We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE!!”
Review of The Dragonfly Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corolla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dragonfly Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Corolla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We needed a break from reality and spent the weekend here. Dan and Lori (Owners) were amazing and made us feel right at home. They spent time after we arrived to tell us about the area and suggested places to eat and things to do. They had plenty of activities to do at the Inn - chairs for the beach, umbrellas, fishing poles and corn hole etc. There was a fabulous area on the 3rd floor that was perfect to drink a bottle of wine and watch the stars. You can sit on the front porch to watch the sunsets and the porch overlooking the ocean to watch the amazing sunrise. Breakfast was served every morning around a fabulous table they had built specifically for the house. Breakfast gave everyone staying at the Inn a chance to talk which was very nice.

We are absolutely thrilled that we found this gem and cannot wait to return next year. We have decided to make this "our" spot, it was truly that perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sea Turtle Suite, amazing view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Stacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary, as well as joining some family members for a reunion in OBX. The Dragonfly Inn happened to be on the same street as the beach house my Aunt, Uncle and Cousins were renting so the location was perfect. From the time we arrived, until the time we left, we felt like family of the owners of the B&B. Lori and Dan were amazing host and hostess!! You felt like you knew them your whole life after meeting them for the first time. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The breakfasts Lori made both days were delicious.....my husband said the bacon was "the best bacon he has ever had"!! The B&B was spotless, had anything & everything you could possibly want and our room overlooked the ocean!! I would HIGHLY recommend The Dragonfly Inn on your next trip to OBX. The owners are very knowledgeable of the area and made great recommendations to all the guests as to things to do and places to go. Thanks again for a wonderful 48 hours!! We will be back. Tom and Kathy

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorelei E, Manager at The Dragonfly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Wow - thank you for the awesome review! And the regional delicacies you brought me back from your Aunt's house were wonderful! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you all and hear your stories of "game night". We hope your future travels will bring you back to The Dragonfly Inn. I feel like we had more stories to discuss and more bacon to eat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I had a Fantastic 29th Anniversary stay at The Dragon Fly Inn. Innkeepers Dan and Lori Evans have gone above and beyond to make sure everything is great for your stay. From having the best restaurant tips to the back roads to avoid the traffic, The Luxurious accommodations with no worries about what to bring, this is the closet to "all inclusive" B&B we have stayed in. Lori made such a wonderful breakfast each morning and the morning conversations were always good. A special thanks to both of you for a Great weekend.. Did I mention it rained most of the time.. Still a great weekend.
Thanks again,
David & Sandy Owens

Room Tip: They're all Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorelei E, Manager at The Dragonfly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We are so happy you still had a wonderful time even with the rainy weather. We too enjoyed our morning conversations. I think we solved the worlds problems (I wish). Glad you were able to get away for a few days and experience our great views and the hospitality in Corolla! Hope to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Let me be perfectly clear: I am not much of a BnB person. But our stay at The Dragonfly Inn was completely and totally perfect in every way. It was a revelation. I travel 100+ days a year. My wife and I have had the good fortune to enjoy lovely accommodations across North America and Europe. Nothing like this. The new, spacious, modern, tastefully appointed home is built atop a 30 foot dune to provide unobstructed views of the sea. "Boardwalk" steps descend right from rear of the house - also the location of the heated pool - to a wide, clean, perfectly pitched beach that invites walking for miles. Public access to the beach is limited to entry points a couple hundred yards above and below the Dragonfly's property so while we did occasionally have folks sitting near us we never felt crowded, and we were often alone. The sun rose in our window, and, I'm pretty sure, every window in the house. Sunsets over the sound are viewed from the west deck.

The food was fabulous. My wife is a vegetarian and gluten free. Her meals were as tasty and satisfying as mine. There was no way we could eat again until late afternoon.

I'm afraid it is now difficult to be objective about the owners of this magical place. We had not met Lori and Dan prior to our arrival and they were warm, welcoming, and relaxed. By the end of our stay - we initially booked our room for four nights and stayed for eight - we felt as though we had found new friends. We benefited greatly from their knowledge of the area, including the chefs at many of the best restaurants on the north banks. We were often greeted warmly by employees of stores and restaurants when they discovered we were guests of the Inn.

Secondary benefits included the use of beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and all the toys one is likely to need. There is a full movie theater on the ground floor complete with a library of DVDs.

The only negative I can think of is we have many years of travel in front of us, and it is unlikely that we will ever surpass the experience we shared at Dragonfly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank speakerIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorelei E, Manager at The Dragonfly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Your tag line said it all - I hadn't even realized you all stayed 8 nights, it felt like good friends visiting from out of town! Glad to hear you made it back home safe and sound. Let's stay in touch - hope to see you back at the Inn - - maybe September??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

24 hours have passed since we left The Dragonfly Inn and I'm still reliving the wonderful time we had and wishing I were back. I must preface this review by saying that my husband and I are not typically "bed and breakfast" people...we tend to prefer the anonymity of larger resorts. But after speaking with the innkeeper, Lori, on the phone, I decided to take a chance. Her enthusiasm and welcoming personality came right through the telephone line. As we pulled up, her husband, Dan, came out to greet us, shake our hands and give us a personal "walk through" of this amazing inn that literally became our home for the next week. The inn is a beautiful oasis right on the beach (I mean, right on the beach!) with a variety of decks that overlook the beach and give unobstructed views of the beautiful sunsets. Our beautifully decorated room had luxurious linens and was an oasis of serenity. Lori (and one morning Dan....great pancakes!) served us a wonderful, tasty and beautiful breakfast each morning made with the freshest of ingredients and abundant (and delicious) local fruits. We spent each of our days (with the exception of one rainy one) on the beach sitting in chairs and under an umbrella that were provided by The Dragonfly Inn. Dan and Lori assisted in every way in getting us tables at hard to get into restaurants in Corolla and were always available to help in any way and make sure that we had everything we needed or wanted even before we realized that we wanted it. Chilled water on your nightstand each evening? Check. Fresh coffee and homemade baked goods waiting for the early riser? Check. Chilled carafe for wine purchased at the local wine shop? Check. I could go on....there was nothing that Lori and Dan missed.

But the most amazing thing about this trip was getting to know Lori and Dan.....they are exceptional innkeepers and outstanding people and made our Outer Banks vacation one of the most memorable trips we've ever taken. Make your reservation immediately (before we do, because we'll surely be back)!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorelei E, Manager at The Dragonfly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you all for your outstanding review of The Dragonfly Inn. The pleasure was all ours! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. You were able to take advantage of some fantastic sunrises, sunsets and the clear star-filled sky. It is quite fulfilling for us to share our oasis with such nice guests. We know you have other choices for resorts throughout the east coast and we were fortunate you gave us a chance and traveled outside of your comfort zone and stayed at a bed and breakfast. We love it when our guests are able to see the beauty of the beach and The Dragonfly Inn as we do and depart Corolla relaxed and glowing. We hope to see you all again at the Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Dragonfly Inn is an absolute dream vacation! Breathtaking views, relaxing & clean suites, large open house with friendly innkeepers. The 3 course breakfast was delicious each morning. You will be treated like a queen and king at this Inn. What a wonderful time we had hanging on the beach (pretty secluded) & by the pool, hiking to the top of the lighthouse and driving on the beach to see the wild horses. We are recommending this location and Inn to all our friends and family!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HCallahan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorelei E, Manager at The Dragonfly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

I wish I had been here when you all visited us. But Dan kept me informed on how wonderful your visit was and how touched he was to be included in making your vow renewal ever so special. You all were our first honeymoon/vow renewal and will always hold a special place in our hearts and the history of The Dragonfly Inn. We hope you will be back to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A small window of opportunity to get away opened up in our schedule and we booked, somewhat last minute, three nights at the Dragonfly Inn in the town of Corolla, NC on the Outer Banks. We had had some previous experiences with Bed and Breakfasts which left us rather underwhelmed to say the least but we decided to give this inn a try. Despite a late arrival, we were still warmly welcomed by the innkeepers. A tour of the beautiful house complete with fresh flowers, warm chocalate chip cookies and descriptions of the many ammenities made us smile ear to ear. The place is beautifully decorated and looks like it should be written up in Coastal Living! A bed had never felt more luxorious as the four poster one in the Blue Crab room. We awoke well-rested and walked out onto our private deck area to witness the most gorgeous view of the dunes, beach, ocean and sky! The innkeepers prepared wonderful breakfasts including one with local sausage which was delicious. They were as present and helpful as we needed them to be. Watching the USA vs Portugal World Cup game on a huge movie screen while enjoying popcorn was an added bonus! We enjoyed biking around the island and just hanging out by the pool as well. The location of the inn to the beach was such that it proved to be nearly private. We could not have asked for a more relaxing, wonderful three days and nights than what we experienced at the Dragonfly Inn. It was beyond our wildest expectations. We hope to return! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Blue Crab room was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorelei E, Manager at The Dragonfly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed meeting you all as well! Our reward was seeing how relaxed you all were when you departed. It's often difficult to get away from work and life for even a moment, we know. The Inn and the surrounding Outer Banks, worked it magic and we saw you all leave relaxed and rejuvenated. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
17.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
22.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
24.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
936 reviews
24.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dragonfly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragonfly Inn

Address: 915 Lighthouse Dr, Corolla, NC 27927-9669
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Corolla
Price Range: £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dragonfly Inn is founded on the concept of making your Outer Banks experience very memorable. This exclusive, oceanfront property will provide you with everything you need to relax and be pampered. We offer personalized attention and pamper our guests with everything they need. Gourmet-inspired breakfast served daily to our guests. Beach chairs and umbrellas for use by guests & heated pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dragonfly Inn Corolla, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing