We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Family Friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corolla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Corolla Light Resort
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had such a bad experience at this hotel that we left a night early after paying over $300 a night. Our room had a sleeper sofa for the kids and there was a dried up used condom stuffed down beside the mattress. On our bed, the sheets and pillow covers smelled like animals even though we had requested a pet-free room because of allergies. Air conditioner dripped on the carpet making a puddle that smelled like mold and would not dry the entire time we were there. The toilet had stains from a previous visitor, after trying to call the office 3 TIMES with no answer, we went to the grocery store and bought our own cleaning supplies -- unacceptable for any decent hotel but for those prices? TV had fuzzy reception and kids could not watch DVDs. The second night, a couple of the employees were very drunk and loud out on the dock, which was also completely infested with spiders. There was a large dog running around without a leash which seemed to belong to one of the drunken workers.

Parents beware, this place is full of mildew, mold and animals and the nearest medical facility was an hour away in summer traffic. Went to find the manager to let them know we were leaving and why and found him admonishing a young couple and blaming them! By far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MJKBFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Corolla Light in the Lighthouse Villas. Our 4 bedroom/ 3.5 bath townhouse was roomy for the 5 of us. The location was perfect to access the ocean front pools, tennis courts and basketball courts. My family enjoyed being able to walk to Corolla Light shopping center with stores and restaurants. We have gone to Duck in the past and the sand in Corolla is softer and beaches are wider. We enjoyed our stay and rented through Brindley Beach. We received fast and courteous service at BB
Just a tip, Sunday rentals have less traffic then Saturday rentals.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We rented a 5 bedroom house in Corolla Light Resort for a week at the end of July. Our 3 families fit nicely in the large, well-appointed home. Having 4 full baths and a half bath was definitely a plus! The resort is very well maintained and safe, and having the trolley to take us to the pools, beach, and other areas was convenient. Our house had its own pool which was great at night when the kids still wanted to swim but i was too late to go back to the main pool by the beach. Within a short walk though was the soundside pool which had 2 smaller pools, but was a nice alternative when we did not feel like taking the trolley. Far less crowded than the main pool area. We were also very near the tennis courts and were able to play everyday. The kids enjoyed some of the resort activities, but had the most fun crabbing on one morning. Corolla is a great location - easy drive to shops, supermarket, restaurants, lighthouse. The only rough part was driving in on Saturday afternoon - a lot of traffic. Otherwise, a fabulous vacation for us! Village Realty was very efficient and handled everything smoothly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 420Dee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at a private rental condo on the Corolla Light Resort property. The resort was nice and offered lots to do such as tennis, nature trails, rec center (indoor pool and racket ball courts--great for rainy days), beach front area, and a couple of pools. Depending on where you are located you may be kind of far from some of the activities, but we were lucky enough to be within walking distance to everything except the ocean front pool. The ocean front pool and beach area near the pool can be kind of crowded, but they are still nice. There are lots of activities going on all of the time and a trolley that can take you to different areas of the resort. It is close to the lighthouse, a gorgeous park and some little shops and restaurants. About 2 miles from grocery stores, movie theater, mini golf, shopping area, etc. Great location! The only real problem we had was getting there initially because of seasonal traffic, but that is obviously not the resorts fault! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Amanda781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to OBX for the last 18 years. We started in Avon and moved north. This is our 6th rental in Corolla Light Resort. We have used Brindley Realty 4 of 6 times and have been satisfied. Also used Corolla Classic and Twiddy and have been slightly less satisfied but we make our choice depending on the availability of the house. This is an AWESOME resort for families. As our kids have become teens they still love it. It's a gated community and you really don't have to leave. Pack as much food as you can if you want to avoid trips to Food Lion and Harris Teeters. We will go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Come every year. Our house was wonderful. It included an elevator for lugging your luggage up and down. It was very clean. While it needed a few repairs, there was nothing that detracted from our experience there. The beach was fabulous, with a lifeguard right behind us. The pool area was a delightful retreat from the sand. The mid-week festivities like corn-hole, big-daddy splash, tie-dye t-shirts, and sand sculpture contests were fun. The fitness center is a reasonably appointed--even has indoor tennis courts. The trolley gets you everywhere you want to go there, so if the teenagers want to head back early or arrive late, they can. Tim-buck-II is 3 miles down the road along with a Food Lion grocery store that is open 24 hours. The beach north of the resort is open for 4-wheel drive vehicles and is a blast. It's a great location and a great vacation.

Room Tip: With easy access to the trolleys, there's no bad house in this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaxDadOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Oceanfront pool, restaurant, and easily accessible beaches!! :). What more could u ask for?? My family had been vacationing in corolla light for over 10 years and has been our perfect getaway! We love the big beautiful beaches as well as having access to a pool just a few yards from the beach! Also some of our fav restaurants are located in corolla! Absolutely have to try the crab cakes at the oceanfront grill! They are the best I have ever had :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acm51295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
19.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
24.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Sanderling Resort
0.5 mi away
Inn at Corolla Light
Inn at Corolla Light
#1 of 2 in Corolla
380 reviews
20.1 mi away
Beachwoods Resort
Beachwoods Resort
#1 of 4 in Kitty Hawk
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corolla Light Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corolla Light Resort

Address: 1197B Franklyn St, Corolla, NC 27927
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Corolla
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corolla Light Resort, 14 time winner of the North Carolina Resort of the Year award, features 400+ ocean front to sound front homes stretched across 250 pristine acres of the northern Outer Banks. All Corolla Light rental homes are owned by individual owners, and are represented by various local rental companies. To make a reservation contact any of these companies, which include Brindley Beach, Twiddy, Corolla Classic Vacations, Village Realty, and Outer Banks Blue. Corolla Light enjoys one of the widest, cleanest beaches anywhere on the Outer Banks. Amenities include an Ocean Front complex with 4 pools, and lighted volleyball, basketball, and shuffleboard courts. The complex is also home to the Oceanfront Grille, the only oceanfront restaurant on the Currituck Outer Banks. Corolla Light is for tennis lovers too, with 2 indoor clay courts, 4 outdoor clay courts, and 4 outdoor hard courts. The indoor sports center includes a 25 meter heated pool, cardio room, weight room, racquetball and walleyball courts Corolla Light Resort is the only resort on the Outer Banks that offers activities for the whole family. In-season activities include events such as: 3 on 3 basketball tournament, homerun derby, horseshoe tournament, movie night under the stars, sand sculpture contest and many more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Corolla Light Hotel Corolla
Corolla Light Resort NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing