We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Corolla. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the facility was decorated beautifully. The rooms were very clean as were the bathrooms. We slept comfortably and enjoyed the beach and pools. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    328
    86
    28
    8
See reviews for
508
519
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Clean rooms, clean bathrooms, very helpful staff. Beach is only a short walk over the dunes. Breakfast is no frills, standard Hampton Inn, but FREE! Breakfast hours are a tad too short for a vacation hotel (end at 10) :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great view and very attentive staff. Room was nicely decorated and clean. Getting to the site was an experience(two-lane HWY 12). Took about two hours to travel six miles so plan accordingly. Breakfast was very well done but extremely crowded and busy. Room was very expensive but it is the BEACH!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROLLTIDEYorktown_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed a couple nights in May with my wife to attend a wedding. Would be a five star review but they messed up our booking, so we had to check out and check back in mid-stay, including moving rooms. Not the end of the world, but very inconvenient. Thankful they could accommodate us but it did take nearly an hour of back and forth at the desk.

That aside, had a great stay. Excellent breakfast options included with room rate. Very quick access to a nice beach. I will say that the beach and water reminded me of some of our NJ beaches; I was hoping for some nicer water like I've seen in FL. May temps were in the low 70s so definitely nice but not pool/beach weather. Pool looks much nicer and bigger online than in person. Doesn't look dirty, just dated.

The hotel looked to be still renovating some rooms at the time but our rooms (plural) were clean and fine.

Staff was very friendly and welcoming; clearly that's important to them.

If we go back to OBX, I would definitely consider going back to Hampton Inn.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank amen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The Hampton Inn at Corolla isn't bad but it's not quite what I expected after reading all of the other comments.

On the positive side service was consistently good ... better than many other places I've been. The rooms were clean and serviceable. The beach was a huge plus as well. It's easily accessible and not crowded. The ocean was beautiful.

On the downside, our rooms porch had a lovely view of the hotel dumpster. Also the Hampton is situated literally half way between Duck and Corolla, so considerable time will be spent driving to dine out or visit things to do. Location might be a plus if all you want is beach, but not so much if you want actually do things.

The pools were also a bit disappointing to me. The indoor pool is pretty small. The various outdoor pools are frankly underused from what I can see. Again a positive if you want the pools mostly to yourself, but not so great if you want to socialize or drink poolside.

My rating reflects that my stay wasn't bad, but I definitely expected a bit more.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have come to the hampton inn Corolla for over 7 years and my whole family LOVES visiting this hotel. The staff are amazing.....friendly beyond words....the location is of course outstanding right on the beach and the indoor and outdoor pools are terrific. This year we just came for the 1 night to beat traffic before checking into our beach house on Saturday but we have stayed multiple night before and this hotel NEVER disappoints. The only reason I rated the 'value' below as average is that $300/night for a Hampton Inn seems a bit high no matter how great the location and service. I have a hard time going with 'ver good' for the value no matter how much we like coming here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We r family of 5 (3 teens!), so we need some space. We stayed in room 251 - plenty of space for the family. 2 queens and a pull out sofa, all lined up against the same wall - so there was space to walk at the ends of the beds - no need to close up the sofa bed during the day. The room also had a good sized bathroom, microwave & mini-fridge.

Also included was a coffee/Tea & hot coco station that was available all day.

Breakfast was provided each day until 10. They had oatmeal, cereal, breads, waffles, muffins, pastries & fresh fruit (apples, oranges, bananas & cut up cantaloupe, honeydew melons) & an egg selection (cheese, plain & southwest omelets) & meat selection each day. Juices & water.

They had two pools outside and one inside as well as beach access. Small beach towels were available throughout the day. There were always towels available.

Rooms were cleaned & well maintained.

Easy walk out to the beach.

Downside: pool towels were tiny, so u needed quite a few of them. These were also the towels that we used for the beach (we didn't have our own beach towels) so u needed to lay out 3 or 4 to lay on. Needless to say, we used a lot of towels. I would suggest bringing beach towels along with u.

You had to rent chairs and an umbrella for the beach. This was hugely annoying. $5 a day for a chair & $15 for an umbrella . . . And if u wanted to stay beyond 5pm, you were kicked out of u r chair.

Since the hotel was on the water and customers are being charged as such, there should be more beach services provided by the hotel.

Finally, there is a restaurant next to the hotel, but my understanding was they didn't really have regular hours - so you would need to go off site for meals (so u need a car). We never made it to the restaurant - so I have no info about it.

Finally, there is no snack/drink service at the pool. Not a huge deal & probability saved me a lot of $$ & calories . But good to note.

Couple of tips:
Rent a 4 wheel drive vehicle, at the end of rte. 12 u can drive on the beach - super fun!! Remember to air down u r tires!! Horses are up on the left in between the houses (near mile marker 21)

Check out the Duck Boardwalk to catch a sunset.

Def. try the Roadside for dinner! Super yum!!

(& note most restaurants close at 9)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kadvia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
11.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
16.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
18.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
19.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Address: 333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927-9589
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Outer Banks hotel right on the beach in Corolla, NC. We offer oceanfront rooms and suites that look out onto the pristine sandy dunes of the Outer Banks. Explore the remote beauty of the outer banks of North Carolina. See wild horses, the famous light houses of the outer banks, take a kayak tour, or choose to sit by the pool or lounge in our lazy river. Enjoy our free daily breakfast and wifi. Relaxation awaits you at our outer banks Corolla NC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Outerbanks Corolla Hotel Corolla
Hampton Inn Outerbanks Carolla
Hampton Inn Corolla
Corolla Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing