We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family vacation resort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corolla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Corolla Light Resort
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had a beautiful week with our family in Corolla Light Resort. Stayed in an end unit townhouse, Unit 640, that looked out on to a pond with a fountain in the center, which was lit up at night. Very bright with gorgeous stained windows in the family room area. House was well stocked with 6 bikes, kayaks, chairs, tennis rackets, etc., that were top notch quality and the owner has decorated the house beautifully in a very tastefully decorated beach theme. Great laundry facilities also. Owner couldn't have been nicer to deal with. This is a perfect quiet family resort. Activities are there if you want to participate. Very nice basketball courts, tennis courts, shuffleboard, horseshoes, etc. Ocean front pools were very beautiful also. Had a restaurant right there, but didn't make use of it because we enjoyed grilling at the townhouse. Beach was just perfect, nice sand and not too long.

Very family oriented. Excellent place to stay for families with children 5 to 15, as they will enjoy the activities. Would have enjoyed a longer stay since it was so peaceful. Hope to get there again before too long!

Room Tip: Loved the bedroom on the main floor where living room, kitchen was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyVacationer1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in Corolla Light resort condo. First the owners (Lynn & Bill Collins) of the condo were great! They made sure that the condo was ready for us early, made sure if we needed anything we could call them at anytime and made us feel welcomed in the condo like it was our own! We also thank you for the FREE homemade dozen bagels from the Lighthouse, excellent! The condo is in a perfect location for pretty much anything you want to do. The recreation center is directly across the street if you want to swim indoors, use the hot tub (which is HUGE), indoor tennis courts and weight/cardio room. The trolley took us to the beach everyday, normally they have 2 trolleys running so you aren't waiting to long. Even on the last day there the freezer went out on the fridge and wouldn't be repaired till after we left. The owners asked if we want a cooler of ice for anything we had/needed. At that time we didn't, but the offer was very much aprpeciated! All in all, the family had an amazing time in Corolla and will be looking forward to coming back again!

The only downfall to the trip was, the traffic coming in and out. There is only one way in and one way out. I think the best time to come and go would be on Sundays!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PGLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We've stayed at several houses in Corolla Light now, and we've also stayed outside of Corolla Light in Ocean Sands. We always go back to Corolla Light now. They have the best Ocean front pools in the Outer Banks, and it also has basketball courts, and volleyball right on the ocean as well. They also have a great indoor sports facility for swimming laps (or playing in inclement weather), playing racquetball, tennis, or just working out. on the soundside They also have great running trails along Rte 12.

Corolla Light also has a soundside pool, which is great if you're staying soundside. If you do stay soundside, you have easy access to crabbing and they do have a trolley to take you to the beach so you don't have to drive or walk. However, we've done soundside, and it was a nice one time experience, but we prefer oceanside at this point.

The beaches in OBX aren't too crowded (as compared to Va Beach or Ocean City), and a short walk gets you away from the crowds pretty quickly. Drinking alcohol on the beach (and throughout the entire resort) is allowed, but don't be crazy about it.

The only downside about Outer Banks, in general, is that the traffic getting onto the island can be horrendous. If you book a Saturday to Saturday stay, you want to try to get down there early. We go down from Northern VA and leave our house at 6am. And when we come home, we leave OBX at 6am as well. If you're not going to leave super early, then consider going down super late instead. In Corolla Light you usually have to check out by 10am, but you can always just pack your car up, then head to the beach/pool for the day, and then when you're ready to leave just go to the indoor sports facility to shower off and jump in the car. That makes for a long day though... my preference is just to get out... I usually don't need much more sun after being there all week long. You can search for Sunday to Sunday stays and that helps with the traffic a bit.

Room Tip: Look for a Saturday to Saturday stay. If you can afford ocean front, or semi-ocean front, get it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Less than 1 Star - Horrible Experience - Brindley Beach Vacation Rental & Customer Service!

My family have been renting in OBX area for about 20 years - we've rented from different companies & during that time we truthfully never had one bad experience until now. We rented MS8/Capt Jack's from Brindley Beach-located on the Sound Side of Corolla - it showed beautifully in pictures; prior to renting we contacted Brindley with questions, which they answered to our satisfaction - we planned this vacation for over a year & wow, what a let down when we finally arrived on June 22, 2013. Cobwebs and dead bugs accompanied us on the walkway into the first floor rec room, which was a mess! The house was fifty, it smelled, mildew and mold were visible in several areas. Small black centipedes were found throughout the 1st floor, 2nd floor bathrooms & even in one of the 2nd floor beds. Newspapers from the previous renters were under the couch on the main floor/3rd level - all sheets (linens were included) were put on the beds inside out & there were stains on the sheets/bed covers - not one floor had been swept or vacuumed; cobwebs/spider-webs/dead bugs were found on almost every inside window sill, the main floor fridge would not work (freezer section was fine), pool was filthy! Several maintenance issues were identified. Horrible customer service when trying to rectify situation during vacation w/ Brindley.

We wrote an email to Brindley explaining house problems and the customer service experience which was horrible - they replied back with a rude, form-type email stating they wouldn't give us a refund -we NEVER asked for a refund...we replied letting them know that we hadn't requested a refund, but wow, what a rude reply -we also let them know we had discovered some bad on-line reviews about Brindley that they may want to look at - we received an email from the OWNER, Doug, telling us that he we were extorting him with a threat of bad reviews if we didn't get a refund - again WOW - not anything we ever said was like that - I wish I had space to post our emails and theirs, but since I don't I will close by saying - do NOT ever use Brindley Beach Vac & Sales!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SouthernGalTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We just finished a week vacationing in Corolla, NC. It was a great time for all of us! The house was huge and offered plenty of room for two families. Also, we had a pool out back! Great beach for the family-- the sand was soft, clean and plenty of waves. The water was a little cold, but it didn't stop us from getting in and enjoying the waves. My 14 year old son loved that basketball courts and that he could play until 11pm at night. The area is safe for kids to wander around and lots of activities offered by the resort. We like to ride our bike around the area and explore the surrounding areas. I was lucky enough to see the wild horse the 1st day of vacation where the road ends and later in the day saw them on the beach. I recommend the "Northern Lights Bakery" great donuts and rolls.
The only negative was the traffic when we arrived on Saturday morning it took 3 hours from the bridge into Corolla.
My son is already asking when we will go back!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amk099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is our 3rd year in Corolla Light Resort. The resort has everything a family can ask for. It has multiple pools (3), tennis courts, basketball courts. It has activities for the kids and it is a property that is patrolled by security. We rent a villa each year for our two families (a total of 8). The villas are less expensive that the houses and still give you all the luxuries of home. They do have a common area where there are rental of kayaks and beach items. Has an ice cream store, bait shop, restaurant, etc. The only draw back is they don't have a "small" grocery store on the premises for quick purchases of necessities. However, about 1outh there 1/2 mile north there is a mini mart and about 4 miles south there is a food lion. Timbuck II is a great shopping area, about 4 miles from the resort that has about 60 shops and restaurants. The Currituck Light House is directly across from the resort, with a beautiful park for crabbing and walking. The premises also comes with access to a fitness center with an indoor pool and racquet ball courts. It's not huge, but gives you all the essentials. Looking forward to next year!

Room Tip: Make sure your vacation rental includes your linens and towel service. Some of them charge addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyikesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

After hours of searching for the perfect vacation rental for our first trip to the Outer Banks, we decided on The Worley Home through Brindley Beach Vacations in Corolla.
The rental agency and the home were great. I have written a review of the house on their website. Corolla Light Resort was a beautiful and serene place to spend a week with my family.
The sunsets over the sound were amazing and were a definite highlight to our trip.
There are shops, restaurants, and a grocery store in Corolla. And when you are ready to take a drive to see the attractions, it is about a 45-50 minute drive to Jockey's Ridge, Wright Bros Memorial and Jeanette's Pier. Although staying close to the attractions would have been a closer drive, I am so glad we chose Corolla. The area between Nags Head and Kitty Hawk are not as nice. There are so many businesses and houses it reminded me of Myrtle Beach. Which is what we were hoping to avoid. If you are not staying oceanfront, you will need to go through the oceanfront pool area or the public access which is just a minute up the road. The public beach access we used was on Lighthouse Road, I think. It was right across the street form the Currituck Lighthouse. After parking your car, it will be a little walk to the beach. If you go to the oceanfront pool access, there will be a ramp, but there are a flight of steps to get down to the beach. The pool area looked nice, though it was closed when we were there.
Overall, I would recommend Corolla Light Resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
19.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
24.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
0.5 mi away
Inn at Corolla Light
Inn at Corolla Light
#1 of 2 in Corolla
379 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sanderling Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corolla Light Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corolla Light Resort

Address: 1197B Franklyn St, Corolla, NC 27927
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Corolla
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corolla Light Resort, 14 time winner of the North Carolina Resort of the Year award, features 400+ ocean front to sound front homes stretched across 250 pristine acres of the northern Outer Banks. All Corolla Light rental homes are owned by individual owners, and are represented by various local rental companies. To make a reservation contact any of these companies, which include Brindley Beach, Twiddy, Corolla Classic Vacations, Village Realty, and Outer Banks Blue. Corolla Light enjoys one of the widest, cleanest beaches anywhere on the Outer Banks. Amenities include an Ocean Front complex with 4 pools, and lighted volleyball, basketball, and shuffleboard courts. The complex is also home to the Oceanfront Grille, the only oceanfront restaurant on the Currituck Outer Banks. Corolla Light is for tennis lovers too, with 2 indoor clay courts, 4 outdoor clay courts, and 4 outdoor hard courts. The indoor sports center includes a 25 meter heated pool, cardio room, weight room, racquetball and walleyball courts Corolla Light Resort is the only resort on the Outer Banks that offers activities for the whole family. In-season activities include events such as: 3 on 3 basketball tournament, homerun derby, horseshoe tournament, movie night under the stars, sand sculpture contest and many more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Corolla Light Hotel Corolla
Corolla Light Resort NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing