We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Family Style?? Not!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jarrett House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jarrett House
Ranked #4 of 4 Dillsboro B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Southern Family Style?? Not!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

While this is only the 2nd time We have eaten at the House, We had made a special trip from the Smoky Mtns to eat there after our long train ride. The House is Nice and welcoming. The Diner Menu had a lot to offer but something was missing in the taste. Oh yeah the southern Cooking. I chose the Friend Chicken and Green beans and boil Potatoes & Carrots. The Chicken needed a little more season. The Green beans were cooked with Lemon and Olive Oil! what's up with that? where's the Fat back ! The Potatoes when I expected small white and round came out Mashed and sort of Brown & kind of old. looks like they gave us the left overs from lunch? Wife got Chicken and Dumplings'. They came out Luke warm. For me the only thing I liked was the Cherry Pie that they brought us my mistake. They use to ofer Family style? maybe that is sunday?

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank ronaldbyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
Thanks for your comments. You are correct in questioning Southern Family Style. We made a decision this year to no longer serve family style due to increase costs of food and the waste from eyes bigger than stomach moments. We also did introduce some other ways of seasoning our food to give our patrons who need other options as choices. Some people loved and some didn't as expected. Over the season we adjusted based on our comments and believe that you should give us another try. Over the winter we have done some equipment upgrades which should solve the problem of lukewarm anything. If I may make a suggestion, please let us know the issues while you are here so that we may correct them and have you leave feeling good about the Jarrett House. We love our returning customers and always want to strive to keep them happy. Hope to see you in 2015!

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    6
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stopped here on the spur of the moment and found the staff so warm and welcoming! The house is old and quite historic from what we were told. It is worn in places, but clean throughout. Our lunch consisted of turkey and Swiss melt sandwich and pulled pork b'bq on a sesame seed roll, both with fries. Appetizer of biscuits w/butter and these biscuits absolutely melt in your mouth. Portions were huge and fairly priced. Clientele ranged from the after church crowd, well dressed citizens, both local and business people and lots of families on vacation in casual and vacation dress so really anyone can dine here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlabamaDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
Some of my favorite places are Spur of the Moment ones! Thank you for your kind words. We love our guests and want you to always feel welcome. We are continuing our efforts to repair some of the worn out and freshen up our place for your enjoyment. No matter how you dress, whether casual or Sunday best you are always welcome to drop in and enjoy a meal with us. Hope to be on your Spur of the Moment list in 2015!~

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had the Trout, very good. Friend hat the Catfish... best ever was the Quote... got to try the vinegar pie as well. Very good all around meal, great friendly staff and front desk. Got to go if your anywhere near here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie T, General Manager at Jarrett House, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us! It is hard to beat for just good home cooking! Please join us in 2015 and we will be ready with the Trout and Catfish....oh yes, vinegar pie too!

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Spent a birthday weekend with my husband at this hotel. The beds in our room were extremely uncomfortable -- and small. We picked the least uncomfortable bed, whic happened to have a nightstand right next to the bed (and my head). Within 60 seconds of turning out the lights, all of the items I had laid on the nightstand were knocked off and thrown about the room, some landing 15 feet away (such as a small book, and my watch). Nice. Uncomfortable beds and a feisty ghost to boot. Didn't sleep a wink after that. I think we'll stay someone else the next time, thank you very much!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank emily27055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I was a bit apprehensive after reading the reviews of the rooms here and I have to say, the rooms need a lot of work. I hate to see an old historic building going downhill but that is what is happening. Our room was good sized and clean but could use a fresh coat of paint & glue for the bathroom linoleum. The antique furnishings were nice but were well worn. Newer mattresses were nice but the old window unit a/c needed to be replaced. The staff was very nice & helpful & the breakfast was ok. We chose to eat dinner across the street. All in all, it was a nice enough stay. Can't say I would do it again unless they do some renovating. Hopefully they will call Hotel Impossible and get some help! It is truly a wonderful old inn in need of some serious help.

Room Tip: always ask for 2 beds, even if you do not need them. The single bed rooms are tiny. Rm. 212 was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitchenmagician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
321 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This has been one of my favorite places but no more. The wonderful breakfast has been replaced with warmed over biscuits, undercooked pancakes, and two scrawny pieces of bacon. Dinner seems to have come from cans and warmed over. What used to be scrumptious fired apples is now a over cooked bold of scrambled apples. Who ever decided on these changes should kick themselves or ask someone to do it because they ruined a good thing.

Room Tip: Choose one somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K-nine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had the worst lunch ever. Canned corn, boiled, barely mashed potatoes with no butter, milk, or anything. The apples were horribly overcooked. Soda was flat. Been used or sitting for 2 days. Biscuits are pillsburys in a can cut small with a cookie cutter. Vinegar pie was the worst. So much sugar we could not eat it. Not with the recipe, at all. A cheap version of nothing. AND DISGUSTING.
We used to come here a great deal. It was really good. Now, the ceilings are dropped with ugly squares of something. The 1800's has been vanished, forever. The food is horrible. Someone is rationing food to make extra money. So sorry to see it go. Don't waste your time or money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank princesssnowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsboro
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Sylva
Quality Inn Sylva
#4 of 6 in Sylva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Ridge Inn
Blue Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Sylva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jarrett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jarrett House

Property: Jarrett House
Address: 100 Haywood Road, Dillsboro, NC 28575
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jarrett House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic inn was built in 1884 and host 16 rooms inside the inn furnished with Victorian furniture for that"step back in time" feel. The perfect place to unplug from the world and enjoy life! Our recently remodeled lobby, tea room and dining room provides our guest a comfortable place to relax and gather with old friends and make new ones. If you need a little more modern convenience we have 6 rooms located outside in our courtyard that have televisions so you don't miss your favorite show. Our lodging is available April 1, 2015. We will be opening a new lounge "Coach's" in Spring 2015! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Jarrett House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jarrett House Hotel Dillsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing