We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverside setting with fabulous breakfasts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullowhee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Cullowhee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The River Lodge is located on the banks of the Tuckaseegee River in a beautiful part of North Carolina. The hosts (Cathy and Anthony) couldn't have been more friendly or hospitable. The second floor bedrooms are small but well appointed with direct access to a deck overlooking the pasture and river. The high point of our stay was the delicious breakfast . All in all we had a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkeleyTandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at The River Lodge. The innkeepers, Cathy and Anthony were engaging and even though we were the only guests during our midweek stay, we told our travel stories and heard their travel stories and felt like we had met new friends. We chose "In The Wild" room with the full bath/shower. Even though the room is small, you have the balcony and the bathroom was spotless. With sightseeing around the area, you really don't spend much time in your room and when you do, it is a good time to catch up on your reading. One of Anthony's many talents is his cooking. Our breakfast was excellent. His Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon and shrimp was a winner. My husband has been telling everyone that I usually request a smaller portion but this time I should have kept quiet. These folks have been innkeepers for over 14 years and they really enjoy what they are doing and so do their guests.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

The hosts are great - very friendly and entertaining. The lodge was wonderful, great fireplace, pool table (if you have time to play), relaxing furnature. The rooms were comfy and the claw tub was charming. The best part was breakfast. Make sure you are hungry, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blur72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

The River Lodge was a wonderful place for us to stay to celebrate our anniversary!

We enjoyed the impressive riverfront grounds and beautiful lodge, which had been crafted from the remnants of older log structures in the area.

The breakfasts were truly gourmet, and a wonderful way to begin the day.

Our bedroom was cozy, beautifully decorated, and immaculate. Although there were three other couples staying at the same time, we heard no noise from the other rooms during the evening hours.

The remoteness of the Lodge is both a plus and minus, as the location is quiet, but guests are required to drive to neighboring towns for lunch or dinner. But we enjoyed exploring the area and finding waterfalls, roads, river rafting companies, and lots of great scenery.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank xrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2007

As with other B & Bs the hosts put a lot of effort into providing a warm, welcoming atmosphere, excellent breakfasts and clean, comfortable accomodations. The River Lodge excelled in all this and had the bonus of a marvellous setting with lawns streching down to the river where you could sit and watch fish rise and time drift. They also had a wonderful room with a huge fireplace and comfy sofas, perfect for reading your holiday novel or chatting to fellow guests in the evening. There's also seating outside on the porch just made for sipping wine and listening to the birds.
We selected the Trout and Creel room which had a great amount of storage space for a small room. (A real bonus when you've been travelling around the Carolinas for 2 weeks).
If you do get chance to stay here I hope you're served the "signature dish" at breakfast. Absolutely yummy!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gibjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2006

Stayed at the River Lodge B & B 11/3-11/5/06. What a lovely place! Huge stone fireplace, wood and beams everywhere. The owners, Anthony and Cathy were wonderful hosts. Great breakfasts, clean, nicely decorated rooms, beautiful view.

Not too far from Sylva, NC and that is where we went for dinner. Recommend Karen's for a nice Italian dinner.

Would highly recommend this B & B. Not good for small children or people with problems climbing steps.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank potteryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2006

The River Lodge is a mid-sized B&B located on a pristine piece of mountain land. The views of the green fields, mountains and river are very relaxing. Be sure to get a room with a balcony if you can. We spent time sitting in chairs on the riverbank, listening to the bullfrogs at night and playing pool in the lodge. The hosts were charming, there when you needed them but not hanging around every minute. The lodge is extremely clean and well kept. They arranged a beautiful basket for our accompanying couple's 10th anniversary which was a great value and quite nice. No tv or phones in the rooms, yayy! The breakfasts were generous, two courses: fruit treats and big filling main dishes, and very tasty. My husband and his friend also enjoyed a day fishing trip with Willy Cope, a guide from their website. All in all, a great value, the pictures on the website don't do this place justice.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindamccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullowhee
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
9.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
University Inn
#2 of 2 in Cullowhee
4 reviews
10.5 mi away
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 619 Roy Tritt Rd, Cullowhee, NC 28723-9668
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cullowhee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cullowhee
Price Range: £100 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Rustic Elegance at it's Best...Experience The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast. Tucked in the mountains of Western North Carolina on a river bend. A massive stone fireplace stands boldly in the greatroom. Artfully decorated with antiques, American Indian motif and a touch of nature. Six uniquely decorated guest rooms all with private baths, Extroadinary breakfasts each morning and surroundings that will please your senses. Come visit The River Lodge, you;ll be glad you did! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing