We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mini Vacation (w/pet)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Corolla Light

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Corolla Light
Ranked #1 of 2 Corolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baldwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mini Vacation (w/pet)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a wonderful Inn and perfect when you need a mini vacation. We had never travelled with our dog before, so I was a little unsure what to expect. We had a great /clean efficiency on the Sound. The grounds were gorgeous & we had access to all the Corolla Light amenities. Our dog went swimming everyday, had easy access to the beach, and eateries. I will be going back every year. The Innkeeper and all the staff were accommodating. The Inn is perfect in every way!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Watergirl3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We loved having you (and your pet) as our guests. Thank you for the great review and kind comments about facility and staff. We hope you will be back to visit us often! Warm regards,
Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    85
    23
    14
    13
See reviews for
61
179
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My fiancé surprised me with a long weekend getaway to the Inn and I couldn't have picked a better place! The staff was friendly and welcoming from the moment we arrived, the amenities were perfect for a relaxing weekend and the free bike rentals was the cherry on top! The view from our room and balcony was spectacular and we enjoyed every moment of our trip! I would highly recommend the inn to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway that's close to the beach and near biking trails.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your weekend getaway. We love to hear that our guests are enjoying all of the amenities that are available to our guests -- especially the adult bikes! We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a long weekend and really enjoyed our visit. Let me share the worst part first...The room was not what we expected from the description or pictures online. It had a musty smell that took a while to get used too. I think the source was the bathroom. I later noticed that the ground floor was actually over water and since we had the hurricane Arthur blow through, the sound had risen up under the building and may have contributed to the musty smell. Now for the best parts...We enjoyed the daily breakfast, use of the free bike rental, visiting the Sports Complex, and especially the pools on the oceanfront. The staff at the oceanfront pools and restaurants were excellent. We really enjoyed being able to spend time on the ocean in the morning, then heading up to the pool and having a snack and drinks in the afternoon. When we returned to our room, it was great to spend time on the gazebo at the end of the dock. We especially enjoyed walking along the sound during the sunsets - just beautiful. I know why so many people have family photos taken here. The staff at the Inn were very helpful with information about the lighthouse and museum. Overall, we had a wonderful time and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn at Corolla Light. From you review, it sounds like you were able to enjoy not only the amenities at the Inn but also those at the Corolla Light Resort. We have passed along your comments about the staff -- we agree they are the best! We hope you will be back to the Outer Banks soon and back to the Inn. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I had the best time in Corolla and this hotel is part of the reason why. It had a great pool and hot tub and a pier out to the sound with super sunset views. You could ride your bike to all attractions. The ocean pool on property was the place to beat for a day relaxation. We did Corolla Jeep Adventures located in the parking lot and had an amazing time. I recommend this hotel, you won’t regret it.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a sound view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lcwlcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Inn. We were glad to note that you enjoyed our beautiful sunsets --- and everything else. We hope you will be back to visit soon. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a great place for beautiful sunsets, superior service, outstanding, friendly staff and availability to activities. We extended our stay because we loved it so much! The bikes and laundry facilities are free which was helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sound to view the beautiful sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorihiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We love it when a guest realizes that there is so much more to do than they thought and end up extending their visit! We will share your comments with the staff as they are very proud of the excellent service that they provide our guests. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here on July 4th weekend. Easy to find as it's right off the main road. The drive up is about 15 miles when you cross the bridge onto the Outer Banks. Beware that it is one lane up and down, so it gets congested driving to the inn. The inn is part of a larger resort where you have access to a club house, a gym (includes an indoor lap pool), and a trolley that comes around and drops you off at all the resort locations.

Pros:
- Excellent location for a relaxing weekend as it's not overcrowded
- Can't crab directly off the pier, but go north along the boardwalk where the reeds are. Caught a dozen crabs there with a crab pot after leaving it tied down overnight.
- Good breakfast. Turkey sausage was delicious. Simple but gets you going right for the day
- Free bikes to use!
- Amazing sunsets
- Excellent customer service
- Great maid service
- Gas Grill. Don't want to pay for over priced food? Go to the grocery store nearby and pick up some steaks. Catch a few crabs and you've got surf and turf!
- A/C works well.
- Wild Mustangs are just 10 minutes north by car.

Cons:
- Way overpriced, rather rent a whole house and invite friends next time.
- Rooms are very old and worn out-- not in the charming boutique way.
- Carpet is always damp and nasty. Would not walk barefoot on it.
- Kitchenette supplies are lacking and completely beaten up. Teflon pans are scratched up pretty bad
- Room was poorly laid out.

Tip to the owners: For the price you are charging, it's time to renovate the rooms. Those pictures you've posted have really been photoshopped.

I would try out the competition first.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sound have the best sunset views, but most expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MJWang24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Inn and for taking the time to give your candid feedback. We were glad to note that you enjoyed your visit. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate staff so that we can improve our service and services. We were glad to be able to upgrade you into a larger room for your visit and are sorry that the amenities were not to your satisfaction. We hope you will be back soon to see our continuing efforts to improve our facility. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel in early June a couple years ago. The hotel staff was extremely nice, and the rooms were very clean. The views are what makes this place worth it. Amazing sunsets over the sound, and plenty of wildlife to see throughout the day. The breakfast was a little light compared to most B&B's I've stayed in, but better than most other hotels. My only issue was the lack of pest control on the exterior of the property. There were spider webs and spiders everywhere outside. I'm not a huge fan of spiders, so I found it a little creepy. I understand they are creatures that live outside, and living in NC I am used to seeing them, but this was a bit excessive. Hopefully the maintenance staff keeps them under control a little better during peak season. I would recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay for a short trip or a long vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with access to a balcony or porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. We agree that we have the most fabulous sunsets around. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are always striving to improve our services and appearance. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
19.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
24.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
24.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hil...
#8 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sanderling Resort
Sanderling Resort
#1 of 1 in Duck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Corolla Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Corolla Light

Property: Inn at Corolla Light
Address: 1066 Ocean Trl, Corolla Light Resort, Corolla, NC 27927-9606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Corolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Corolla Light 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! Charming waterfront inn on the Currituck Sound featuring classic Outer Banks wrap around porches, gas fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and breathtaking views, located in the renowned Corolla Light Resort. To access the amenities of the resort, a fee is added to the room cost each night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Corolla Light reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Corolla Light Hotel Corolla
Inn Corolla
Inn At Corolla Light NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing