We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Corolla Light
Ranked #1 of 2 Corolla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights in August 2014. We really enjoyed having excursions at our fingertips. We took advantage of jet skis, kayaks, and tubing. We enjoyed having a pool, hot tub, complimentary bicycles, and a shared deck to sit on. We never used the complimentary breakfast as there was a great bakery (Northern Lights Bakery) down the street with breakfast at $10 for a family of 3. We went to the Resort at Corolla Light once in four days and it was average at best. The grounds were well kept but the staff was hard to find and at one point confrontational. I tried to rent an umbrella for the beach from the resort worker on the beach and she said the guy who sets up the umbrellas was out surfing but when he came back it would cost $70 US Dollars a day, and "cash only". I told her that was outrageous, and she said "I will take that as a no". As I was leaving the beach she came up to me and said she would give an umbrella for $17. At this point I could see a photocopied sign behind her that read that a umbrella costs $15 and I told her that; and at that point she said she didn't even work there. I continued to walk off the beach and a guy carrying a surfboard (I am assuming he is the guy who actually works there) told me not to be rude to his girl. Completely unprofessional and confusing, we did not return to the resort and used the the public beach instead. I would have given a five-star review if not for the poor service of the completely separate staff of the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank dking211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thanks for staying with us at the Inn at Corolla. We were very happy to note that you enjoyed the bikes and North Beach Waters sports during your visit. While we are part of the Corolla Light Resort, you are correct, we are not responsible for their employees. We will share your experience with the General Manager of the Resort about the bad guest service you encountered because we are sure that he will want to know about your experience and will take corrective action. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We don't know how to reconcile our experience with other reviewers.

For $250/night we were surprised to find the decking weathered gray and splintering. Signs warned us to wear shoes for our own safety. The pool had floating debre. The room was musty; the bathroom had pink/orange mold around the baseboards. Webs and spiders were all over the decking. Ants invaded the outdoor breakfast area. Breakfast ran from 8-10am and consisted of motel-like cheap pastries, bagels, and cereal. We stopped by at 9:59am after a Wild Horse Tour to grab a cup of coffee but everything was locked up tight. This establishment does not understand customer service.

We lasted two nights. And, although we gave a full 24 hour notice that we would like to abbreviate our stay, Susan (the manager) refused to give us a full refund for the cancelled night. We fought for a week, but could never get the full refund.

For $250/night we expected more. Instead, we not only overpaid for the nights we stayed... but could not even obtain a full credit for the night we cancelled. We told Susan that we did not plan on returning... evidently that grants one different treatment that a repeat client.

We will never go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank TravelingWhenWeCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

We are sincerely sorry that you were disappointed in your visit to the Inn at Corolla. As a first time visitor, we actually upgraded you to a courtyard junior suite versus the more economical cozy inn saver king that you booked. We can assure you that you were not overcharged.

We are shocked that you state that you did not receive a refund. However, we did indeed refund your final night's deposit. This despite receiving less than 24 hour notice on a non-refundable rate. We were under no obligation to refund anything since you had booked a non-refundable discounted rate through another party's internet website.

Although you state that upon departure you said you would not be returning, our recollection is that you did not share any of your stated concerns during your visit or upon departure. We are very sorry that you did not as we would have loved the opportunity to address your issues. All of our guests are very important to us and that includes new and returning guests. We sincerely hope you will rethink your decision and give us another opportunity to host you. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed for two nights and overall we were happy with the hotel. The room was quiet, spacious and comfortable although a bit musty. The shared terrace was nice for reading a book and a glass of wine in the evening. The breakfast was very good.

We did not use the facilities that were offered with the wristband – just the pool next to the Inn. The pool had leaves and some bugs floating which was not ideal. We did not mention this at the time but I’m sure it could have been sorted out for us. Bikes were free to borrow, which was great as it allowed us to explore the neighbourhood easily.

Despite the couple of negatives, we still had a good stay. There was something very calm and inviting about this place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjuliini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the Inn. We were happy to note that you enjoyed your visit. As you noticed, our outdoor pool is shaded by a large tree. Unfortunately, the tree does shed from time to time which is a negative but the shade that it provides, we feel, out weighs the negative. We try to clean the pool area first thing in the morning and then several times throughout the day to eliminate any problems for our guests. We were happy to note that your enjoyed our breakfast along with our complimentary bikes. We hope you will be back to visit us again soon. Warm regards, Susan Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We loved the romantic setting, right on the sound side in Corolla. We took advantage of the free bicycles and access to swimming pools and of course the beaches are spectacular. The room was very clean and spacious and the hosts very gracious.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, there were no bad rooms, they were all comparable in size and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stumpylegs0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Inn at Corolla with Trip Advisor. We were happy to note that you were able to take advantage of many of our amenities, such as pools, bikes, etc. We hope you will be back to visit us again soon. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Corolla Light and it was such a pleasant experience. The staff was extremely helpful. The room was clean and we had an amazing waterfront view. They offer there guests a decent breakfast and there are plenty of activities close by. Very family friendly, but also good for couples and the beach is minutes away by car and by foot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ajani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Inn. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. The beach is very convenient to the Inn but don't forget that in season there is also a trolley that will take you there for free! We hope you have the opportunity to come back for a visit soon. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a wonderful Inn and perfect when you need a mini vacation. We had never travelled with our dog before, so I was a little unsure what to expect. We had a great /clean efficiency on the Sound. The grounds were gorgeous & we had access to all the Corolla Light amenities. Our dog went swimming everyday, had easy access to the beach, and eateries. I will be going back every year. The Innkeeper and all the staff were accommodating. The Inn is perfect in every way!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Watergirl3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We loved having you (and your pet) as our guests. Thank you for the great review and kind comments about facility and staff. We hope you will be back to visit us often! Warm regards,
Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My fiancé surprised me with a long weekend getaway to the Inn and I couldn't have picked a better place! The staff was friendly and welcoming from the moment we arrived, the amenities were perfect for a relaxing weekend and the free bike rentals was the cherry on top! The view from our room and balcony was spectacular and we enjoyed every moment of our trip! I would highly recommend the inn to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway that's close to the beach and near biking trails.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your weekend getaway. We love to hear that our guests are enjoying all of the amenities that are available to our guests -- especially the adult bikes! We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
19.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
24.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
24.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hil...
#8 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
933 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanderling Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Corolla Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Corolla Light

Address: 1066 Ocean Trl, Corolla Light Resort, Corolla, NC 27927-9606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Corolla
Price Range: £104 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Corolla Light 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! Charming waterfront inn on the Currituck Sound featuring classic Outer Banks wrap around porches, gas fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and breathtaking views, located in the renowned Corolla Light Resort. To access the amenities of the resort, a fee is added to the room cost each night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn at Corolla Light reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Corolla Light Hotel Corolla
Inn Corolla
Inn At Corolla Light NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing