We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing, perfect place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullowhee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Cullowhee B&B and Inns
Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing, perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed here for three days, and it was great. Our hosts, Tony and Cathy were very nice and helpful. The Lodge was fabulous. The great room was huge and inviting. Tony lit a fire for us one night and several other guests joined us to chat and sit around the fire. Our room was small, but it didn't matter as we had the great room to sit in as well as a balcony right outside our room. The breakfasts were wonderfully delicious and so bountiful that we didn't need lunch. The area is lovely with waterfalls to see and mountain trails to hike within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired-teacher60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The River Lodge is located on the banks of the Tuckaseegee River in a beautiful part of North Carolina. The hosts (Cathy and Anthony) couldn't have been more friendly or hospitable. The second floor bedrooms are small but well appointed with direct access to a deck overlooking the pasture and river. The high point of our stay was the delicious breakfast . All in all we had a delightful stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkeleyTandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at The River Lodge. The innkeepers, Cathy and Anthony were engaging and even though we were the only guests during our midweek stay, we told our travel stories and heard their travel stories and felt like we had met new friends. We chose "In The Wild" room with the full bath/shower. Even though the room is small, you have the balcony and the bathroom was spotless. With sightseeing around the area, you really don't spend much time in your room and when you do, it is a good time to catch up on your reading. One of Anthony's many talents is his cooking. Our breakfast was excellent. His Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon and shrimp was a winner. My husband has been telling everyone that I usually request a smaller portion but this time I should have kept quiet. These folks have been innkeepers for over 14 years and they really enjoy what they are doing and so do their guests.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2009

The hosts are great - very friendly and entertaining. The lodge was wonderful, great fireplace, pool table (if you have time to play), relaxing furnature. The rooms were comfy and the claw tub was charming. The best part was breakfast. Make sure you are hungry, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blur72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

The River Lodge was a wonderful place for us to stay to celebrate our anniversary!

We enjoyed the impressive riverfront grounds and beautiful lodge, which had been crafted from the remnants of older log structures in the area.

The breakfasts were truly gourmet, and a wonderful way to begin the day.

Our bedroom was cozy, beautifully decorated, and immaculate. Although there were three other couples staying at the same time, we heard no noise from the other rooms during the evening hours.

The remoteness of the Lodge is both a plus and minus, as the location is quiet, but guests are required to drive to neighboring towns for lunch or dinner. But we enjoyed exploring the area and finding waterfalls, roads, river rafting companies, and lots of great scenery.

  • Liked — BREAKFAST! Lovely grounds, quiet remote location.
  • Disliked — No AT&T cell phone reception or internet access, but great for romantic trip!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

As with other B & Bs the hosts put a lot of effort into providing a warm, welcoming atmosphere, excellent breakfasts and clean, comfortable accomodations. The River Lodge excelled in all this and had the bonus of a marvellous setting with lawns streching down to the river where you could sit and watch fish rise and time drift. They also had a wonderful room with a huge fireplace and comfy sofas, perfect for reading your holiday novel or chatting to fellow guests in the evening. There's also seating outside on the porch just made for sipping wine and listening to the birds.
We selected the Trout and Creel room which had a great amount of storage space for a small room. (A real bonus when you've been travelling around the Carolinas for 2 weeks).
If you do get chance to stay here I hope you're served the "signature dish" at breakfast. Absolutely yummy!

  • Liked — Storage space, beautiful house
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gibjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

Stayed at the River Lodge B & B 11/3-11/5/06. What a lovely place! Huge stone fireplace, wood and beams everywhere. The owners, Anthony and Cathy were wonderful hosts. Great breakfasts, clean, nicely decorated rooms, beautiful view.

Not too far from Sylva, NC and that is where we went for dinner. Recommend Karen's for a nice Italian dinner.

Would highly recommend this B & B. Not good for small children or people with problems climbing steps.

  • Liked — Conveniently located near things to do.
  • Disliked — Poor lighting in bedroom. Could not see in mirror. No mirror in bathroom.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check the internet for things to do in the surrounding area. If you like to fish this is a great place for fly fishing.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank potteryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullowhee
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
138 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
9.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn Sylva
Quality Inn Sylva
#4 of 6 in Sylva
56 reviews
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
University Inn
#2 of 2 in Cullowhee
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 619 Roy Tritt Rd, Cullowhee, NC 28723-9668
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cullowhee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cullowhee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Rustic Elegance at it's Best...Experience The River Lodge Bed and Breakfast. Tucked in the mountains of Western North Carolina on a river bend. A massive stone fireplace stands boldly in the greatroom. Artfully decorated with antiques, American Indian motif and a touch of nature. Six uniquely decorated guest rooms all with private baths, Extroadinary breakfasts each morning and surroundings that will please your senses. Come visit The River Lodge, you;ll be glad you did! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing