We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better than the pictures show!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dillsboro, Jackson County, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NurseRond...
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Even better than the pictures show!”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a cute little cabin with a great view from a large deck. The cabin is well equipped and updated with granite counter tops and nice appliances. I went with a friend and we each had our own bedroom and bathroom and had a great time. The wood-burning fireplace was wonderful! Great place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: It would have been nice if the hot tub was on the deck with the view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Misty Mountain. We appreciate your feedback and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please keep us in mind for your future trips. As a VIP repeat guest you will receive a 10% discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lalad98
Como, Mississippi
1 review
“Really enjoyed our Cabin”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Cabin was great- view was wonderful. Kids loved just playing in their room. We were there over thanksgiving and so we cooked a few nights in the cabin as well. The kitchen was very easy to use and well stocked. We loved having the updated look and appliances in the kitchen. The porch was great- I am sure it's a wonderful place to hang out during warmer weather. The Only down side is that it was very drafty-- It's very cool by the windows and not very well insulated - so if it's really cold when you are there, just be aware. It really didn't bother us and wouldn't keep us from staying again. I would hate to see what their utility bill is. :) We had an issue with the hot water going out on our second day and even though it was a holiday weekend- they were very responsive. (Turns out it was a timer that had turned off and all we had to do was turn it back on). We loved the view. You feel like you are in the middle of the wilderness when really you just go down your drive and you are back on a road. I would recommend following their advice and arrive for the first time in daylight if possible. Its seems kind of "hard" the first time making that turn onto the drive and it would be very hard to see at night.

We took the trip to bring our small children on the Polar Express. We liked Bryson city, but there was not much more for kids to do besides the train during the winter months. But that doesn't reflect on how comfortable our stay was, Just mentioning it in case you have small children and planning a trip.
Overall- I would recommend this for a romantic getaway, girls or guys weekend, or family time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Misty Mountain. We appreciate your feedback.
We're glad you enjoyed the kitchen and porch. The cabin has a beautiful setting and I love the view.

We appreciate the feedback about it being drafty. We'll mention that to the Property Manager and see if something can be done to improve this.

Our maintenance staff does their best to try to make sure everything is in perfect running order, but sometimes there are oddities such as that timer being flipped on the heater.
We're glad we were able to address the hot water heater quickly, and appreciate that you reported this. We would much prefer guests report any situations they encounter so we address them.

Mountain roads often don't have street lights like in suburban areas. We do recommend trying to arrive before dark, but if that's not possible we offer turn by turn directions with mileage to help. We have an after hours emergency number especially for guests reporting difficulty finding their cabins just in case. Also, there's a reflective sign to help identify cabins in the dark.

On your next trip you will be a VIP and receive an expedited booking process and 10% discount when you call to book. If booking online is easier for you, then just let us know and we'll get you a special coupon code for the discount.

Here are ideas for things to do with children in Winter -- particularly in November and December:

• The Polar Express is a great thing to do with children in the area. In the winter months things are slower than in Summer. Before the train ride the Smoky Mountain Train Museum is fun to check out.

• For 2014 the Cherokee Indian Fairgrounds held the "Cherokee Lights and Legends" festival for the first time with ice skating, carnival rides, a 40' tree, and more. I hope they continue to hold this in future years.

• The weekend right after Thanksgiving the town of Bryson City had their Tree Lighting and "Spirit of Christmas" event.

• The Smoky Mountain Community Theater in downtown Bryson City has a plays throughout the year. For December 2014 on the weekends they had "The Christmas Shoes". I believe they've already started planning their schedule of plays for the next year.

• During cooler months Tube World in the Cataloochee Valley area of Maggie Valley has snow tubing. I find snow tubing more enjoyable than sledding -- they even take you back up to the top. It's not open every day, so I would recommend calling ahead. If your little ones aren't big enough for this, they also have a Wee Bowl Snow Play Area.
Even if there isn't snow at the cabin, they often have snow or make snow. We had our first snow in 2014 on November 1st and they opened the Wee Bowl Snow Play area around Thanksgiving; the Cataloochee Ski Area not too far from Tube World opened before then.

• I would recommend visiting the National Gingerbread House Competition at the Grove Park Inn as a fun thing to do -- they hold this annually from the middle of November until New Years and it's open to the public from Sundays to Thursdays. Depending on one's travelling plans, this could be a fun thing to do on your first day or before you head home if you don't want to make a special trip to Asheville -- it's about a 40 minute drive. I go every year -- to me it doesn't feel like Christmas without seeing the gingerbread. This is a juried sugar art competition with submissions from all over the country; the winners are typically featured on "Good Morning, America".

• On the southern side of Asheville there's "Shadrack's Christmas Wonderland" -- a drive thru music and lights show. On their website they say they're the largest of their kind in the world.

I hope that gives some ideas for things to do in Winter for kids. If you have questions about trip planning any time of year, we're locals and would be happy to help.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumaDean
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you could need bar wifi”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This place was amazing. Comfortable, clean and everything you could need from DVD's, dishwasher, washer & dryer, hot tub, firepit etc etc. only thing lacking was wifi which would have massively improved our stay as I'm working while travelling so the lack of connection was frustrating. 4G is poor in the area. Good location close to national park but away from crowds. Highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Misty Mountain cabin. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and recommend the cabin and our company. Please keep us in mind for future trips. As a VIP repeat guest you'll receive a 10% discount off any of our cabins or your 7th night free.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing