We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely LOVED this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Corolla Light
Ranked #1 of 2 Corolla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Staying here made our vacation! We went for a wedding with our three week old and two year old kids, and the staff could not have been more helpful! They gave us a room with a view since they knew we would spend quite a bit of time there and boy was that view appreciated! The room itself was nice, large, comfortable and equipped with a kitchen. The pool was quaint, with a lovely view of the water, and the pier also allowed individuals to drive up with water crafts! The complementary breakfast was nice and light but was something that just gave you a good start to your morning. Really just loved the whole comfortable feeling of this place! It is obviously not a luxurious Hotel. It is an Inn and feels like a comfortable Inn, but we loved that!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

We were happy to note that you and your family enjoyed your visit as much as we enjoyed having you as our guests. Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We hope you will be back this way again soon. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Corolla Light
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

It's easy to be a bit put off by this inn when you drive up as its surrounded by multi million dollar mansions!! This is an older "beachy" inn. I admit I said to myself "please don't suck" as I opened the door to Ships Watch Too. And it totally didn't. Yes, it's an older place, and no there aren't fancy soap holders and towel racks. But my room was LOVELY! It was so clean and bright! And by clean...I mean truly clean! The view from our room was beautiful. Hello amazing sunsets! The staff was so friendly. The free breakfast was great! That sausage was delicious!! We had a slight toilet malfunction (the handle broke) and a really nice man was up to fix it within a couple of minutes. The whole ordeal was resolved in under 10 minutes. Yes, it was a little buggy, but hello? It's by the water! It will happen! My brother in law rented a huge house on the beach, and guess what? It was buggy too! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to stay at the inn again. Thank you so much to the staff!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettieNetterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for staying at the Inn and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisors. We were especially pleased to note that you will be back! We can't wait!! Please come back soon. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived on Oct. 21, 2013 for a 3 night stay.

After check-in and walking to our room, we had to walk through heavy downpours of rain from their rain gutters. They were leaking terrible!!! Not just us, but everyone got drenched! There was no other way to get to any of the rooms unless everyone walked through the downpours.

It was very noisy from people running above us. It was run-down and not all that clean.

There wasn't much room for personal items as there was just a small glass shelf above the pedestal sink. The soap dish that was attached to the wall fell off when I put soap on it.

The only good thing I can say about the Inn at Corolla Light is that the continental breakfast was good.

We will never stay there again.

The Curtis' from Raleigh NC

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send a review for the Inn at Corolla. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. Since becoming the owners of the Inn just over a year ago, we have been working to make improvements. This past winter we added new mattresses, some new furniture, a new bulkhead, new flat screen TV's and new paint to most of the rooms. Our current plan for this coming winter (we close from December 1 until early March) is to work to upgrade the bathrooms among other things. We hope you will change your mind and visit again if you are in the area. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Took my wife to Corolla for our 48th Ann. stayed at The Inn Corolla Light , Super nice great place.Check in was good , it is a older hotel but looked like it had just been painted. Room was great , in on the water view was great nice walking trail out back goes to the Whale-head site. Free breakfast was good. No problems with Hotel would go again. Only problem with Corolla is not a lot of places to eat and the few there were packed. So you may want to take some food/ drinks.

Room Tip: Get water view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrellrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for allowing us to share your anniversary! We were very happy to note that you enjoyed your visit and noticed some of the improvements we are working on such as painting, etc. Many of our rooms actually have kitchenettes for those that want to prepare their own meals and we also have a gas grill out by the pool/jacuzzi area for our guests to use. We hope you will find your way back to Corolla in the future and will stay with us again. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Loved it here! Let me start off by saying we JUST got home and i'm ready to turn around and go back. Everything about the Inn was great - from the courtesy call at 6:45 to check in with us and see if we needed extra time to get there - to the great room. I can't wait to return here. My husband and I have decided that this is definitely the place we'll be staying each time. The room was clean, fresh, and rather cheery. We stayed in a standard king room - no issues with any part of it. The housekeepers do a fabulous job - no complaints from us - only appreciation and thanks! The breakfast every morning may be "standard" fare (as I read in other reviews) but it was yummy, the sausages were great and the hostess was always there with a smile if we needed anything. We took full advantage of the hot tub, the pool and the beautiful pier with the gazebo at the end - now with 2 amazingly comfortable hammock swings. The sunsets were breathtaking - as we heard other people talk about going down to Duck to a certain restaurant to see the sunsets, we just smiled and sat back knowing we had the most perfect and unobstructed view right there at the Inn. We spent a lot of time there (on the Inn's pier) each day - even crabbing for most of our final day there. Everyone we spoke with was sweet and eager to share stories. If you are looking for a laid back, beautiful Inn - this is your place, hands down. I can not say enough great things about it - I truly did hate to leave. Fabulous place, fabulous people. Thank you for making our vacation so relaxing and worry free!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLuethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Wow! Thank YOU for being our guest. Your review said it all (and probably better than we could have) about the Inn at Corolla. We hope you will be back soon (and often). Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very good accommodations, the sound view was nice. The octagonal pavilion on the pier with its reclining swings was a plus. Altogether, a wonderful place to celebrate an anniversary. Mid September is the best time with reduced traffic and fewer people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Inn. We agree that September (or off season) is the best time to enjoy the fabulous Corolla area and of course, the Inn. We are glad you were able to enjoy the hammock swings, they are a new addition this year. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed three nights at the Inn over the last week, and despite the nice room (42) and spectacular sunset view from our (shared) deck, we can only give an average rating.
Our primary complaint is with the cleanliness of the outside areas, decks, furniture, screens, etc. I'm sure its a constant problem being right on the water, but there were spider webs everywhere, and it just did not appear that anyone was cleaning the outside areas.
The breakfasts were just OK, nothing special, though the coffee was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 42 has a wonderful sunset view and no one overhead.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JustUsAlexandriaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony_Management, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for visiting the Inn at Corolla. We are currently working with a local pest control company to assist us with our spider web issue. They tell us that it typically gets worse after treatment (and that seems to be true) before it gets better. Besides the treatment, we are also wiping and sweeping as often as possible to try to keep the webs down. We apologize if this impacted your visit and hope you will be back again to see the improvements we are working towards. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
19.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
24.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
24.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hil...
#8 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
902 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Corolla Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Corolla Light

Address: 1066 Ocean Trl, Corolla Light Resort, Corolla, NC 27927-9606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Corolla
Price Range: £89 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Corolla Light 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! Charming waterfront inn on the Currituck Sound featuring classic Outer Banks wrap around porches, gas fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and breathtaking views, located in the renowned Corolla Light Resort. To access the amenities of the resort, a fee is added to the room cost each night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Corolla Light reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Corolla Light Hotel Corolla
Inn Corolla
Inn At Corolla Light NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing