We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unassuming Location Yields Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urban Kitchen

Urban Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 81 Restaurants in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unassuming Location Yields Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We absolutely loved it! We were a bit worried when we (acting on a tip from a local) pulled into a strip mall, per se. However, upon entering, we were pleasantly surprised. When the appetizers came, we were hooked! The Halloumi cheese was awesome, and so were the fried green tomatoes. The entrees were equally delicious, especially the shrimp and the chicken. We will be back next year!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SHB0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    28
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
OBX, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I had a little time to kill before an event at The Currituck Club and stopped in Urban Kitchen for dinner. Our meal was wonderful, we sat at the bar and we were assisted by one of the owners. We started with Fried Green tomatoes, which were perfect, and calamari. I had the fish, which was halibut and my husband had the swordfish - both exceeded our expectations - which were already pretty high, considering all the good things we'd heard. Keep in mind that the spot is tiny, and they really can't sit large groups - given the size of the kitchen. I'm already planning my next trip there!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ROA2OBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely place for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Excellent restaurant -- hip, casual, clean, fresh, local. Talented chef, strong waitstaff, very large portions. Well-prepared dishes. Tightly focused menu -- we had the fried green tomatoes as an app, the pork, and steak (both perfectly prepared). Read one review that said the portions were small and people left hungry and I think they must eat 20,000 calories a day because this place serves up very large, generous portions that are nearly impossible to finish. My husband and I both wound up leaving with half our meals boxed up for lunch. The only thing I didn't like was the no substitutions policy for sides. That feels like a dated and arrogant policy. While I absolutely respect the chef's creativity, I don't feel like french fries are so original or special that I shouldn't be able to substitute with something not fried. The customer still should come first.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Freimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you are looking for a refreshing pre-dinner cocktail you can't go wrong with the hand shaken daiquiris. Super tasty. For appetizers my husband had the pork shanks and they were delicious, the blue cheese slaw an excellent complement. I had the soup which was chilled creamy Vidalia onion. It was ambrosia. We split the watermelon salad and both enjoyed it very much. It was plenty of salad for two people. I ordered the fish which that night was Mahi. Cooked perfectly and the sides went very well with the dish. My husband ordered the steak and, while it was quite good, he wished he had ordered the fish instead. He was disappointed he had broken his personal rule of while at the beach, get fish or seafood. Again, he didn't dislike the steak, he just thought the fish was better. Service was attentive and friendly and the food came out at a good pace, plenty of time to enjoy the course but not fretting that it is taking too long. Also wanted to mention, we arrived right at 5:00 on a Tuesday evening and by 5:20ish there were only a couple of two tops left available. Would definitely go back when at OBX.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gnlonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed Urban Kitchen! Everything cooked perfectly, well seasoned, fresh ingredients. Interesting combinations made us anxious to try many menu items.

Will definitely go the next time we stay in the Northern OBX.

Helpful?
Thank littlefootlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Urban Kitchen also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Urban Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing