We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star beach comfort”
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at The Sanderling in September and absolutely loved it! This property was recently remodeled and is very Pottery Barn meets the beach. The staff is very welcoming. If your room isn't ready, the cabana guys will set up your beach chairs and umbrella, so no need to bring your own. There is a wonderful salt water lap pool by the beach. I took advantage to swim some laps every morning at sunrise. We went to the Sandbar for beachside drinks and the Lifesaving Station for breakfast each day. The breakfast was amazing!! The resort now has firepits and they give you s'mores in your room. We went to the firepits and outdoor hot tubs each night and relaxed some more after a fantastic beach day. The resort also has an activiities center on site now if you want to rent bikes, paddleboards, etc.

Room Tip: Request to stay in the main building.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BD103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We love to read all the ways you found to enjoy the renovated Sanderling. Thank you for being our guest and hope you come back to relax and enjoy again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
There are newer reviews for Sanderling Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I traveled down to Duck for our 32 anniv. and were fortunate enough to stay at the SANDERLING INN....exceptional place worth the price of admission. Right on the beach a little dissapointed in the restaurant we had dinner at The Blue Point...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Happy Anniversary! We hope to see you again for the 33rd. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Being off season for visiting the Outer Banks ,our stay at the Sanderling was not the full resort beach stay experience. The staff was ,without exception ,friendly and helpful. The two queen room was spacious and comfortable.Too bad it was too cold to use the private porch and other amenities.A cute touch is the s'mores bag to use at the fire pit. Our two nights were pleasant, even if the season and weather precluded more .

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank tarheel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We are so glad you came to visit. It is so peaceful and calming in the off-season but unfortunately not all activities and amenities are possible year round. We hope you will come back again ---maybe in late Spring or early Fall when everything is still open but not the summer heat and traffic. (Although that is a fun time to be at the beach too!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This spunky (there are little orange touches everywhere, from umbrellas to beach chairs, based upon the orange 'sanderling crab' mascot), low key, friendly resort is the perfect place to relax. The minute we arrived (in a great little van -- we could legally have a glass of wine as we were shuttled from the airport by a friendly driver!) this charming place won us over. From the great digs we stayed in (one of the houses on the property), to the fun outdoor dining joint, to the Life Saving Station (we had both excellent breakfasts and dinner there, highly recommend the mussels) and the serene pools, this resort helped us slip into a slower pace and enjoy beauty of Duck. We loved having water all around us!
At the Spa, my signature brown sugar scrub/massage was divine -- just the right amount of pressure and 'good energy' from my therapist really soothes my muscles. The sauna could be hotter. The beach just at the resort is calm, warm and easy to swim in, and the staff treated us nicely, like we were old friends. I would hurry back to this charming keeper.

Room Tip: Face the pool, and the higher rooms can actually see the ocean past the pool!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share with others your experience. Glad you enjoyed all the little details and able to find relaxation. It's such a great time of year to be here! See you again soon for more pampering and relaxation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our first time at the Sanderling and it was fantastic from the service to the fresh apples and coffee daily . Room was great and facilities were excellent. Staff was excellent and helpful. September is great at the beach and restaurants a treat. Just a wonderful relaxing time at the beach. We plan on making this a yearly trip.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor so you can see over the dunes
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your choosing to visit with us. Glad you find a new little getaway not too far from home. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Sanderling Resort is in Duck, a quaint little town in the northern area of the OBX. The OBX in Duck is narrow and the resort property is on a single stretch of the OBX with the Atlantic Ocean on one side and the Currituck Sound on the other. I'm not sure you can find this anywhere else on the OBX. This was important in chosing The Sanderling as we could experience the sun rise and sun set without much effort. Plus, the OBX is much nicer here than in commercialized Nags Head/Kitty Hawk/Kill Devil Hills.

The property was outstanding. Two clean pools (one a lap swim pool the other a family pool), clean hot pool and hot tub, a lobby bar, an outdoor bar, two restaurants, a full-service spa, a gift shop, and a well appointed exercise room. The resort can rent kayaks, SUP, or other water sports toys. In short... a resort.

Our room was very nice, overlooking the tropical storm brewing in the Atlantic. Still, we slept with our screen door open all night to listen to the crashing surf.

We did not eat at one of the resort restaurants but instead visited the Paper Canoe, across the street, for dinner.

This was ourt first trip to the OBX and unfortunately the weather was bad so we did not get the full benefit of the resort or the OBX. But when we return, we'll strongly consider a return to The Sanderling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PardonMeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We do have a very unique location that enables you to wake up to the sun rising over the Ocean and setting on the Sound. Sorry the weather during your stay but glad you got to relax and enjoy Duck. We will see you again soon hopefully with sunny skies. Thank you for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

As a regular Outer Banks vacationer, this beachside casual resort has long been on my list to visit. We stayed 3nights, end of Oct. 2013. The "sound view" room was spacious with a comfortable bed but actually overlooked the parking lot; the view of Currituck Sound was across the road between buildings so it's not exactly as described. I had requested and received that room on that basis, should have done more research. Room also featured a balcony with ample space and seating; bathroom was also sizeable with upscale bath products and linens. We dined at the Life Saving Station, had crab cake on spaghetti squash along with grouper served over risotto, both were really delicious. Dining atmosphere - also beachy casual, pricing modest to moderately high. In high season/summer, there's an outdoor café along with 2 pools, 2 hot tubs. The pools - though heated - were closed, only 1 of the hot tubs was working properly. The 2nd hot tub was scalding hot, unusable, we reported it to the front desk. The indoor pool is small for a resort this size; 2 short swim lanes plus a wider splash area on the shallow end. The deck does need an upgrade as noted by another reviewer; it's due for maintenance. Beach is typical Outer Banks beautiful - sprawling, sandy, plenty of room for recreation or long walks. About those resort fees - we were charged $25/night extra in low season with 1 restaurant, 2 pools closed plus 1 hot tub unusable and no bike rentals. The bell stand outside was also closed. When I raised this point/contested the fee for lack of services/amenities, I was told their long standing guests appreciated not having to tip. Anyone in the service industry would much prefer cash for their efforts, plus no other property in this area where I've price shopped or stayed charges such fees. In off season, it's especially greedy. The Inn at Corolla Light a few miles North even includes breakfast with their rates; that's where we'll be staying next time, I highly recommend that for a better priced, well situated and attractive alternative.

Room Tip: Be SURE to ask about the view! You may not get what you think you are paying for.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soxfan401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay and discuss your concerns. I hope you had a nice birthday. Note to reader: While Kimball's Kitchen does close in November, it is always closed Sunday and Monday which was during this traveler's stay. The bicycles are an item that are rented by Kitty Hawk Kites and not included in the resort fee. The bellman were on property and avaialble but a little brisk to be outside in their hut. The resort fee does change in November after we get into off season and there are less services. I apologize if I was not clear with this traveler that the front of the house staff does get a portion of this resort fee which is why it's a tipless environment. Our guests and the staff have shared with us they appreciate this and recognize that many places that have a resort fee do NOT include the gratuity portion as well. The indoor pool will be addressed this off season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
16.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range: £154 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing