We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dillsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great quality hotel conveniently backing to the river. I stayed in the winter but during the summer this would be a great place to be for some tubing down the river with the kids. Breakfast was very good and the room was very spacious and clean. I would definitely stay here again and it is very close to Cherokee and the Smoky Mountains.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Beautiful Riverfront Hotel Rooms!...We like playing at the Casino nearby(Harrahs Cherokee). However, we prefer to stay at Dillsboro Best Western over the Casino rooms because the "riverfront" view is fabulous.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Wheelchair access is very good, in designated rooms and public spaces. The location on the river is beautiful and its clean and nice. Only the breakfast could have been a bit better. The eggs were rubbery and the pancake machine wasn't working. Got by with yogurt and cereal, so not too bad.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannyOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013


I have stayed here numerous times over the last 7 years, always for 3-5 days at a time. I just cannot agree with the other reviewers.
The positive: absolutely lovely location on the Tuckesegee river. Watch the ducks, the kayakers and the tubers, or join in the fun in good weather. If you stay, get a river view room, and yes, the charge is high for the quality provided. The hotel is reasonably clean and the front desk is young and southern, making them generally pleasant, but not particularly helpful.
However EVERYTHING in this motel needs to be updated, as far as I can tell, nothing has been done to the place in the 7 years we have been staying there, and it was dated and old 7 years ago.
The furniture is old and chipped, the chairs and couches are very uncomfortable , obviously bought for cheap cost, not comfort, and it is truly ugly, as is the wall paper etc. Our desk chair was so poorly designed that it tipped over 4 times just from sitting in it. (Luckily no one was hurt, but they easily could have been)Then we forbade anyone to sit on it and moved it into a corner. (Note to management, you need to get rid of these chairs. They are a lawsuit waiting to happen, we were just lucky we discovered the defects before our grandchildren were hurt)
The place is clean enough, but the "decor" makes it seem dirtier than it probably was. The odd smell in the hallways didn't help either.
The mattresses are fine, but the bedding is mediocre, somewhat scratcy. Electric plugs are hard to locate, but the wireless does work well. Lighting is only ok, but not really adequate.
The bathroom is a horror, it has no room whatsoever to put anything (the floor?) and is difficult to move in, even for one person. The towels are rough and thin. Closet space and drawer space are minimal and poorly laid out. Even in the large "suite" we had, there is nowhere to stow your luggage. The rooms were not serviced adequately and I finally gave up and just straightened up and made the bed myself. ( there was no sign to hang in the door to request service)
The elevator is ungodly slow and using the stairs requires going down to the very end of the hallway each time.
The pool is ok and seems to be maintained but we had to request towels several times, no one seemed to be caring for those needs.
Breakfast is mediocre at best. I don't think much of motel breakfasts in general, but most of this breakfast was unedible .( Egg patties? really?) Coffee, orange juice and a muffin or biscuit was all we could manage.
The problem is that there are few real alternatives in this area, and I guess the motel figures it doesn't have to provide reasonable quality.
All in all, I was very happy to leave and go to a motel with reasonable updating and amenities snd I sm dreading my next stay in the area.
Sent from my iPad

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank rebmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwriverescape, General Manager at Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I am disheartened to hear about your many disappointments during your latest stay. We are continually making improvements to our property each year in an effort to improve our offerings. Our hotel was built in 2002 and although we have not had a major renovation since then we have been investing in improvements along the way. Last year we replaced all bedding, got higher thread count linens, nice large pillows, and installed new 42" LED televisions. As a busy hotel we plan all major projects / changes during our slow period of winter, which we are coming up on. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and will never stop adding newer things to keep our guests happy. We truly appreciate and take care of our guests and value any feedback we receive, even if it is not the most flattering. It is our hope that you take into account other guest reviews as well - because this is truly not the kind of experience the vast majority of our guests leave with. I hope you will consider coming back to visit us in 2014 and will be pleasantly surprised with what you find.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

200 characters? really this is my last survey. Superb location on the river...inside entrance is always great... sound of river superb...lobby lovely...clerk was gracious and helpful,,,beds were excellent...price was high...stayed in Gatlinburg with a in room jaquzi and gas fireplace on the river for $60 less per night....price will prevent my staying in Dillsboro Best Western again...nice but not the extra money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Not likely to stay at a Best Western again and this Hotel was to be a Plus. Do not understand why they call it a Plus- not in my book. Very unfriendly front desk staff . Our room was not vacuumed the entire 3 days that we stayed. The hallways to the rooms were also not vacuumed. The outside trash containers at the entrance to the hotel was never emptied for two days and it was overflowing and couldn't get another piece of paper in the trash can. ( I guess the maintenance man didn't show up one day and no one else could do the job (really!)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwriverescape, General Manager at Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I am terribly sorry that you had issues during your stay. As you can tell by our typical reviews we are a property that truly strives to provide wonderful customer service and we have very high cleaning standards that we expect every member of our staff to adhere to. Obviously we missed the mark with you this past weekend. We would welcome you back to visit us in the future so that you can see your experience is not a "normal" for us. As I expressed in my correspondence to you we will be having an urgent meeting in regards to your experience and putting corrective actions in place so that this does not happen again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our family stayed there - the river views are the best but they will upsale you with a surcharge for view overlooking the river. Close to the Great Smoky Moutain Railroad in Bryson City.

Convenient location to all the major destinations.

They will give discounts for AAA & AARP.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank dsmumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsboro
1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
20.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites

Address: 248 WBI Drive, Dillsboro, NC 28725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dillsboro
Price Range: £76 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Best Western with a style all its own. Overlook a rambling river from your spacious room or relax on our scenic riverside patio. Enjoy deluxe guest rooms, suites, a heated indoor pool and hot tub, and a hot breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus River Escape Hotel Dillsboro
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn And Suites
Best Western Dillsboro
Dillsboro Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing