We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice place, nestled in the mountains.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullowhee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Cullowhee B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a nice place, nestled in the mountains.”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed at the River Lodge when we went to visit the Castle Ladyhawke where my daughter is going to have her wedding. Cathy & Anthony were wonderful. So helpful with any recommendations for the wedding that we needed. The breakfast was delicious and we felt completely at home. I had no problem recommending this place to my mother-in-law and her sister as a great place for them to stay when they come for the wedding.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talksalot64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthCarolinaLodger, Owner at The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thanks so much for the wonderful comments. We are looking forward
to accommodating you and your family for that special upcoming occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My wife and I have been coming to the River Lodge for a number of years. Each time we enjoy it more. Cathy and Anthony offer up their home as if you were extended family. They are friendly and very knowledgeable about the places to eat and things to do in the area. We have stayed in nearly every room, and I have no complaints about any of them. The great room offers a large fireplace and comfortable couches for reading. There are nice chairs for relaxing on the porch and down by the river that runs through their property. We're always excited to see what breakfasts will be served the mornings that we're there as they are always delicous. If you're in the Cullowhee/Sylva/Cashiers area, I highly recommend the River Lodge.

Room Tip: Choose the Hide A Way Suite if you're looking for something a little more secluded for you and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roastandtoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

There are very few decent places to stay in the Cullowhee area. This is a nice exception. The communal spaces and the rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. The breakfasts are terrific and incredibly filling. It's a good choice if you are in the area, but it is not a destination. Cashiers, NC is 20 miles away and has many more options for lodging and dining.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmavensny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This was my first time at the River Lodge Bed and Breakfast, and hopefully not my last. I was visiting my daughter and needed a place to stay for a week while exploring the area for the first time. Cathy and Anthony made me feel so welcome. They both prepared such delicious breakfasts each morning that were not only beautiful to look at but were delicious as well. I was there at times as the only guest during the week and they were kind enough to allow my daughter to join me each morning for breakfast. The lodge is warm and comfortable and the rooms are very tastefully decorated. I enjoyed many hours sitting in a rocking chair on the big porch that wraps around the lodge. The B&B sits right on a river which provided lots of opportunities for photos of my daughter. All in all it was a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingm0m81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Cathy & Anthony delighted us with their hospitatlity and humerous stories. Our room was warm, clean, cozy, beautifully decorated and had great view of the mountainside. The lodge is full of windows for enjoying the river setting in January and the equally enjoyable interior rustic wood beams as well as other neat treasures. The breakfasts were a gourmet feast, both pleasing to the eye and palette. Be sure to ask about the legend of Rebok the dog....

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthCarolinaLodger, Owner at The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments. We truly enjoyed having you with us.
We look forward to seeing you again and telling you more " legendary" stories that will
go down in history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Cathy and Tony are simply pros. They anticipate your needs and provide those flawlessly. Breakfast was not to be missed. Our room was small but more than adequate - clean as a pin and very comfortable. This inn is set in a beautiful location, picturesque and refreshing. One of the best we've had the pleasure of staying in.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellyhob1591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed here for three days, and it was great. Our hosts, Tony and Cathy were very nice and helpful. The Lodge was fabulous. The great room was huge and inviting. Tony lit a fire for us one night and several other guests joined us to chat and sit around the fire. Our room was small, but it didn't matter as we had the great room to sit in as well as a balcony right outside our room. The breakfasts were wonderfully delicious and so bountiful that we didn't need lunch. The area is lovely with waterfalls to see and mountain trails to hike within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired-teacher60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullowhee
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
138 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
9.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn Sylva
Quality Inn Sylva
#4 of 6 in Sylva
56 reviews
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
University Inn
#2 of 2 in Cullowhee
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 619 Roy Tritt Rd, Cullowhee, NC 28723-9668
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cullowhee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cullowhee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Rustic Elegance at it's Best...Experience The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast. Tucked in the mountains of Western North Carolina on a river bend. A massive stone fireplace stands boldly in the greatroom. Artfully decorated with antiques, American Indian motif and a touch of nature. Six uniquely decorated guest rooms all with private baths, Extroadinary breakfasts each morning and surroundings that will please your senses. Come visit The River Lodge, you;ll be glad you did! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing