We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B - Jarrett House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jarrett House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jarrett House
Ranked #4 of 4 Dillsboro B&B and Inns
Atlanta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice B&B - Jarrett House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd anniversary in the North Carolina mountains this weekend. We spent Saturday evening at the Jarrett House. The people there were very friendly and eager to help in any way. Yes, it's an old structure (built in the 1800's), but it does have that old time charm that is neat to experience, if you're used to modern day hotels. I'd recommend this B&B to anyone looking to spend a quiet evening in the foothills of the Smokey Mountains.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MChance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    6
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife and I love the Jarrett House. It is what it is: a historic inn; do not expect a modern hotel. Since the hotel was built before the turn of the century, it had to be adapted to modern plumbing needs, so don't be put off by the visible pipes on the ceilings. The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean, and furnished with beautiful antiques, artwork, and floral arrangements. The charming, old-fashioned bathrooms are stocked with luxurious amenities. The inn is family owned and operated, and you feel the warmth immediately when you walk in. The restaurant serves wonderful Southern food; the service is prompt and gracious. There are relaxing porches with rocking chairs to sit and view the mountains.

Room Tip: The owners will give you several keys and you can pick your own room. Most rooms have a double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank deltaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, SC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have stayed several years stayed at the Jarrett House. The Hartbarger family owns and operates the Jarrett House. They always make us feel welcome. They even know the room we prefer. The Jarrett House is an old inn and is an integral part of Dillsboro. It has its own unique history. If in the area, try the Jarrett House

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bgood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
248 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed in the front of the historic part of the inn and found the bed exceeding hard although we prefer firm mattresses. The hard bed, street noise, and light coming through the blinds prevented us from being able to sleep at all. After trying to sleep for over 3 hours, we checked out in the middle of the night to return home. The desk clerk on duty tried to help but by this time all we wanted to do was to sleep in our own bed. Someone else called us afterward and offered a refund or gift certificates, saying that they wanted to make sure that we left happy.

We liked the fact that the hotel was very clean, the staff was courteous, and the inn had some nice antique furniture. What we liked least was that it appeared to us that the room had last been renovated in the late 70's or early 80's and that the work was mediocre at best. The years of use were really evident. Window blinds were old, plastic, broken, and didn't fit the windows; mattress and foundation were of the same era as the last renovation; ceiling fan was poor quality and appeared to be 30 years old; there was a newer model window air conditioner which was very noisy; the bathroom was 1930's era with a claw foot tub which was refinished at some previous time but the finish had worn off and it had been converted into a shower. Neither of us used the tub. due to its appearance. There was a constant smell of food in our room and throughout the inn even after the restaurant was closed. The property had the feel of a boarding house that had not been maintained rather than a nice bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 60742Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

I spent four happy nights at the Jarrett House in Dillsboro, North Carolina. My room was large with interesting furniture. It also had a private bath, air conditioning and a ceiling fan. There was a large porch with mony rocking chairs on each level. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A full breakfast was served in the morning in a pleasant and spacious dinning room. The staff even offered to make me something earlier when I had to leave before 8:00 AM. Dillsboro itself is an interesting town with various gift and craft shops. There are also many attractions in the area such as a Cherokee reservation. The Jarrett House is a comfortable and quiet place to stay while enjoying the area.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DouglassNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, SC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

This is our 7th year visiting the Jarrett House. The owners are warm friendly people. We feel just like family! We have been there as a couple; have taken one of our children; and have been for a mother/daughter week-end. It is a great place to stay! It was built in the late 1800's and has kept the historical feel. It is not fancy, but comfortable and warm!
Go to visit Mrs Kathryn in the gift shop, too!
If you are just passing through, be sure to stop for lunch or dinner. They have good country food!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bgood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

We were there for Memorial Day weekend. The staff was nice and very welcoming. We had to check out insanely early on our last day (5am), so they let us go through check out procedures the night before...and when we left, we left the key on the front desk. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room was beautiful and simple. Antique furniture. claw foot bathtub...no tv and no phones (which is what we wanted). The town is very small...but it's nice in that after dinner you can walk around the town easily. The town is made of independently owned shops - a great Christmas ornament shop, the best Chocolate shop ever, and a small town general store with it's original soda fountain bar. It's the kind of town were it was relaxing to sit on the balcony of the Jarrett House (each floor has one), eat homemade fudge, and talk.

The chocolate place.... dillsborochocolate.com is great!

Jarrett House serves a simple menu (pot roast, chicken, ham, chicken and dumplings, trout) dinner/lunch menu...prices are high (avg. $15 dinner per person)....but it comes with green beans, stewed apples, pickled beats, homemade biscuits, mash potatoes, slaw...all served family style and more then enough to eat. The bbq restaurant down the street is about the same....same price range but you get so much food it's amazing. They serve beer from a local brewery which is great too. Honestly, the time we spent there we didn't eat lunch. Jarrett House serves breakfast (simple...not a huge breakfast but ok) to it's guests and then we'd eat an early dinner.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank berryparfait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsboro
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Sylva
Quality Inn Sylva
#4 of 6 in Sylva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Ridge Inn
Blue Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Sylva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jarrett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jarrett House

Property: Jarrett House
Address: 100 Haywood Road, Dillsboro, NC 28575
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jarrett House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic inn was built in 1884 and host 16 rooms inside the inn furnished with Victorian furniture for that"step back in time" feel. The perfect place to unplug from the world and enjoy life! Our recently remodeled lobby, tea room and dining room provides our guest a comfortable place to relax and gather with old friends and make new ones. If you need a little more modern convenience we have 6 rooms located outside in our courtyard that have televisions so you don't miss your favorite show. Our lodging is available April 1, 2015. We will be opening a new lounge "Coach's" in Spring 2015! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Jarrett House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jarrett House Hotel Dillsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing