We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ann. Trip to the Outer Banks NC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Corolla Light

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Corolla Light
Ranked #1 of 2 Corolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
north carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ann. Trip to the Outer Banks NC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Took my wife to Corolla for our 48th Ann. stayed at The Inn Corolla Light , Super nice great place.Check in was good , it is a older hotel but looked like it had just been painted. Room was great , in on the water view was great nice walking trail out back goes to the Whale-head site. Free breakfast was good. No problems with Hotel would go again. Only problem with Corolla is not a lot of places to eat and the few there were packed. So you may want to take some food/ drinks.

Room Tip: Get water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrellrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for allowing us to share your anniversary! We were very happy to note that you enjoyed your visit and noticed some of the improvements we are working on such as painting, etc. Many of our rooms actually have kitchenettes for those that want to prepare their own meals and we also have a gas grill out by the pool/jacuzzi area for our guests to use. We hope you will find your way back to Corolla in the future and will stay with us again. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    85
    23
    14
    13
See reviews for
61
179
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Loved it here! Let me start off by saying we JUST got home and i'm ready to turn around and go back. Everything about the Inn was great - from the courtesy call at 6:45 to check in with us and see if we needed extra time to get there - to the great room. I can't wait to return here. My husband and I have decided that this is definitely the place we'll be staying each time. The room was clean, fresh, and rather cheery. We stayed in a standard king room - no issues with any part of it. The housekeepers do a fabulous job - no complaints from us - only appreciation and thanks! The breakfast every morning may be "standard" fare (as I read in other reviews) but it was yummy, the sausages were great and the hostess was always there with a smile if we needed anything. We took full advantage of the hot tub, the pool and the beautiful pier with the gazebo at the end - now with 2 amazingly comfortable hammock swings. The sunsets were breathtaking - as we heard other people talk about going down to Duck to a certain restaurant to see the sunsets, we just smiled and sat back knowing we had the most perfect and unobstructed view right there at the Inn. We spent a lot of time there (on the Inn's pier) each day - even crabbing for most of our final day there. Everyone we spoke with was sweet and eager to share stories. If you are looking for a laid back, beautiful Inn - this is your place, hands down. I can not say enough great things about it - I truly did hate to leave. Fabulous place, fabulous people. Thank you for making our vacation so relaxing and worry free!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLuethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Wow! Thank YOU for being our guest. Your review said it all (and probably better than we could have) about the Inn at Corolla. We hope you will be back soon (and often). Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very good accommodations, the sound view was nice. The octagonal pavilion on the pier with its reclining swings was a plus. Altogether, a wonderful place to celebrate an anniversary. Mid September is the best time with reduced traffic and fewer people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frank n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Inn. We agree that September (or off season) is the best time to enjoy the fabulous Corolla area and of course, the Inn. We are glad you were able to enjoy the hammock swings, they are a new addition this year. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed three nights at the Inn over the last week, and despite the nice room (42) and spectacular sunset view from our (shared) deck, we can only give an average rating.
Our primary complaint is with the cleanliness of the outside areas, decks, furniture, screens, etc. I'm sure its a constant problem being right on the water, but there were spider webs everywhere, and it just did not appear that anyone was cleaning the outside areas.
The breakfasts were just OK, nothing special, though the coffee was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 42 has a wonderful sunset view and no one overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JustUsAlexandriaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for visiting the Inn at Corolla. We are currently working with a local pest control company to assist us with our spider web issue. They tell us that it typically gets worse after treatment (and that seems to be true) before it gets better. Besides the treatment, we are also wiping and sweeping as often as possible to try to keep the webs down. We apologize if this impacted your visit and hope you will be back again to see the improvements we are working towards. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The Inn has a very unique layout with many levels and "nooks and crannies" all connected by wooden boardwalks. Our room, 53, was up on the third level which only appeared to have 3 rooms in that area. We had a landing outside the door with chairs and a small table which would be nice to watch the sunset. There is a beautiful pool area which we enjoyed, once we found it. The layout is a bit like a maze which made finding the pool a bit of an adventure. But, this is what adds to the Inn's charm...it's not typical.
The room was very nicely decorated...light and airy and comfortable. My only comment would be the noisy A/C unit which fortunately we did not have to keep on all night. The bathroom was spacious just needing a larger fan for the shower steam.
The woman who checked us in was very helpful, friendly, and gracious...answering all my questions and she gave me a number to call after hours if we had any concerns. This is not run like a large chain hotel...much more family-run and personal.
The breakfast area was charming, with inside and outside deck seating. The food was standard but nicely presented with the sausages being a special treat.
My only suggestion would be that the outside walkways and areas be swept down for cobwebs and droppings. There seemed to be an unusual amount of webs. I know they do develop overnight but these seemed to have been around for awhile.
We would stay again if back in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasrts4046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of the Inn at Corolla Light. We were delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our "quaint" jewel in Corolla. Your suggestions have been shared with the team and we promise to continue to work to improve. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

A friend and I booked a four night stay for an end-of-summer vacation at the Corolla Inn. However, we ended up not spending a single night because our room was in such poor condition. It smelled of mildew. There was mildew all over the shower. The mini-refrigerator was filthy; the freeze looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. And, there was dust, cobwebs and bugs everywhere.

My throat became sore after 30 minutes in the room. That's when we decided to leave. It was late and we were tired, but we didn't want to spend another minute in the room. (There is no management on call in the evening, so we talked to a gentleman in maintenance. He was very nice and offered us another room, but we declined. We had enough unpleasant surprises with the hotel that evening.)

I talked to Susan, the manager, the following morning. Despite all the issues we had, she refused to refund our reservations for the four nights. She did offer us another room, but we had lost all faith in management's ability to provide a clean room at that point.

There are many reviews here on TripAdvisor commenting about the dirty rooms. Susan responded to many promising to fix the situation. I saw no evidence of that. We found another place nearby and were very happy there. I recommend you look elsewhere for accommodations too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank TheTripAdvised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We are sorry that you did not find your room up to our high standards for cleanliness. The Night Manager/Maintenance Director offered to find a different accommodation to meet your needs. We understand that you decided to go elsewhere. Unfortunately, you did not speak with me concerning your visit so I had no opportunity to discuss the situation with you. Upon finding out that you had departed, I did take the necessary steps to change your reservation and refund your remaining deposit. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity if you are in the area in the future. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyrhills, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We just returned from a wonderful time at the Outer Banks in Corolla, NC. We could not have found a nicer place to stay than the Inn at Corolla Light. We had a lovely room with a king size bed, a table and chairs, and a kitchenette. Everything was clean and well kept. There was a pool and a hot tub. Breakfast which was included was excellent. I highly recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jokramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you again for being our guest! We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will be back to see us soon. (Remember Fall is a lovely time to visit!) Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
19.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
24.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
24.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hil...
#8 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sanderling Resort
Sanderling Resort
#1 of 1 in Duck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Corolla Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Corolla Light

Property: Inn at Corolla Light
Address: 1066 Ocean Trl, Corolla Light Resort, Corolla, NC 27927-9606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Corolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Corolla Light 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! Charming waterfront inn on the Currituck Sound featuring classic Outer Banks wrap around porches, gas fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and breathtaking views, located in the renowned Corolla Light Resort. To access the amenities of the resort, a fee is added to the room cost each night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Corolla Light reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Corolla Light Hotel Corolla
Inn Corolla
Inn At Corolla Light NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing