We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine and happiness!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corolla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Corolla Light Resort
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed at Corolla Light the third week of July. It was hot, hot, hot--but we didn't mind. It was our first trip to Outer Banks, and I had dithered over where to stay. We made a very good choice. Being north of the fray around Kitty Hawk, etc., was a great decision. The properties are newer, and there's more space and less traffic in the Corolla area. AND you're closer to the wild horses!

The resort is very nice. The beachside pool area is lovely, and the restaurant offers tasty options. We also liked the shops and restaurants. (Particularly yummy: Fat Crabs! Excellent chicken barbecue and crab cakes.) Grounds were well maintained and clean. We liked being close to the fitness center. Very clean and with great equipment. Indoor pool is excellent.

The condo we stayed in (managed by Outer Banks Blue) was comfortable, clean, and very homey. We all slept well and loved lazing around in the common area.

The only negative was the staff at the Soundside Pool. We liked going there, because it was less crowded and in walking distance. But the staff at that pool don't seem to be well managed. The lifeguard lounges in the pool with the girl who is supposed to be working at the reception desk. Just talking and offering no help to the guests. Too bad, since everything else about the resort was so well managed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TLC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

I have been staying in Corolla Light for over 7 years with my family - great place with fun activities - both organized by staff and on your own. Great beach access. I have always rented villas which are a good, affordable choice for smaller families. However, like other reviews, beware of the larger rental companies which don't clean very well or review basic condition before you enter the home. Choices may be limited but their houses are in better condition.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank goosey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Travelled with grandparents, aunt, parents, 2 toddlers and one infant. Stayed in a townhouse on the oceanside. All the oceanside homes were very close to the basketball and volleyball courts, pools and beach. Very nice to be able to run back to the house and get something.

The resort is great for kids. Enough planned activities if you want to participate but not in your face about them at all. Waterballoon toss, 3 on 3 basketball contest, movie night showing The Incredibles with free popcorn on the big lawn.

Great that they have basketballs availabel at the courts and usually there's a court free; fantastic playground for toddlers. Kiddie pool a bit crowded at times.

Wish restaurant above pool had more options (ethnic food is not easy to get on the Outer Banks).

Barely racially diverse clientelle and staff, not sure why.

Gym and lap pool was very nice.

Public library is very close too.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank llgg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We are a family of four (mom,dad, 5 year old boy, 2 year old girl) who rented the High Adventure house with two other families of four. We stayed at the house from July 24 until August 1, 2010. We decided after the trip was over that there were definite pros and cons that we would've wanted to know. So we're sharing our thoughts. The day we arrived we didn't have access to the house until late afternoon.. The other family arrived before we did and went to the main office and received the envelope. They were able to gain access to the community pool, order food/drinks and go down to the beach. That's good to know when you're fresh from a road trip (as we all were) and the kids are antsy. You can pack a day bag with bathing suits, dry clothes, towels, sunscreen, bugspray, money and not worry about when you can unpack at the house. Once the house is ready, make sure you pick your room carefully. The two downstairs rooms are far enough away from the main living area to offer some space from the action, but the floor/ceiling is very thin and you will hear everything. The upstairs bedroom is right ontop of the main living area but there are issues with heating/cooling. Downstairs was nice and cool for sleeping but uptsairs was a bit warmer. There are plenty of bathrooms with showers and baths but they were not as clean as we would have liked. We cleaned our entire bathroom over again upon arrival. The refrigerator did not seem like it was keeping everything cool, but we called a serviceman and he told us that the cleaning people keep the fridge door open for a good 45 minutes while cleaning it and thats why it takes so long to cool again. Keep the top left shelf clear so the vent is free to cool and by the end of the day it'll be working fine. The pool area was okay, not much deck room, and it didn't appear to have been vaccuumed or skimmed. There was no water coming from the filter return and we were disappointed. Make sure when you arrive the pool is clean and if not, call the managment and make sure someone comes to check filter, vaccuum and skim it. The pine trees around the pool lead to lots of surface dirt and there are lots of bugs to contend with. Otherwise, it's a great addition to have your own private pool attached to the house. There are rules against drying your beach towels overnight on the railing surrounding the house, which we found out by receiving a violation in our door one morning. However, we didn't find a clothes line to hang our towels from as an alternative. The house has a great location. It's close to the playground, community pool, volleyball courts basketball courts and right next to all the activities that take place (ie. rock climbing, Wii Dance night, Family Movie Night, Tye Dye day, etc.) There is lots of natural light coming from the windows and sliding doors. However, the house seems as though it has not been powerwashed for a looooong time. There are tons of dead bugs in the tracks of the sliding doors, window sills and nooks and crannies of the exterior and interior of the house. We found a few bikes at the house, which are completely rusted and useless. Somone should visit the house in between rentals and get rid of the bikes. There was also a grungy smelly old couch underneath a walkthrough that we had to keep the kids away from. It seems like nobody has been to the house to give it some Tender Loving Care that is sorely in need. There is a convenient washer dryer on the 1st floor and the hot water pressure is excellent in the bathrooms. The people that run the resort are all polite and kind and provide excellent service. There are plenty of shops/restaurants in the resort, and everything else you'll need isn't too far a drive. We did the Lighthouse tour which is tough but almost worth it. We also did the wild horse tour and that was a nice drive which would've been nicer on a less stormy eve. Bring lots of toilet paper and papertowels. They provide one roll per bath. We also recommend renting a gas grill because the house grill is old and crumbly. A prior renter bought and left behind a small weber and it sat ontop of the old one. Someone should remove both and provide a gas grill. It was difficult to BBQ and shouldn't have been for the price we paid per family. The downstairs area is kind of musty and the fridge down there was disgusting. We had housekeeping come back and she informed us it must have been an oversight since she and her son cleaned the entire house until he cut his finger and they had to leave. Which may have explained the blood stain on our sheets that night. (Nice Discovery Before Bed). We rewashed them in hot water and bleach and detergent (which we brought down) and remade the bed with the faded stain by our feet, not at our heads where we discovered it. There is plenty of closet/storage/dressers in all rooms and baths. The beach is lovely and the other renters are friendlly but not too friendly. We enjoyed our week together and would return to the Resort, just not the same house.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We just returned from spending a week at Carolla Light in a property rented through Twiddy. While not ocean front, we had an excellent ocean view from the living area balcony.

The home seemed to be in need of a little maintenance. Nothing bad, just a little TLC needed. Similar to other beach homes that are 8+ years old. Wireless internet was great to have.

Location was excellent. Quiet and relaxing on the northern part of the Outer Banks.

Resort amenities excellent for families. Our kids participated in sand castle competetion, tie dye activities, crabbing, wiffle ball home run derby, 3 on 3 basketball tourney, 4th of July bike parade and wiiFun. Basketball courts, shuffle board, tennis and sand volleyball all available.

Activities for young kids and for teenagers were organized very well and had great participation.

Fourth of July fireworks over the sound were a lot of fun.

Beach front was clean and uncrowded. Resort pool was on the beach.

Easy to access local shops and restaurants.

Looking forward to next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zriles616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We just returned back from a trip to Corolla Light (name of the community) in Corolla, NC.

First of all, the outer banks in general is a fantastic place, especially for families. Lots to do, and mostly great weather.

We really liked the Corolla Light community. It's gated, and speed limits are really low and controlled so I could (almost) let my kids do anything they wanted without worrying about street traffic.

Inside the community there is basketball, shuffleboard, a putting green, and several playgrounds for the kids...and of course the beach is right there. We went in April, and there was a lot of shell activity on the beach, so we found everything you could find.

If you or your families are into sports, particularly tennis, there is a great facility right there in Corolla Light which you have access to if you stay in the community. We took several lessons from Jim (Scott is his last name I believe) who's the tennis pro there. He's great working with kids, and the prices were reasonable. Be sure to look him up, he will generally work his schedule to match yours.

All in all, great trip, definitely heading back again next year.

1  Thank school1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Do not believe their business card logo of "service first" - it should say "service last". We have experienced headaches with our rental since we got here. No proactive follow up to our problems including repeated key card problems locking us out of the rental house a few times and requiring us to make multiple calls and trips to the Brindley offices. Also extremely hazardous pool conditions caused by electrical fault causing childen getting shocked. No response yet to this problem. The maids and the after call maintenance staff were very nice and efficient though. Mgmt should be fired.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cmp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
0.5 mi away
Inn at Corolla Light
Inn at Corolla Light
#1 of 2 in Corolla
381 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sanderling Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corolla Light Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corolla Light Resort

Address: 1197B Franklyn St, Corolla, NC 27927
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Corolla
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corolla Light Resort, 14 time winner of the North Carolina Resort of the Year award, features 400+ ocean front to sound front homes stretched across 250 pristine acres of the northern Outer Banks. All Corolla Light rental homes are owned by individual owners, and are represented by various local rental companies. To make a reservation contact any of these companies, which include Brindley Beach, Twiddy, Corolla Classic Vacations, Village Realty, and Outer Banks Blue. Corolla Light enjoys one of the widest, cleanest beaches anywhere on the Outer Banks. Amenities include an Ocean Front complex with 4 pools, and lighted volleyball, basketball, and shuffleboard courts. The complex is also home to the Oceanfront Grille, the only oceanfront restaurant on the Currituck Outer Banks. Corolla Light is for tennis lovers too, with 2 indoor clay courts, 4 outdoor clay courts, and 4 outdoor hard courts. The indoor sports center includes a 25 meter heated pool, cardio room, weight room, racquetball and walleyball courts Corolla Light Resort is the only resort on the Outer Banks that offers activities for the whole family. In-season activities include events such as: 3 on 3 basketball tournament, homerun derby, horseshoe tournament, movie night under the stars, sand sculpture contest and many more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Corolla Light Hotel Corolla
Corolla Light Resort NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing