We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds.”

Depot Restaurant at Cody Creek
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Dobson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The wait was 1 1/2 hours. Food was pretty good. I expected it to be a little more like top restaurant food but was more like Cracker Barrel Food but was good. My husbands prime rib was dry and small. The Women's bathroom was very small. 3 stalls and you wait for 5 to 10 minutes. Trash an overflowing and no soap. You bumped into someone when you opened stall door. The grounds were beautiful. Ideal place for wedding in separate area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Enjoyyourlifetothefullest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    61
    15
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place for a wonderful dinner”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

a 10 minute drive from Mt. Airy and worth the drive. The restaurant is very relaxing and friendly. The bartender was very helpful about what is good on the menu and also interesting tips about the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JCariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dobson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of my Fav's”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I love the steaks and the specials. It is very family friendly. This high end of what my family eats out. It is not over priced. very good food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oldvisitor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Watch your bill”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The noise level was ridiculous. It was so loud you couldn't hear the person next to you. There were several ridiculously loud parties but management was no where to be seen and didn't seem to care. Food was average. Nothing great. The only reason we went was the beautiful venue. Waitresses weren't interested in anything but taking our order to get us out of there. We had to ask to order an appetizer. The bill was a scratch pad they had taken our order on. It was way more than we expected. When we asked for an ITEMIZED bill they said they couldn't provide one. We found out for a party of 7 people they charged us a huge tip. I know there's not a lot of places to eat in the area but we will find somewhere else next time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Wanda1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money, it's over rated.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We arrived at 5pm on Sat. Feb. 8, 2014 and told it would be a 40 min. wait. 1 hour and 5 minutes later we were finally seated. We ordered steaks,potatos and tossed salads. While waiting for our appetizer a hostess would walk around the dining area with a very loud walkie talkie radio that blasted out names of customers to be seated that was very disruptive, this went on for the entire time we were there. When our food arrived the steaks were over cooked,tough and chewy and barely able to swallow. They tasted like low quality. The salads and potatoes were fine and the waitress is prompt, nice and helpful but meal was not worth the trip or the wait and price. Bottom line don't waste your time or money on this place its way over rated. We won't ever come back and advise others not to go either.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Barryusnret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Depot Restaurant at Cody Creek also viewed

 

Been to Depot Restaurant at Cody Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing