We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I recently visited the Sanderling (in one of its beautiful guest houses) with a group of college friends. It was heaven. State of the art kitchen, room upon room of cozy, inviting settings, breathtaking views, a still private feeling beach, and access to the luxuries of a spa resort literally steps away. The staff were incredibly friendly and attentive, and made sure we had everything we needed or wanted (and more). The food, from tasty sandwiches at poolside to oysters watching a stunning sunset at chic Kimball's, was first rate. I couldn't recommend the Sanderling more highly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

I could not have been more happy with the Sanderling. It was the perfect balance of laid-back, beach getaway with all of the amenities of a five-star resort. The staff was incredibly friendly and responsive and expeditiously took care of every need. The property is spectacular -- we loved the beach and the fact that they could set up chairs and umbrellas for us (I am very fair) let me truly enjoy it. The pools are beautiful and the food fantastic. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thrilled to hear you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and have shared your comments with our staff. So glad to hear you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Sanderling Resort. The room was wonderful, with a screen door opening on to the balcony. With that door open, we heard ocean sounds all night. The s'mores around the fire pits were pretty fun too. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlcat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Glad you got to enjoy the music of the ocean and the new firepits. S'mores have never been so yummy! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a wonderful 39th anniversary at The Sanderling Resort! We have stayed here several visits and with the new additions and renovations, we love it even more! The pools are beautiful and have designated one for families and one for r & r! We chose the R & R pool! Comfortable lounge chairs & hot Tub, too!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corgis247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for selecting us for the special occasion. Glad you enjoyed the new tranquility pool. Hope to see you for your 40th next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We researched several options before booking our OBX vacation room for four days "out of season" or "not quite out of season" depending on who you ask. We decided that Sanderling Resort was the best value for our needs. (Look at their specials) Of course no one could have known that the federal govt. would have Wright Bros. memorial closed (a main reason for choosing OBX) or that the remnants of Karen would roost in Duck. One day the road to Kittyhawk was so flooded that we could not safely make it that far. We could have left, but because of the Sanderling's cancellation policy, we would have forfeited any remaining balance which was prepaid. The room and grounds were reasonably clean (the deck of the indoor pool, which is across the street, could use some attention). The s'more and screen doors are a nice touch. If you go, we stayed in a 2nd floor king room looking toward the Atlantic. This was a spacious room, the view was nice and you could easily hear the ocean. I would advise you to not waste money on "upgrading", unless you have a child or two and need a suite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeccoQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

We are glad you stayed with us and hope despite the weather and federal closings you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation. We will be addressing the indoor pool area this winter. Hopefully your travels will bring you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had our first stay at the Sanderling, and will return. The staff is exceptional...warm, friendly, and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Staff even told us no tipping, as it was included in resort fee (restaurants are an exception). Grounds are lovely and quiet. Beach area is exceptional....great sand, beach chairs and umbrellas (included), and private. Rooms are well furnished but on smaller side. Great areas to sit and watch surf or the sunrise, with sunset views over the sound from the front lanai. Restaurants are ok and you pay for convenience. But the resort is built for relaxation and totally hits the mark. Ocean view rooms are at a premium, but there are so many places to sit and enjoy the surf view, you might not miss it from the room.

Room Tip: Make sure you get ocean side...the sound of the surf at night makes sleeping so easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your visit with fellow travelers. We are glad you were able to relax and unwind. There is something magical about hearing those waves as the music as you get a peaceful night's sleep. Hope you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just returned from our fifth trip to the Outer Banks and second stay at the Sanderling. Thanks to the Sanderling for a perfect time. I thought the Sanderling was great prior to the renovations, but WOW, it is awesome. The pools and firepits are such a wonderful transformation for the Inn. The room, the restaurants (all of them), the pools, and firepits were great. We were coming back in two years, but have decided to make it one! See you soon.

Room Tip: You need to book early to get an oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

We are so glad you liked all the renovations. Thanks for sharing with others. We will see you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
23 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,628 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range: £111 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing