few steps away

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Furlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    329
    87
    28
    8
See reviews for
519
530
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I was really surprised by this hotel. We stayed at a suite, which was comfortable with 2 kids and we had a kitchenette, desk and sleep sofa. The hotel has 3 pools and it is right on the beach. My kids loved the pools and were very entertained. They have complimentary breakfast, which is average. The hotel does not have beach umbrellas or chairs for the beach which is quite bothersome but you can rent them from another company. Be very careful with the floor in between the swimming pools as it will burn your feet. My 2 year old touched it for no more than 3 seconds and had blisters covering her feet, very dangerous!!
Overall we had a good time!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York, USA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

For our first time going to OBX, we didn't feel comfortable renting a house. What if you go there and the house was terrible, you'd be stuck for a week or two, with a high bill and a bad house/location. So we thought it would be best, based on the great reviews here, to put together a last minute trip and book a few nights here. Highlights - the beach of course. One of the best beaches on the east coast, and being in the northern section of OBX, it isn't swamped with strip malls and people. So if you're looking for some quality beach time, peace and quite - you can't go wrong. However, on the downside - the hotel was very expensive for the quality of room you receive. Maybe several years ago, this hotel was top notch - but it hasn't aged very well. The rooms are musty, in need of being updated with new paint, carpet, beds, furniture, etc. The outdoor pool is showing cracks along the walls. Overall, we just weren't very impressed. I'd like to say maybe this happens with all beach front hotels, but then we stayed at the Marriott in Myrtle Beach, and it was immaculate - so if other hotels can stay nice, and be on the beach, why can't this place. Anyway, we were able to scout out the good locations to rent a house, and if we go back to the OBX, a house is what we would do for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Navarath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have been coming to the Outer Banks for over 20 years but because the trip is so long we decided to stay an extra couple of days at this hotel. The hotel and rooms were very clean and breakfast and parking were included. The pool and beach area were extremely crowded as we were in the middle of an extreme heat wave and the hotel was completely booked. If you are looking for a quiet spot by the beach or the pool to relax this would not be the place for you. Kids are running, jumping, splashing and yelling all over the place and many of them were unsupervised (not the fault of the hotel). We ended up leaving a day early because it wasn't worth dealing with the crowds of people anymore. I would definitely stay at this hotel again but not on a weekend in the middle of summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andersbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed three nights in an ocean front room. Very clean, very quiet and great views. Right on the beach. The beach in front of the hotel is much less crowded than other parts of Corolla. I only wish there was a restaurant and bar on the premisis. You can buy individual beers at the front desk, and there is a restaurant next door, but it has very limited hours.

Room Tip: Must be on upper level for ocean view. Ground floor view blocked by dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed three nights in this hotel the first week of July. We’ve been to the Corolla area before but have always rented a house. We only had a few days to be at the beach this time, so this was our best (only) option. We’d seen the hotel before but had never been inside. It turned out to be a very nice place to stay.

The hotel is very well planned and easy to navigate. As if the lure of the ocean right over the dunes isn’t enough, the lobby has a nice display of shells that makes you know you are at the beach. All of the staff we encountered was very knowledgeable and friendly. Check in was quick. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the pool, with a partial view of the ocean. We had a king bed and pull-out sofa for our two kids (under age 11). We opted for the view rather than the bigger suite, which was fine. The regular room had enough room for all four of us. Everything was clean. The bathroom had enough space and light. My only minor complaint would be that there was no fan in the bathroom. We didn’t use the balcony for anything other than drying out our towels and suits, but it had two chairs and a side table.

The breakfast provided by the hotel was wonderful – one of the best I’ve ever seen. Plentiful tables that were cleaned regularly and offerings that changed daily. It helped to soften the price of the room! We also took advantage of the free coffee provided 24 hours/day. I am convinced that every hotel should have that. We were not fans of the water taste, but it is the beach so that’s not surprising. The vending machine on our floor was sold out and not restocked during our stay, but we purchased a small case of water at the Harris Teeter down the road and kept it in the refrigerator. We had pizza delivered one rainy night to the room. The front desk provided us with menus from two places that delivered to the hotel.

I did laundry one night using the laundry room beside the elevator. It “closed” at 11:00 p.m., which is when I was done, but no one else was using it. There was only one washer and one dryer and each cost $1 in quarters per cycle. It only took one cycle to dry, and I had a fairly big load. I thought this was a great option, given how much laundry you can generate on a beach trip.

The regular outdoor pool was wonderful. We always could find a place to sit, and usually could be in the shade. There was a bit of the "towel game" being played, but it wasn't too bad. The lazy river was a bit of a bust. Toward the end of our stay, closer to the weekend, it did get more crowded around the pool. One night when it was raining we moved to the inside pool, which was not too big, but does have a hot tub. There are towels to use, but we brought our own from home and mostly preferred them. The beach in front of the hotel is glorious. Even at the height of summer all we had to do was walk a little to the side of the hotel access and we had plenty of beach to ourselves. There’s a lifeguard and someone renting chairs and umbrellas daily. The hotel also provides buckets and shovels for kids.

All in all, a wonderful, relaxing stay. The kids enjoyed looking for the hotel cat, Cisco. If we ever have a reason to stay less than a week in Corolla, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperHeritageTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I am a hotel snob first off and this is an older hotel that is "independently owned" but operates under the Hampton name. When I pay $400 a night for an Ocean Front room..I expect a view. We were on the second floor and were totally blocked by the Sand Dunes. The only way you will have a view of the ocean is form the 3rd floor so make sure you request that. The breakfast was standard make your own waffles but was so crowded you couldn't even get anything or sit anywhere. The room was quite older and had several smudge marks all over the walls (I think they tried to repaint (at least that is what I told myself). There was lots of rust and mold int he bathrooms. The room above us..we could hear EVERYTHING! It was really bad! I would not return to this property..way to far away from everything for us. I am used to Myrtle and Destin properties and this doesn't compare in the least. Corolla was beautiful but way too crowded with people and not enough places to eat for us.I wished we had went to Hatteras now.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SmurfySmurfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
11.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
16.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
18.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
19.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Address: 333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927-9589
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Outer Banks hotel right on the beach in Corolla, NC. We offer oceanfront rooms and suites that look out onto the pristine sandy dunes of the Outer Banks. Explore the remote beauty of the outer banks of North Carolina. See wild horses, the famous light houses of the outer banks, take a kayak tour, or choose to sit by the pool or lounge in our lazy river. Enjoy our free daily breakfast and wifi. Relaxation awaits you at our outer banks Corolla NC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Outerbanks Corolla Hotel Corolla
Hampton Inn Outerbanks Carolla
Hampton Inn Corolla
Corolla Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing