We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanderling Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Oats Motel(Jarvisburg)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Haven(Kitty Hawk)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftin' Sands Motel(Kill Devil Hills)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Ranch Resort(Kill Devil Hills)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,045)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveller rating
704
219
87
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
704
219
87
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslifesaving stationfire pitthe life saving stationbeach housethe outer banksfamily poolsand barkimball's kitchentranquility poolnorth wingturn down serviceadult poolblue pointchairs and umbrellass'mores kitoff seasonmain building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
616 - 621 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We used to visit the Sanderling regularly, but stopped a few years after having our daughter (and began visiting the family friendly Hampton Inn in Corolla). The Sanderling had seemed to cater to adults at that time, and it lacked a pool on the ocean side of the property (although a semi-indoor pool was available across the street). We decided to return with our now 12 yr old daughter, due to the added pools and beachside cafe. We stayed in the South Inn and were very pleased with our room and the renovations to the Inn overall. Our room was on the 2nd floor and had a view of the ocean over the dunes. I love the rope style chairs on the room porch. They are truly comfortable and clean (sometimes the typical plastic hotel porch furniture can get yucky with bugs but that is not the case at the Sanderling with these lovely rope/canvas type chairs) The room also looked over the adults only tranquility pool, which was truly tranquil and heated. Because our daughter is not 21, we tried the family pool, which did not seem to be heated, but had a lovely and large jacuzzi. Families should keep in mind that if you want to be near the family pool, it may be worth requesting a room in the main or north inn to be closer to the pool that would be most used. We didn't mind the walk over to the family pool. I really loved the chair and umbrella service for the beach. A simple call in the morning to the front desk to request chairs/umbrella, and it was all taken care of before we even walked onto the beach. We also appreciated the beachside cafe that served drinks and a limited menu. I have always been surprised that this service wasn't made available in the past (here and at other nearby hotels). Folks go to the OBX to enjoy the beach and when staying at a hotel, most folks don't pack lunch supplies. We loved to spend the entire day on the beach, but then struggled with what to do when needing a mid-day snack to hold us over until we felt like showering and going out for dinner. The cabana/cafe at Sanderling is a perfect option. We did not experience any issues with service; however, we walked to the cafe, placed our order and either ate it there, or carried back items to the beach. Loved the smores packages for a night-time snack. When we were there, they offered a fireside historical/ghost presentation from a local storyteller. He was very entertaining and it was a nice activity before turning in for the night. Sanderling staff were all very pleasant and helpful. While we did miss some of the prior offerings of the "old" Sanderling, ie, the afternoon tea and scones, we appreciate the new offerings and look forward to returning to the Sanderling.

Room Tip: If adults only, might want to request a room in South Inn. If family, might want to request Main or North inn to be closer to the family pool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jldesche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for returning to give us another chance. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the new amenities and Sandbar. We hope this will continue as a tradition when you return to the OBX.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Hubby and I were very excited to come back to where we got married and spent our first anniversary, even more so since they renovated. From the minute we checked in to check out the Sanderling did not disappoint!

Our room was located at the South Inn (Rm 128) on the first floor so no view of the beach but we were able to walk right out to the Tranquility Pool, and beach access was practically right there so it was perfect! We loved the huge patio. The room itself was excellent, and the bathroom was HUGE!! The king bed was super comfortable also!

We did not eat lunch at the new Sandbar, so can't comment on the food but the pina coladas were good! Breakfast at the Lifesaving Station was on point! The pecan waffles were so tasty and hubby loved the omelets!

We didn't take advantage of the smores at the fire pit unfortunately, but we did rent bikes for a few hours and that was fun!

Staff was superb and friendly, especially our server at the Lifesaving station. Her name slips me but she was our server the two times we had breakfast (between 8-9am on Monday and Tuesday). We were happy to have run into Jessica, our wedding coordinator from 2011 and wish her all the best in her next endeavor!

Husband did comment that the TV's lacked HD channels, but really...that was a non-issue.The only thing that will keep us from visiting for our next anniversary is we're expecting our first child in February, but we love the Sanderling and the new look!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klaura12185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Congratulations on your upcoming new arrival! We love to welcome our bride/grooms back and see their families grow. Glad you enjoyed one of the new rooms and all the new amenities. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and we look forward to having you back. Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just spent a week at Sanderling and wish I were still there! Everything was just lovely. Hubby and I have stayed a few times over the years and always loved it and now there is so much more to love. We loved it before and now we love it even more. From the time we arrived until we left the service was perfect. Garfield, Richard, Carol and Tara at the Beach Bar are now our best friends! Chris and the crew for setting up beach umbrellas are just tops! The housekeeping crew are top of the line. The spa is excellent. I am already planning a return trip but for a longer stay. The food at the beach bar is so above the norm. My only regret is that we didn't sample Kimball's Kitchen but our only excuse is that we were so full of good food from breakfast at the superb Lifesaving Station Restaurant and excellent food for lunch at the Beach Bar we were just too full but that is my only disappointment which I will rectify on my next visit. I'm already planning my visit for next year and bringing friends.

Room Tip: On all our visits we have only ever stayed in the South Wing 3rd. Floor since we like an Ocean View so I can't offer opinion on any other rooms but every time we have stayed the A/C has been perfect and all other room amenities have been excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your visit. I have shared with the team your comments and thank you for recognizing them. We look forward to your return next year with friends and we'll make that Kimball's Kitchen reservation for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The Sanderling is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed! Our suite was amazing! The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The setting is gorgeous and tranquil. It's the perfect place to disappear for a few days. The food at all of the on-site restaurants is fantastic! I even had "Monique" in the spa cut and color my hair and she did an amazing job. Nothing negative to say about this place. We are definitely going to be repeat customers! Do yourself a favor and try The Sanderling out. You will NOT be sorry you did!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeejayMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you so much for your review and sharing your experience with others. Glad you were able to unwind for a few days, enjoy your suite and the restaurants. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We came to the Sanderling for a Girls Trip. We had a super time. The staff was amazing. So friendly. It was so fun. I would for sure bring my family back for a trip too. It is so family friendly. The location is great too. It is on the beach and so close to all of the shopping adventures. We had a great time!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 381ELC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

So glad you loved the Sanderling and found it not only perfect for a girl friends getaway but also a return trip with the family. Glad you were able to enjoy the beach, shopping and location. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews