We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“had a great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Three Bears Acres

Three Bears Acres
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Creedmoor
Attraction details
Knightdale, North Carolina
1 review
“had a great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My son had a blast this is a very fun family outing for the day the only thing I would have added was some tented areas around the front of th park activities to help a little with the heat. Otherwise it was a great day spent and well worth it we will definitely be going back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaceyandGrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poorly-maintained play areas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Despite the high admission price, the play areas don't look nice and aren't well-maintained.

There are only four slingshots available (some defective) and not enough tennis balls for all. The net designed to the catch the balls is too small and low to effectively corral them. The targets consist of faded collegiate flags - strange. Why not have colorful, interesting targets placed at varying distances?

Likewise, the archery area has four targets and only two bows available. My kids got frustrated with the long wait and ended up foregoing this activity.

The large wooden play structure is nice though there are no "tree houses" at the playground as the web site claims. The large foam insert from the punching bag had fallen out and was on the ground collecting bacteria and serving as a tripping hazard. Someone tied a thin rope above the cargo net to prevent kids from accidentally tumbling down the cargo net - my kid got a rope burn under his chin when his neck got caught on the rope.

The toboggan slides would be a lot more fun if the little ones could go farther and faster. Unfortunately they don't have enough momentum to go all the way down the carpeted ramps. The attendant was more interested in sitting and resting than giving the kids a push.

This place has a lot of potential but currently isn't up to par. My friends and I won't be going back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Boingo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great outdoor place to visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Bring stroller or a wagon because you'll do a lot of walking! It's an outdoor place you can go to all day and the kids can burn off a lot of energy jumping, running and climbing. It will be nice once they add more activities for kids. My only complaint is there was probably over a hundred people there and they have 2 portopotties. Not fun waiting in a line with a 4 year old! I hope they build more bathrooms because people didn't like waiting in line!
Also bring lots of water and food and they have a nice picnic area to eat at.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Raleightravel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place with Lots of Things to Do for All”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent almost 5 hrs there and the kids did not want to leave. There was so much for all to do and quite a few surprises like an excellent mud kitchen complete with real appliances (don't worry, they don't really work), an old tub full of mud and all manners of utensils and pots and pans. The boys spent a couple of hours on the toboggan slide and all the adults in our party tried (and enjoyed) it several times. There is also a playground with tree houses, lots of different swings, a water fight area nearby, a sand pit, a painting wall, a water all, an archery range... There was just so much to see and do! There are very comfortable benches and chairs for adults around every play area - big purple wicker chairs by the giant inflatable pillow, converted chairlifts attached to pine trees overlooking the toboggan slide, etc. Also, summer sun and heat can be pretty brutal in this area, but about half of the play spaces are in the shade.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lilmac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A fun family afternoon out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

My kids had a great time at Three Bears Acres. They rode on the paddle boats, rolled in the corrugated tubes, made smores, went down the "toboggan", and bounced forever on the "pillow". We were there for just under 3 hours. It is a nice find near Raleigh. My only reservation is the safety aspect. There is an archery area with no staff supervision. This might be OK if all kids were being supervised by parents but they aren't. There were plenty of little kids running around on their own cognizance. The arrows aren't suction cup tips, they could hurt someone, and little kids were aimlessly collecting arrows from the target while other little kids were randomly aiming the bow. Not a good combo. We left that area pretty quickly. I'd say Three Bears Acres is a good place for 3-11 year olds. One of the staff told me that they're planning to add more things to do. This is a good addition to things to do with kids in the Raleigh area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MustangLippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Bears Acres also viewed

 

Been to Three Bears Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing