We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good week with a few issues”
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We just returned home from our sons wedding at the Sanderling. While the wedding was beautiful and so is the resort, unfortunately, some of the cleaning staff was not as beautiful.

When we arrived and got our keys to the Griggs house, it looked great on the surface. We then tried to get into bed for a nap and found cat hair all over the sheets. The front desk sent people to come change the sheets and bring back the originals the next day.

That's when we ran into the bigger issue. When we went out and checked our purses, we noticed that some money was missing. No jewelry was taken and not all the cash, but a significant amount nonetheless. We reported this to the people in charge who were very nice but unable to help. The staff was questioned but nothing was admitted. That put a damper on a very special week.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DP0476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We enjoyed having your families special time at the resort. We are glad your wedding party enjoyed the homes as part of the weekend celebration. We have done a thorough investigation of the claim and have not found this to be linked to our team. They do go into the home in pairs and in most instances towel exchange which would be the only daily service was done at the door. These are hard keys to the homes and not in circulation for tight controls. We suggested the best course of action would be to call Duck Police and still feel that would be the best option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We, a family of 5 visited over Memorial Day. Hotel and facilities are of very high standard and very clean, service generally very friendly and good ( except our first morning's breakfast service which was excruciatingly low). Beach is beautiful. Firepits at night provide great entertainment for the kids. We had asked for a late check out on our last day until 3 pm which we got charged for 200$. It was expensive but at least we were able to enjoy the beach for longer.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank drapj005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for visiting with us over the holiday weekend. We are glad you could enjoy the beach and all the other amenities. Typically the water is warm enough by Memorial Day. Sorry for the slow breakfast service (and thank you for letting us know). We hope the family will join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here while on a whirlwind wedding venue tour earlier this summer. While we didn't ultimately choose Sanderling, it was a great place and we will definitely come back for a visit. Located in beautiful, laid-back Duck, Sanderling offers the best of the Sound and the Ocean. The beaches are beautiful and open, the grounds are comfortable and luxurious and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

The only downside is value. we paid $400/night for a ground-floor room facing the parking lot. The bed was somewhat comfortable and the bathroom was clean, but certainly not what I expect at that price point.

I would definitely go back to the Sanderling, but probably not until I can save up enough for an ocean view room :)

Room Tip: Worth a little extra for a second floor or ocean-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Congratulations on your engagement. Sorry we were not selected but wish you all the best during this exciting time. Our price points do change throughout the year so please sign up for our emails and hopefully you can come enjoy an oceanview room in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Sanderling Resort. We loved the casual atmosphere it was so relaxing. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were great with a large bathroom. The beach is so close and the pool was a great place to relax. The restaurants on the property were all wonderful. Great place! We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your family getaway on Tripadvisor. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My boyfriend and I recently traveled to the Sanderling for a long weekend over July 4th. Unfortunately, our trip was compressed because of Hurricane Arthur (our flight was canceled) and we could not make it down until a day and a half later. When we called the Sanderling mgmt staff, we were met with utter rigidity and absolutely no flexibility about date changes / refunds. This to us seemed really unreasonable given the circumstances! To boot, when we were due to check out we had asked for a 2 hour extension for check-out and also received push back from the staff. It would have been nice for the hotel to work with us on our dates or offer a reduced rate / free meals, etc. But we got absolutely nothing!

Other than that, the resort is lovely and the staff are great. Would highly recommend staying here but would caution guests that the hotel management is not very accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for joining us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future. We wish we could extend and accommodate all early arrival and late check out requests and they are handled on a case by case basis. In your case, you were given until 1pm which is 2 hours past our normal 11am check out however we had a guest arriving into that room and were not able to extend it further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived a day earlier than our house was available. Nancy was wonderfully accommodating and found us rooms for ten of us in 10 minutes. We loved the resort - nice upscale but casual decor - instantly comfortable and relaxed. The pools and fire pits were great fun for all - lovely day on the beach. Had a great dinner at the Light Saving Station, we were served by a great waiter who had worked there for twenty years (so nice to hear)
Cannot wait to come back for a longer stay, without the kids !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodiegirlsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

So glad you discovered us and next time can plan to come early to spend time here. The Lifesaving Station (Kimball's and Spa at Sanderling) are always open to visitors, locals and hotel guests so plan to have the entire family dine again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Seeking an escape with a chance to relax and do as we may, we fortunately discovered Sanderling Resort. Upon arrival and throughout our stay, we were made to feel special by the most hospitable staff we've ever encountered during our travels! The rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable, the balcony relaxing and the bathroom and shower even had the same fittings we chose for our own home! The amenities were well chosen and abundant; rolled towels on the chaise by the serenity pool, placement of beach chairs and umbrellas at your choosing, comfortable seating with vistas throughout the property, S'mores on the fire pit at night, unlimited morning coffee and juice overlooking the lobby, a clean well appointed fitness center for workouts, casual and fine dining on the grounds, cornhole games and a bocce ball court for play, and the list goes on and on. We found no needs and had no worries. All said and done, once you arrive, there's no need to leave the premises for anything! The result, total relaxation!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Avig8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We are so glad you were able to unwind and really enjoy your vacation. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
23.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,617 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range: £130 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing