We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to beat the Saturday crush”
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the second year we came to the OBX on Thursday evening to beat the Saturday madness. If you can spare the money, the Sanderling is a good choice: it's north of Duck, which means Saturday we're heading against the traffic to get to Kitty Hawk; there are 3 restaurants on the property; and the spa offers great massages (a good way to kick off a summer vacation).

The only downside: we paid extra to get an ocean-side room; however, we were put in the north wing, next to the pool that is meant for kids. We don't have children, and while it's good to hear the occasional squeal of delight from small children as they play in the water, it wears thin after a while. Unless you have kids, you may want to request a room in the south wing (which we'll do next year).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

You have definitely learned a good work around the peak season Saturday traffic. We appreciate you enjoying those pre- days with us and glad you found them relaxing (well maybe with a few extra squeals). Currently, we do have oceanside rooms in both the South and North Buildings and do our best to accommodate specific building requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our first time visiting the Outer Banks and our first time staying at Sanderling. The hotel was beautiful and the service was impeccable. Jodi at the front desk made us feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room (157) was beautiful and very clean. I loved the beach house feel of both the property and the rooms. The service on the beach was fabulous, and I love that you could call ahead and they would set up your chairs and umbrella for you. We also enjoyed the fire pit and the s'mores packets. Yoga on the beach was icing on the cake and is well worth the $17 for a class. Everything was wonderful, and we definitely will return.

Room Tip: We were in room 157. This room did not have a beach or pool view, which was fine for us. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Glad to hear you enjoyed your first visit to the Outer Banks and we appreciate you staying with us. I will share your kind words regarding our staff with them and am glad you were able to enjoy so many of the amenities. Hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We just returned from a fantastic week at the Sanderling. It was our first time at the resort but it will not be our last - the property is in very well maintained, the staff were outstanding and the location on the beach is ideal. Our family (my wife, me and our three teenage boys) stayed in connecting rooms on the ocean side in the south wing. The rooms were very comfortable, had great balconies to relax on and we loved having only a very, very short walk to the beach (approximately 70 steps from the back door of the hotel to the sand if one were inclined to count). The welcome kits for S'Mores in each room to use at the outdoor fire pits were a nice touch. The partnership with Kittyhawk Kites onsite for water sports stuff was especially important and convenient for our boys. The outdoor staff at the hotel take great care to provide ample chairs and umbrellas on a clean, wide beach. From the moment we were greeted upon our arrival, we felt as though the staff made everything very easy and relaxing for our stay. Our week at the Sanderling was a very special, memorable vacation and we are very happy to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Loudoun5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Love to hear all those #sanderlingmoments that your family created during your week long visit. We are glad you found the staff to be so accommodating and enjoyed having all the activities offered by Kitty Hawk Kites right here on property. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We loved our stay at the Sanderling. The hotel was lovely, welcoming and stylish and our room (ocean suite) perfect with a mezzanine bedroom/bathroom and sofa bed for children. Service friendly and efficient. Chairs were always set up at the beach when we needed them although towels should be closer to the beach. Pool lovely and not busy, as someone used to Europe and also Cape Cod it was just blissful not to have to scramble for sun beds or room by the pool. Beach was a stone's throw, clean, sandy and quiet. Kids loved the fire pits and s'mores. First time in Outer Banks and we'd definitely return to this lovely property.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank vanitypear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

So glad you enjoyed the Outer Banks and included Sanderling Resort as part of your vacation. It is funny how we can be sold out and it does not seem like it. We are glad you enjoyed our new tranquility pool. Hope to see you back when your travels bring you back to the States.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Sanderling was even better than expected. Beautiful room, ours was on the bay side. Grounds were amazing from the adult pool to fire pits and games, only steps from the beach. Great balconies to sit relax with a drink, everything you need is on property and staff was amazing and helpful with any need on resort or questions/arrangements off resort. Very relaxing great food and drinks from three restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenmonster1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We are so glad we exceeded your expectations and you had a memorable experience. Thank you for sharing your stay with other potential travelers. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family and I spent three days at the Sanderling and had a wonderful time. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. The two pools give you a nice option one is for families with small children and one is for adults. The beach is beautiful and they offer a variety of water sports, very comfortable chairs and umbrellas are provided.Beautiful fire pits are lit at night where you can listen to music and roast s'mores, a fun treat that is left in your room upon arrival. All of the staff that we met are very friendly and helpful. The life house Resturant on sight serves a very good breakfast. And Kimballs Kitchen is a wonderful place for dinner.

Room Tip: If you don't have children you might want to choose a room away from the family pool, it can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed all our dining and amenities during your visit to the East Coast. We hope your travels will bring you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We just returned from a four night stay at the Sanderling Resort. We stayed in a king oceanview room on the second floor. We were pleased with our room -- the size was comfortable and the balcony adequate for two people. As many have stated, this resort sets a high bar for service, amenities, design, layout and cleanliness of the property.

The town of Duck is enchanting and the vision up Rt 12 is one of large well maintained homes surrounded by dense and well manicured foliage. There is a sidewalk with trees shading the path for the runners and bicyclists. The sound is visible so you get a true island experience. The Sanderling enhances the experience by having large windows and balconies with excellent views of the ocean on the east and the sound on the west in the Beachhouse. The property is designed so you feel you are part of a village. We were greeted by staff at locations throughout the property and took advantage of the adult pool, hot tub, beach, fitness center, beach house lobby for reading, fire pit and engaged with other guests. On Wednesday there was a complimentary cocktail hour in the Beach house lobby and the Resort management team mingled with the guests. We dined at Kimball's Kitchen -- food was exceptional and the decor had a sophistication that rivaled fine restaurants in the Boston and Philadelphia area. We took in a magnificant sunset from our table that had a panoramic view of the sound. Other touches that are worth mentioning -- rich bold coffee every morning, iced water with lemons, bowls filled with apples, turn down service, beach chairs and umbrella set up, small microwave and refrigerator in room. It seems to me that the Sanderling has found the winning formula for making guest feel pampered in an non-effusive manner. My husband agreed that this resort is well worth the cost and we will be returning.

Room Tip: We were satisfied with our room in the South building on the second floor oceanside. While we did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patlask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

What a nice compliment to be the most enjoyable vacation you have had. Thank you! We will share that with our team. Glad you got to enjoy the Resort amenities and quaint Town of Duck. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
14.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
23.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,616 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range: £133 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sanderling Resort, casually elegant first-class amenities blend seamlessly with the spectacular landscape to foster connection and renewal. Offering magnificent views of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Currituck Sound, our guests have the same unique opportunity to admire both a sunrise and sunset - both over water. The Resort's guestrooms with their oversized bathrooms and generous decks, are a perfect complement to the quality of the natural setting, while our acclaimed spa and pools provide both unparalleled serenity at the tranquility pool, or a boisterous family environment at the Resort pool. The Resort's renowned restaurants offer the finest dining on the Outer Banks, with perfectly prepared and presented fresh coastal cuisine and a choice of venues to match the time of day, the season and your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck
The Sanderling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing