We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to Mt. Airy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dobson
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
707 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to Mt. Airy”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson for a couple of nights while visiting Mt. Airy. The hotel is located off of I-77 and approximately 15 miles from downtown Mt. Airy. The hotel definitely was a popular choice for both people travelling through as well as those visiting the area. The parking lot quickly filled up as evening approached. When I arrived late that night, the receptionist was very nice and quickly checked me in.

The hotel has a partnership with the Shelton Vineyards which is a couple of miles down the road. As such there is a wine bar in the hotel that is open from 1700-2200 each day. You can sample all of the wines that the vineyard makes, either buying by the glass or by the bottle. A glass will cost approximately $6-8 depending on the wine. There is also the option to purchase a crate of a selection of wine of your choosing. The room itself isn't very large, with three tables and a bar that seats about four. You can take the wine and glasses back to your room. Don't expect to see wine glasses in the room as this is a Hampton Inn, not an extension of the Winery.

I was given an assessable room which meant that certain items in the room were set so that handicapped personnel could easily move around. Once entering the room, there was a small hallway with the bathroom on the left. The closet next to the bathroom was behind a large mirror fixed on the door. The hangers were located low, about chest high, but remembering the room made sense. Just keep in mind that if you did have something long, such as a dress, it would touch the ground. The king bed was on one side, with a small chair next to it. Against the wall was the television, microwave, refrigerator and desk. The bed was nice and soft, which is always a good thing.

The bathroom was nice and large as well. The sink was at your normal level, so someone in a wheelchair may find it a little high, but probably not too much. The only improvement that they could make would be to increase the water pressure, both for the bath and shower. There are also plenty of towels as well.

Another plus for the room, and definitely better than the majority of hotels, was the temperature and air-conditioner. You almost didn't notice the air-conditioner when it was on, with the refrigerator being much louder. However what you gain by the quietness of the air-conditioner was lost by the paper thin wall with the room next door. You could easily hear the conversations next door, even at an average tone. Fortunately it was an older couple who went to bed around 2200. Otherwise expect to get little sleep if you are a light sleeper like myself.

The breakfast room was on the smaller side given the level of guests. You'd find people saving seats for "guests" who'd never come, forcing people to either take the food back to their rooms or eat standing up. There is a nice selection of both hot and cold choices. There are two waffle machines, omelets and ham or sausage (which changed each morning). The coffee was also good and hot.

Another thing that I noticed about the hotel was that they enclosed their soda and ice machines (at least on the third floor) next to the elevators behind a closed door. This eliminated unnecessary noise that could be heard in the rooms. They also had a nice seating area next to the lobby, so you could relax and read a book, drink a glass of wine, or other activity comfortably if you don't want to sit in your room.

I would recommend this hotel if you are in the area. I would've given it 5 stars if it wasn't for the thin wall in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    115
    27
    12
    10
See reviews for
207
326
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I can't say enough about the quality of this property. Hampton is usually a pretty consistent chain, but this one definitely exceeds expectations. Be sure to try a bottle of the local wine while on site. If you're looking for a stopping point on your way to the beach, this Hampton Inn is basically half way between Ohio and Hilton Head.

Room Tip: I always go high floors and away from the elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stullmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The shuttle bus to Shelton Vineyards was perfect! The shuttle bus driver was very nice and helpful. The ladies at the front desk were so friendly and it made our stay so much more relaxing. Thank you Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 July 2013

If you're looking for a comfortable place to stay while in the Yadkin Valley, consider the Hampton Inn. This hotel, owned by the Shelton Winery, is just 2.5 miles from the winery. But don't expect to find a wine glass in your room. Even in a King suite, there were none to be found! Bring your own, or sip your nice NC wine from a paper coffee cup. I found it very odd every room didn't have a couple of Shelton Winery imprinted glasses for guests pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here on the way from Pittsburgh to Atlanta. We didn't have a reservation but had no trouble getting a room. Loved it so much, we stayed here on the way home too! Newer hotel, very clean. Rooms were nice. Two queen beds which were really comfortable. We were on 3rd floor, both times, and our room was nice & quiet. Indoor pool was quite large & empty - the kids had a blast. Breakfast was excellent!! I also thought the rate was fair - $113 with AAA discount. Front desk very nice and did I mention there is a wine bar!! We ate at Carmines - cute Italian restaurant next door. Great atmosphere and very good food. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airstrip86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilliard, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Great hotel in remote location ... in perfect time for ending a night of driving. Centered in wine country, so it is perfect for a couple hundred mile drive and then have a nice little retreat. Route 77 traffic is often busy, so the peacefulness of this hotel is very welcome after battling that traffic. Beds were comfortable, breakfast was adequate, and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice having a wine bar in the lobby! I did not expect that!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Didn't have a reservation, but we are rewards members. We were practically pushed aside to check in someone who did have a reservation. Couldn't get the internet to connect and got a snippy desk clerk who didn't want to be bothered.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobson
8.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Jonesville/Elkin
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
10.7 mi away
Best Western Yadkin Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Address: 150 Charlestowne Dr, Dobson, NC 27017-9008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Dobson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dobson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson Hotel Dobson
Hampton Inn And Suites Dobson
Hampton Inn Dobson
Hampton Inn Hotel Dobson
Dobson Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing