We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old and tired, but there are not many other choices in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dillsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013


I have stayed here numerous times over the last 7 years, always for 3-5 days at a time. I just cannot agree with the other reviewers.
The positive: absolutely lovely location on the Tuckesegee river. Watch the ducks, the kayakers and the tubers, or join in the fun in good weather. If you stay, get a river view room, and yes, the charge is high for the quality provided. The hotel is reasonably clean and the front desk is young and southern, making them generally pleasant, but not particularly helpful.
However EVERYTHING in this motel needs to be updated, as far as I can tell, nothing has been done to the place in the 7 years we have been staying there, and it was dated and old 7 years ago.
The furniture is old and chipped, the chairs and couches are very uncomfortable , obviously bought for cheap cost, not comfort, and it is truly ugly, as is the wall paper etc. Our desk chair was so poorly designed that it tipped over 4 times just from sitting in it. (Luckily no one was hurt, but they easily could have been)Then we forbade anyone to sit on it and moved it into a corner. (Note to management, you need to get rid of these chairs. They are a lawsuit waiting to happen, we were just lucky we discovered the defects before our grandchildren were hurt)
The place is clean enough, but the "decor" makes it seem dirtier than it probably was. The odd smell in the hallways didn't help either.
The mattresses are fine, but the bedding is mediocre, somewhat scratcy. Electric plugs are hard to locate, but the wireless does work well. Lighting is only ok, but not really adequate.
The bathroom is a horror, it has no room whatsoever to put anything (the floor?) and is difficult to move in, even for one person. The towels are rough and thin. Closet space and drawer space are minimal and poorly laid out. Even in the large "suite" we had, there is nowhere to stow your luggage. The rooms were not serviced adequately and I finally gave up and just straightened up and made the bed myself. ( there was no sign to hang in the door to request service)
The elevator is ungodly slow and using the stairs requires going down to the very end of the hallway each time.
The pool is ok and seems to be maintained but we had to request towels several times, no one seemed to be caring for those needs.
Breakfast is mediocre at best. I don't think much of motel breakfasts in general, but most of this breakfast was unedible .( Egg patties? really?) Coffee, orange juice and a muffin or biscuit was all we could manage.
The problem is that there are few real alternatives in this area, and I guess the motel figures it doesn't have to provide reasonable quality.
All in all, I was very happy to leave and go to a motel with reasonable updating and amenities snd I sm dreading my next stay in the area.
Sent from my iPad

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank rebmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwriverescape, General Manager at Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I am disheartened to hear about your many disappointments during your latest stay. We are continually making improvements to our property each year in an effort to improve our offerings. Our hotel was built in 2002 and although we have not had a major renovation since then we have been investing in improvements along the way. Last year we replaced all bedding, got higher thread count linens, nice large pillows, and installed new 42" LED televisions. As a busy hotel we plan all major projects / changes during our slow period of winter, which we are coming up on. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and will never stop adding newer things to keep our guests happy. We truly appreciate and take care of our guests and value any feedback we receive, even if it is not the most flattering. It is our hope that you take into account other guest reviews as well - because this is truly not the kind of experience the vast majority of our guests leave with. I hope you will consider coming back to visit us in 2014 and will be pleasantly surprised with what you find.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

200 characters? really this is my last survey. Superb location on the river...inside entrance is always great... sound of river superb...lobby lovely...clerk was gracious and helpful,,,beds were excellent...price was high...stayed in Gatlinburg with a in room jaquzi and gas fireplace on the river for $60 less per night....price will prevent my staying in Dillsboro Best Western again...nice but not the extra money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Not likely to stay at a Best Western again and this Hotel was to be a Plus. Do not understand why they call it a Plus- not in my book. Very unfriendly front desk staff . Our room was not vacuumed the entire 3 days that we stayed. The hallways to the rooms were also not vacuumed. The outside trash containers at the entrance to the hotel was never emptied for two days and it was overflowing and couldn't get another piece of paper in the trash can. ( I guess the maintenance man didn't show up one day and no one else could do the job (really!)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwriverescape, General Manager at Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I am terribly sorry that you had issues during your stay. As you can tell by our typical reviews we are a property that truly strives to provide wonderful customer service and we have very high cleaning standards that we expect every member of our staff to adhere to. Obviously we missed the mark with you this past weekend. We would welcome you back to visit us in the future so that you can see your experience is not a "normal" for us. As I expressed in my correspondence to you we will be having an urgent meeting in regards to your experience and putting corrective actions in place so that this does not happen again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our family stayed there - the river views are the best but they will upsale you with a surcharge for view overlooking the river. Close to the Great Smoky Moutain Railroad in Bryson City.

Convenient location to all the major destinations.

They will give discounts for AAA & AARP.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank dsmumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was a one night stay for my wife & me, booked just a few days before. The checkin was easy, & our room was spotless, clean & comfortable. We were not able to get a river view room & that is preferable. The morning breakfast was good, pretty standard. It is very near a couple of good restaurants, but you would need to drive to them. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tgrdvrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very nice place to stay. Clean and has a good breakfast. Can be pricey but overall this is a good place to stay if you are in the area. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. This hotel is near Western Univ. of NC and can fill up during school events so book early.Plenty of good places to eat in nearby Silva.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DOUGLAS E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, it was a pleasant experience overall, distant from town of Cherokee, near Sylva, on the banks of Tuckasegee river. It was a bit worse than expected, from Best Western plus chain. We were in a jacuzzi suite. I have stayed at Best Western suites with jacuzzi in past (at Sal Lake city airport) and it was definitely a 2-ROOMS SUITE. Here rooms are smaller and furniture a bit old. I would recommed bigger rooms as well jacuzzi that can accomodate 2 people at least. Its close to Smokeys, and blure ridge parkway. Overall, nothing much to do around Dillsboro. So had a relaxing day in hotel, gym was excellent. Breakfast is standard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nimit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsboro
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
15.3 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
7.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites

Address: 248 WBI Drive, Dillsboro, NC 28725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dillsboro
Price Range: £77 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Best Western with a style all its own. Overlook a rambling river from your spacious room or relax on our scenic riverside patio. Enjoy deluxe guest rooms, suites, a heated indoor pool and hot tub, and a hot breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus River Escape Hotel Dillsboro
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn And Suites
Best Western Dillsboro
Dillsboro Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing